We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I felt like I was in Torquay.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sportsman Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sportsman Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hayfield B&B and Inns
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I felt like I was in Torquay.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

we stayed in the Sportsmans for two nights while working nearby. We very quickly renamed the landlord "Basil" as he obviously based his management style on Mr Fawlty. The beer was very expensive, the food although very average was incredibly expensive, my room, 3, was cold and damp, my friends room upstairs, had no loo or tv, the main saving grace was the charming young lady working behind the bar. She made pleasant conversation and tended to our every need. Despite this I will never stay there again and would not recommend the place to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    53
    33
    23
    21
See reviews for
19
98
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gibbs308
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Having read the previous reviews I was a little apprehensive. Management of the inn is carried out by two people. We were greeted by Paul, who could not do enough for us and was ver helpful in advising us of the locality and things to do. I agree it is in need of updating but Paul told us that they are tenants and it is the owners who are not willing to spend money on it. A great shame as it could be a very good prospect, particularly being located at the bottom of Kinder Scout and perfect for walkers, campers and caravanners. The food is excellent and portions were more than generous. Yes the rooms are dated but we did not intend to do much else than sleep and clean up there, and the B&B is perfectly adequate for that. The linen was fresh and clean and the beds very comfy. One point to note, they no longer accept Tastecard although they are on the website and display the logo on their window.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibbs308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Having stayed for 2 nights on a groupon deal the room we stayed in(Rm 3) was adequate for what we needed,a place to put your head down. Having said that the room was in much need of a facelift. If only to change the mattress which after all needs to be comfortable after you've been walking miles in the day and need a good nights sleep. The tv and coffee making facilities may aswell be taken out to give extra room and maybe utilise the breakfast room more,which with the full english breakfast in the morning is well worth paying for.
Overall our stay was ok but found that information was lacking at times and the food slightly overpriced and not really worth the money,with that said the staff are very friendly and i think with a few grand spent on the place you could soon restore the Inn back to its former glory.
If you just want to walk,eat and sleep then this place will do you just fine :-) hope this helps

Room Tip: Not seen the other rooms but read my review for room 3 and decide for yourselves
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie19692014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdonia National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We found the Sportsman badly in need of refurbishment. The various reviews we'd read were pretty accurate. The food was plentiful, the atmosphere OK - probably better if you could have found a table near the open fire, but they were always occupied by others.
The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable, but the carpet was threadbare, and the shower very rusty. The toilet seat had seen better days too! There was tea and coffee in the room, and the radiator was hot, we're just glad that we'd only booked for 2 nights and won't be returning!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 787JAYW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hayfield hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Having been to the Sportsman quite a few years ago for a meal, we decided to visit again having enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. However on returning it soon became clear that things were now different, having previously booked a table we presented ourselves on time at 8pm. the landlord showed us to our table which was at the end of the dining room where there was no light and was pretty dim. We went to the bar and ordered drinks but no mention of how to order food and at this time no menu was given. After 5 - 6 min it was obvious that there was no waiter service at all, then the landlord noticed we didn't have menus, so he then gave these to us. Our party consisted of 4 people 2 of which ordered starters and also 4 mains, as we were waiting for our food we were a little concerned to see the amount of food being returned ,although the restaurant wasn't full by any means it took 1hr 20 mins to be served. The food was basic to say the least and yes we also sent some foo back uneaten mainly the chips that weren't cooked properly .Although the food was very basic THE PRICES WEREN'T. In fairness I must say that the landlord was pleasant but that does not make up for poor service and very poor food !!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stopped on Saturday of the Bank Holiday for a meal with friends for a Saturday night it wasn't very busy buy at least we could get a table.

The beer was ok but the food which is pricey compared to other places in the locality was very poor.

I had a beef Beef bourguignon, well it wasn't what I know as beef bourguignon the meat was some of the toughest I've eaten in a long while so some was left. The meat also came in one large piece rather than cubes. It also contained lots of mini pickled onions (silverskin?) which was bizarre. I suppose they had run out of shallots . The pasta someone had was ok and the fish and chips distinctly average

Topping it off was the waft of urinal blocks from the toilets, so we decided not to have dessert and headed off. Also a lot of the light bulbs had blown so the place looked kind of dingy

Would I go back , no keep walking till you get to Hayfield.

Room Tip: Didn't stay so can't comment but from the outside the place looks as though it needs a refre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleagle2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We did not like the service because the room should have been restored as there the carpet was thorn out. The food was pricey and not as good as it would be expected and the directions were not the best.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayfield
0.4 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lantern Pike Inn
Lantern Pike Inn
#1 of 1 in Little Hayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kinder Lodge
The Kinder Lodge
#2 of 2 in Hayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 6 in Hayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Millie's Bed and Breakfast
2.7 mi away
Pack Horse Inn
Pack Horse Inn
#1 of 3 in New Mills
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman Inn

Property: Sportsman Inn
Address: Kinder Road, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hayfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hayfield
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Sportsman Hotel Hayfield
Sportsman Inn Hayfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing