We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hayfield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

957SarahH
Poulton le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 29 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a short break in the Peak District staying at the Gamekeeper's Cottage. Can't praise the accommodation highly enough, it was exactly what we were looking for - a characterful cottage but with all mod cons.
Beautiful property with fabulous wood burning stove which was lovely to come back to and light after a day out. Free wifi was welcome too to help us plan each day's activities.
There is a lovely walk right from the doorstep up to Kinder reservoir and then back down into Hayfield village. There are some great pubs nearby and lovely towns and villages a short drive away which are worth a visit such as Buxton and Bakewell.
We will be recommending this property to family and friends and hope to be back soon!

Date of stay: November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsha B
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delightful cottage in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Gamekeepers Cottage is a wonderful 'retreat' in the beautiful Derbyshire countryside. The cottage is stylish and yet cosy with ample space for our family of 5 (2 adults and 3 children aged 6,8,10).It was great being able to walk right from the front door to Kinder Scout and we enjoyed a long but picturesque cycle ride on the Monsal Trail (near Bakewell). Stanage Edge is definitely worth visiting with stunning views and is very manageable for smaller children. The Heights of Abraham (in Matlock Bath) is quite a drive away but worth the visit especially with the cable cars. Our children loved the farm and adventure playground at Chatsworth. This was a great base for a wonderfully active but relaxing family holiday. Thank you very much.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interesting features of the property aswell the decor and furnishings.
Liked least: Not having a dishwasher.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A carefully restored and beautifully situated gem in the middle of peaks. All the home comforts you could need and surroundings in which we could have spent months. A very friendly owner and we really couldn't fault anything about the accommodation or location.

Hope to visit again.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly owner and beautiful location
Liked least: the road to get there is a little rough
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert E
1 review
“Great place in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Had a really great few days in Little Hayfield. The location is incredible and we were able to walk straight from the cottage.

Was great to come back to the comfortable cottage, light a fire and relax. On another night we tried out the pubs in Hayfield village which are very accessible and really homely.

Can't wait to find time to come back again, maybe with more people as the property had lots of space.

Date of stay: August 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchego1...
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely lovely in every way”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We booked this cottage at really short notice for a weekend break with our new baby son. The cottage is in a beautiful setting, the middle of the woods, with baby ducklings and a resident peacock. The cottage is really well appointed and immaculately clean; it was much more spacious than we imagined and really cosy. It was excellent value for money.

There are lots of great walks from the cottage door; a fabulous place to get away from it all!

Thank you very much!!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGre...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful stay”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with friends for the weekend and couldnt fault the accommodation. location-wise we could go for a days walk straight from the cottage and the pub at the end of the driveway was lovely.
The kitchen had everything that we needed, and the fire was ready for us to use. lots of lovely touches to make the stay feel special.
Peaceful location and set in a beautiful area.
Wifi is available but for a small fee.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
10 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review and I am genuinely glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay. Thanks also for the feedback and as a result wifi is now a free courtesy for guests at the Gamekeepers cottage. Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaC10...
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“May Bank Holiday stay with 6”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What an absolute find! We booked this cottage before it had been stayed in so were a little wary but with absolutely no reason. We were a group of six ladies up from London looking for a good priced country getaway, and this was perfect.

It's in a great location - secluded and quiet (apart from the resident peacock strutting his stuff), only 20 mins leisurely walk into the village, 5 minutes from the nearest pub and about 30 seconds to the nearest walking trail.

The finish inside the cottage is to a great standard, with both character and luxury well combined.

The owners are great too - I think his parents own another of the cottages in the crescent so are on hand if you need them but are also incredibly friendly lovely people!

Cannot sing it's praises enough, we all absolutely loved it and we're most sad to have to leave.

Date of stay: May 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.