We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected”
Review of Sportsman Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sportsman Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hayfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Having read the previous reviews I was a little apprehensive. Management of the inn is carried out by two people. We were greeted by Paul, who could not do enough for us and was ver helpful in advising us of the locality and things to do. I agree it is in need of updating but Paul told us that they are tenants and it is the owners who are not willing to spend money on it. A great shame as it could be a very good prospect, particularly being located at the bottom of Kinder Scout and perfect for walkers, campers and caravanners. The food is excellent and portions were more than generous. Yes the rooms are dated but we did not intend to do much else than sleep and clean up there, and the B&B is perfectly adequate for that. The linen was fresh and clean and the beds very comfy. One point to note, they no longer accept Tastecard although they are on the website and display the logo on their window.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gibbs308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Sportsman Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Having stayed for 2 nights on a groupon deal the room we stayed in(Rm 3) was adequate for what we needed,a place to put your head down. Having said that the room was in much need of a facelift. If only to change the mattress which after all needs to be comfortable after you've been walking miles in the day and need a good nights sleep. The tv and coffee making facilities may aswell be taken out to give extra room and maybe utilise the breakfast room more,which with the full english breakfast in the morning is well worth paying for.
Overall our stay was ok but found that information was lacking at times and the food slightly overpriced and not really worth the money,with that said the staff are very friendly and i think with a few grand spent on the place you could soon restore the Inn back to its former glory.
If you just want to walk,eat and sleep then this place will do you just fine :-) hope this helps

Room Tip: Not seen the other rooms but read my review for room 3 and decide for yourselves
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie19692014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We found the Sportsman badly in need of refurbishment. The various reviews we'd read were pretty accurate. The food was plentiful, the atmosphere OK - probably better if you could have found a table near the open fire, but they were always occupied by others.
The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable, but the carpet was threadbare, and the shower very rusty. The toilet seat had seen better days too! There was tea and coffee in the room, and the radiator was hot, we're just glad that we'd only booked for 2 nights and won't be returning!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 787JAYW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Having been to the Sportsman quite a few years ago for a meal, we decided to visit again having enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. However on returning it soon became clear that things were now different, having previously booked a table we presented ourselves on time at 8pm. the landlord showed us to our table which was at the end of the dining room where there was no light and was pretty dim. We went to the bar and ordered drinks but no mention of how to order food and at this time no menu was given. After 5 - 6 min it was obvious that there was no waiter service at all, then the landlord noticed we didn't have menus, so he then gave these to us. Our party consisted of 4 people 2 of which ordered starters and also 4 mains, as we were waiting for our food we were a little concerned to see the amount of food being returned ,although the restaurant wasn't full by any means it took 1hr 20 mins to be served. The food was basic to say the least and yes we also sent some foo back uneaten mainly the chips that weren't cooked properly .Although the food was very basic THE PRICES WEREN'T. In fairness I must say that the landlord was pleasant but that does not make up for poor service and very poor food !!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stopped on Saturday of the Bank Holiday for a meal with friends for a Saturday night it wasn't very busy buy at least we could get a table.

The beer was ok but the food which is pricey compared to other places in the locality was very poor.

I had a beef Beef bourguignon, well it wasn't what I know as beef bourguignon the meat was some of the toughest I've eaten in a long while so some was left. The meat also came in one large piece rather than cubes. It also contained lots of mini pickled onions (silverskin?) which was bizarre. I suppose they had run out of shallots . The pasta someone had was ok and the fish and chips distinctly average

Topping it off was the waft of urinal blocks from the toilets, so we decided not to have dessert and headed off. Also a lot of the light bulbs had blown so the place looked kind of dingy

Would I go back , no keep walking till you get to Hayfield.

Room Tip: Didn't stay so can't comment but from the outside the place looks as though it needs a refre...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleagle2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We did not like the service because the room should have been restored as there the carpet was thorn out. The food was pricey and not as good as it would be expected and the directions were not the best.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed as a couple for two nights including breakfast, & meal on first night. Arrived early but as room was ready we were shown to it by the owner. As toilet was further down corridor he did ask if we would prefer an ensuite twin rather than a double.
Room small but adequate for our needs, window overlooking trees with lots of birds. Everything in room was clean, soap/shower gel provided, also drinks-making tray complete with chocolates.
Meal: Lamb Henry & cod loin, followed by sticky toffee pudding & cheese/biscuits was very good, as was the wine, so much so that we decided to have our meal there again on the second night. We sat at a table near window & were able to watch birds, including a tree creeper & the antics of a squirrel in the trees.
Room very warm on first night, hadn't realised radiator was on so we turned it off, old type sash window wouldn't stay up but we used the door stop (a piece of wood for this use would be a good idea).
Shower room is small but water was hot, towels & bathmat provided.
Breakfast: choice of cereals, fruit juice, and different teas. Bread provided & toaster so you could do your own toast when you were ready for it & how you like it. Cooked breakast - bacon, 2 sausages, egg, tomatoes, beans & mushrooms - hot & plenty of it. All washed down with tea from a large teapot which kept it hot.
One improvement to breakfast would be some background music, same as is on in the evening, just to break up the quiet.
If I had read the reviews before booking I would certainly have had second thoughts, however we were very pleasantly surprised. If you are looking for 5 star luxury then stay elsewhere (but do try a meal), we found it a friendly place and would certainly stay again.
Hayfield itself is also a lovely village, plenty of walks locally & up to Kinder Scout/reservoir.

Room Tip: Room 6 is a double with small shower room, toilet down corridor - not a problem & never saw anyo...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P101RZcatherineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayfield
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
446 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hayfield
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#2 of 6 in Hayfield
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lantern Pike Inn
Lantern Pike Inn
#1 of 1 in Little Hayfield
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kinder Lodge
The Kinder Lodge
#2 of 2 in Hayfield
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Millie's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman Inn

Address: Kinder Road, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hayfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hayfield
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Sportsman Hotel Hayfield
Sportsman Inn Hayfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing