We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely friendly stay”
Review of The Bulls Head Inn

The Bulls Head Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bulls Head Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hayfield B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly stay”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

After a day at Alton Towers this find was perfect for what we wanted. Friendly service, lovely food, presented well and good sized portions, well set bar and beer garden at the rear. The room was adequate for what we needed and could have done with updating a bit and a bigger window (!), but fine, clean and tidy. A hearty and delicious breakfast was served with a smile and nothing was a problem. We would return.

Room Tip: Seems a very busy little place-advisable to book
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmmwhatsnext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bullsheadmanager, General Manager at The Bulls Head Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Many Thanks for your review,

Im happy you enjoyed your stay with us!

I look forward to seeing you on your next visit,

Regards,

Robbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    15
    10
    8
    7
See reviews for
29
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Jeez some people write "Critical" reviews!!!
We arrived late and although the pub and restaurant was VERY busy, the owners' son was very quickly freed up from his duties to show us to our room. We had booked the Family suite with the request for an additional bed in the "twin" room, to accomodate my 3 children. The Suite was in an adjoining building...no problem with that. Stairs steep-ish I guess but my elderly mother managed them so no "Big Issue", the kids LOVED the fact that they had their own space upstairs...sharing the bathroom and toilet was not a problem...Oh and the bathroom was a very decent size :-)
Breakfast was lovely. Staff were helpful. The situation being so close to Alton Towers was PERFECT. In all, If I was going to Alton Towers again, I would Definately stay at the Bulls Head.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bullsheadmanager, General Manager at The Bulls Head Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to accomodating you again in the future.

Regards,

Robbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed here with family whilst visiting Alton Towers - we had two rooms: 1 inside the pub itself and another in an attached building that used to be a shop. The rooms were okay although the shower in one of the rooms was incredibly small and the bathroom door in the other room wouldn't shut at all! The entrance to the attached building could do with a bit of tlc and the room itself, although clean, could have done with some updating. We were very hot during the night, but the windows wouldn't open!
The evening meal was excellent though - large portions and very reasonable.
The staff were all helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was okay, but nothing special. It would be nice if they used local produce and offered better quality breakfasts.
All in all - okay, very convenient for Alton Towers but don't think I will rush back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank echo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bullsheadmanager, General Manager at The Bulls Head Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for your review,
As the new manager of the bulls head i have taken on board all of your fair criticism.
The shower door has now been fixed ( new handle and locking system)
The entrance to room 7,8 and 9 will be updated at the end of the season not to disrupt current bookings.
I have purchased fans for room 9 as the windows do not open.
I am very pleased you enjoyed your evening meal, since then i have introduced a new menu along with a complete new range of crockery for the food to be presented nicely.
Our new butcher is located 10 miles away and delivers fresh, daily.
Every meal is now completely home made which we are very proud of.
I would love to offer more for breakfast but feel that what we offer at the moment- a full english or continental, is adequate for the price of a room.
once again thankyou for your review and feedback
regards
Robbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

15th October 2011:

The Bull's Head Inn is a decent bed and breakfast where the breakfast was much more comforting than the bedrooms themselves. I was staying with 2 friends and my partner for one evening as we could not afford to stay on Resort at Alton Towers and a local B&B seemed more frugal with our money.

The rooms were situated outside the pub in a converted terraced house with very tall staircases leading up to where we were meant to sleep. They were comfortable with the facilities necessary such as pamplets on the local area, tea and coffee and large beds but the temperature was cold and it didn't feel heated at all. This was particularly disappointing as it was a very cold October evening.
The sparse bathroom sat uncomfortably between our two rooms as well and it took a lot of guesswork to ensure we didn't walk in on each other. The shower felt temporary, leaked with the rest of the facilities feeling worn and outdated.

Both the drivers in our group also had trouble parking outside the B&B as it was a tight space that tried to fit more cars than it could initially manage.

The cooked English breakfast we had no qualms, in fact it was very pleasant, with well stocked juices and cereals at the side for us to help ourselves with. Staff were lovely and gave good service whilst we were present.

Overall, The Bull's Head Inn is alright, nothing too special but could do with improvements on the room temperatures and bathroom appearances.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoWh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bullsheadmanager, General Manager at The Bulls Head Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to review the bulls head.

As the new manager i understand that it is important to listen to your customers feedback to better improve our service.

I would firstly like to apologise if you felt that you were not warm enough staying with us. I have recently purchased heaters that we can place into rooms to give customers an added boost of warmth through these cold british winters.
We are very proud that our country inn is over 300 years old, however, it does mean that sometimes our heating system can struggle. I hope that this will resolve the immediate problem.

The room that you stayed in is advertised and usually let as a 'family' room so the bathroom in between the two rooms usually causes no problems. I would love to put locks on the inside however i think that this could cause problems with small children locking themselves away from their parents. I am in the process of buying a sign that can be used to say occupied to prevent any unwanted occupants!

