We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting room with wood burning stove, freeview flat screen TV, DVD, WiFi, stereo and iPhone dock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room with wood burning stove, freeview flat screen TV, DVD, WiFi, stereo and iPhone dock
The front bedroom is light, bright and spacious with a king-sized bed. Peak Cottage, our bright and spacious stone-built terraced cottage at the base of Kinder Scout
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Sitting room with wood burning stove, freeview flat screen TV, DVD, WiFi, stereo and iPhone dock
The front bedroom is light, bright and spacious with a king-sized bed.
Peak Cottage, our bright and spacious stone-built terraced cottage at the base of Kinder Scout
The twin room has two comfy single beds and a cast iron fire grate feature.
Oak floored kitchen/dining area is equipped to a high standard with a stable door to the garden
The bathroom has a mega shower and deep roll-top bath.
The garden has outdoor seating, a BBQ and lock-up shed to store mountain bikes or outdoor gear.
The Woolpacks
Friendly faces!
The Woolpacks
View from Kinder
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hayfield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Izbat
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a 3 night break (Friday to Monday) at Peak Cottage.

We had a lovely stay - the rooms are a good size and family friendly, and the cottage was a great base from which to explore Hayfield and the surrounding areas.

We found that we could park on the street directly outside the cottage, but there is no off-street parking so anyone with vehicles larger than car/small van size might struggle.

Inside the cottage there was everything you would need in the kitchen area to make meals/drinks etc., and the dining table was a good space to sit with family. They had kindly provided milk, tea and coffee and biscuits, so that was a nice touch for our arrival.

The cottage has a lovely wood burning stove in the lounge area, which made the place feel very cozy, and a log and some kindling were provided.

Even though this is a terraced property, the neighbours are all friendly but keep to themselves, so it was really quiet and relaxing.

The only negatives were that only one loo roll was provided for the whole weekend for a family of 4 adults, so you need to take some with you, and some of the decor is getting a bit tired - with a new outside table and chairs (one chair is totally broken and the set is very old so it is not great to sit on) and a new coat of paint everywhere, the cottage would be perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Thanks for your encouraging remarks about Peak Cottage. I'm really glad you had a lovely stay overall but sorry you found shortfalls in some areas. I'll have an new outside table in place by Friday and freshen the paint up the stairs where it gets knocked. I'll be able to get a new coat of paint all through during the low season so we'll be closer to 'Peak' perfection. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage in great location”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We found Peak Cottage extremely well presented, homely and comfortable. With the Snake Path literally around the corner it was an ideal location for walks. Hayfield is an 'idyllic' village with great pubs, cafe's and handy shops.
Parking was no problem either.
Would definitely go again (tomorrow if we could !!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All very good
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thanks Paul. Delighted that you enjoyed it so much and do come again soon. Hayfield will be waiting!
Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A beautiful cottage with amazing views and everything you would need. Fantastic walks up kinder scout from your doorstep and a selection of friendly traditional pubs within walking distance for great food and real ale. Already planning a return trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Hi Edwin,
Thank you very much for your very kind remarks. I'm really delighted you enjoyed your stay at the cottage so much and that our efforts to make the cottage a great place to stay have been appreciated.
Thanks for taking the time to review and hope to see you again soon.
Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilsgel
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything we'd hoped for and more!”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Everything was perfect.
We spent a few nights here recently and didn't want to leave! What a find, a real gem!
From the beautiful view, the perfect location and the comfort, cosiness and decor of this pretty little cottage - idyllic! And very helpful owner Sue who had thought of everything!
We enjoyed some gorgeous walks from the door and a few strolls to the local shops, pubs and eateries - discovered delicious local food at great prices, and some of the friendliest locals you could meet. In fact, we didn't use the car once!
We're already discussing our next stay at Peak Cottage - not whether but when! Very soon I hope!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, location, decor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in a beautiful village”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in October 2014

I stayed here with my brother and sister-in-law for a week. The cottage was very clean and cosy, enjoying a lovely hillside view. Stunning walks abounded and there were several shops and pubs within easy walking distance. Highly recommended and I hope to return one day

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the cosiness and location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel G
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous cottage surrounded by amazing countryside”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This is a lovely cottage. The decoration is very tasteful, the rooms spacious and the owner has clearly given a lot of thought regarding making your stay comfortable and enjoyable (even the bedding was amazing quality!). There are lots of great walks to do around the area which we really enjoyed. Hayfield itself has some lovely pubs and restaurants. We highly recommend this cottage and will definitely be returning for another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful master bedroom - lovely room with a great view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftsmum
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pure indulgence”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We visited Peak Cottage with family to celebrate our anniversary. We had such a fabulous time.
The cottage was beautifully presented and well equipped, clean and tidy. It's also in an ideal location for all the best of places to visit in the area too. Fabulous views, and lovely walks.
We plan to return this year.
Thoroughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality furnishing and fittings.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing