We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“SPICEWORLD! Beautiful converted grade 2 listed...”
other travellers have booked this property
looking south towards South Head
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
looking south towards South Head
Looking west towards Hayfield looking back from 'Dorothy's garden'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
looking south towards South Head
Looking west towards Hayfield
looking back from 'Dorothy's garden'
living room
living room
Harold the farmer
wet room
kitchen
upper bedroom
en-suite to upper bedroom
the view south from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hayfield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Henry A
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“SPICEWORLD! Beautiful converted grade 2 listed barn in the heart of the Peak District”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from our second stay at The Sheep Shack and are already eagerly anticipating our next trip! The barn is excellently furnished with all the amenities you would need for a week long stay. It' s a great opportunity for salarymen like myself and my friends to get away from the busy metropolis' of London and Lowestoft. The walking options locally are ample and the pretty little village of Hayfield is also within reach.

Slight criticism would just be of the kitchen frying pan could be replaced as well as a few more cleaning utensils. But this is so minor and making these changes would enter the property into a shakra-like state of supremacy.

I would give 6 stars if I could, I almost just want to selfishly keep this world class shack a secret, but it would be an insult to all the hard work Michael has obviously put in, in making it such a comfortable and homely place to stay.

Best wishes and happy holidaying.

Ben Coleman and the lads

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davbut
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Ideal Base for Walking Holiday”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is our second visit to the Sheep Shack and this year we had much better weather. This meant we didn't drive far and simply based our walks from the front door. Walking in this area is glorious and the small village of Hayfield is close by - we liked the Royal Hotel for dinner. The Sheep Shack is of excellent standard and there is everything you need for a cosy and enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Underfloor heating
Liked least: A little dark as the windows are small
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pejtickel
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed at the Sheep Shack last summer with my wife. We were up from London for our wedding and this was the perfect retreat away from the pre wedding stresses. The owner was great and answered any queries we had. Everything you could think of is taken of. It is a really high spec holiday letting in a beautiful part of the world. I would definitely recommend it and will be visiting again.

Just be careful making your way there though, I used an old sta nav and it took me the wrong way.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burner and cosiness of the place
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah_12...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable Country Oasis”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 4 nights over New Years Eve - it is in a beautifully remote location with access to excellent walking, and is wonderfully furnished and the kitchen excellently equipped. It is large and extremely comfortable (the photos really don't do it justice - it's superb) and we were toastie warm for the duration of our stay. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend it. Our thanks to the owner.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy W
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect in all respects”
Reviewed 27 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We spent four days at the Sheep Shack walking and visiting relatives. The Shack is extremely well appointed and well kept. We loved the fact that there were walks directly outside the door and they were amazing. Our favourite thing about the Shack was the wood burner which was lovely to return to on a cold November evening. We definitely want to return.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the wood burner
Liked least: road to The Shack might be difficult if it was icy weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattf1120...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic getaway”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I could not believe the quality of this cottage. We arrived on a cold evening but were met with a warm and cosy interior which was beautifully designed inside. The Sheep Shack contains everything you could wish for in a holiday cottage, with fully equipped kitchen, log fire, comfortable sofas, TV/DVD/music system, and 2 modernly designed bathrooms. We stayed just 2 nights but were considering calling in sick to work so we could stay longer!
All in all a wonderful cottage, and for a much cheaper price than many other similar places. Cannot find anything to fault.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail inside - everything you could possibly need was supplied
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
75KT
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bags of character, great location”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Beautiful, well equipped cottage in a great location for walking Kinder Scout and enjoying the Peaks

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and character
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.