As we are situated in a small village, parking is at a premium, however i am always willing to help guests park when checking in. I have now reviewed this process and have asked my staff to notify me when guests cannot find a space so at least they can have mine if none are available.

Once again, many thanks for your valued feed back.

Regards,

Robbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We arrived at the pub after a long day at Alton Towers. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room which as ok but basic. It was very cold and there was no heating on so I requested this at the bar. They did not seem too keen on turning it on and suggested I use a heater that was in the cupboard (although there was no heater when I looked) but they did actually turn it on and the room warmed up eventually. There were only 2 small bath towels and 2 hand towels provided even though we informed them there would be 3 of us staying. We tried to access the wifi after asking for the passwords but couldn't connect as the signal is meant to be very weak. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the service was very cheerful and pleasant. The food however was not very good. We had garlic mushrooms with garlic bread to start. The garlic bread was lovely but the mushrooms were in a thin garlic soup with just a few small mushrooms. We also had chicken korma which contained lovely chunks of chicken but did not taste like curry. I had pasta with mozzarella and goats cheese which was served with the same garlic 'soup' as the mushrooms. My daughter had chicken fajitas which were excellent and a huge portion. We all ate most of our food as we were starving after our day out. We all had a good night's sleep and the breakfast in the morning was very good in all aspects.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bullsheadmanager, General Manager at The Bulls Head Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thankyou for your feedback!

First off i would like to take this opportunaty to apologise if you felt the room was not warm enough when you arrived. Its very difficult and costly to keep all of the rooms warm before customers arrive as they all arrive at different times.
Changes i have made- we have invested in more portable heaters to give you a boost if needed.
when the cold weather arrives, i will set the heating to come on an hour earlier to give time for the rooms to warm.
We have also just released a new menu. We no longer serve a curry, or the garlic mushrooms and have also employed another head chef with vast experience.
I have invested in two additional routers to connect to our 'complimentary' wifi so hopefully this should improve future service.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Regards Robbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead, Waes
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

A group of us where staying at the Alton Towers Hotel between two days at the park but didnt like the look of the restaurants there so decided to venture into Alton for food and we are so glad we did. The food at the Bulls Head was fantastic, i really cant compliment it enough, just couldnt complain about anything.
The staff where very friendly and attentative, checking to make sure everything was ok and asking if they could get us anything else.
The atmosphere was nice and tranquil, with a proper country pub feel to it, just perfect after a long day at the park.
Only negative i could think of was that it was quite a while before our meal came and there was no one else in there so i think that when it is busy the wait might be a bit of an issue.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleep_deprivate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bullsheadmanager, General Manager at The Bulls Head Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thankyou for your kind remarks,

We have now released a new menu which we are very proud of.
to combat waiting times i have also employed an additional chef and taken this in to consideration when planning our new menu.

Hope to serve you again soon!

Regards

Robbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Although the location is great and the staff are very friendly, the meal experience was disappointing. Our table was booked for 8.30 pm which I know is not early but neither is that late as well to have run out of nearly everything. No olives and bread for starters. I wanted Lamb no Lamb asked for filet steak no filet steak settled for Ribeye but asked if I could have mash and veg with gravy instead of chips onion rings etc. When it arrived it came with new potatoes, fresh tomatoe, one large onion ring, one large mushroom, garnished with salad and gravy! I was so hungry I could'nt be bothered to say anything. My husband had to make a third choice as they did'nt have what he wanted and he was most disappointed as the chips that was suppose to be homemade was oven chips. As we got up to leave i heard a waiter saying sorry we've run out of salad to someone on the next table. I don't think we will be in a hurry to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bullsheadmanager, General Manager at The Bulls Head Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Many thanks for your review

I would like to apologise for your dissapointing experience. Reading through your comments i fully understand that they are valid and i would like to take this time to tell you the improvements i have made since.
we no longer served curry and the garlic mushrooms, infact we have released a completely new menu. The menu planning that has gone into creating this has taken into consideration our stock levels. We now order less stock and make the best use out of the stock we have. This does not mean we serve similar meals, it just means we make the most out of the stock we have.
Our suppliers now deliver daily making this process alot more managable.
We have also recently employed an additional head chef along with a few more waitresses, this should hopefully help to aleviate waiting times and allow us to serve more people.

I hope this goes towards knowing that your comments help to make a change and i would love to offer you compensation if you ever returned so we can rectify your dissapointing experience

Regards,

Robbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayfield
4.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Old Hall Inn
Old Hall Inn
#8 of 160 in Peak District National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Roebuck Inn
The Roebuck Inn
#1 of 4 in Chapel-en-le-Frith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 6 in Hayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lantern Pike Inn
Lantern Pike Inn
#1 of 1 in Little Hayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Kinder Lodge
The Kinder Lodge
#2 of 2 in Hayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulls Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulls Head Inn

Property: The Bulls Head Inn
Address: 2 High Street, Peak District National Park, Hayfield ST10 4AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
The Bulls Head Inn Hayfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing