We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Protea Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Geluveld B&B and Inns
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
824 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Excellent B & B”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We usually find that B & B's are so much more friendly than hotels and "The Protea" was no exception. Good bedrooms, excellent lounge to sit and plan our time in the area. The proprietors were full of useful advice about near-by restaurants and places of interest to visit.
And yes, the breakfasts were first class. Easy to find and very convenient parking

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    27
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
45
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Annie and Alain were thoughtful and considerate hosts. They booked further accommodation for us at another good B&B when we wished to stay longer but they were booked out. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was excellent. Highly recommended to other travellers.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEM163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We recently stayed for three nights with Alain and Annie at the Protea and had a wonderful stay. We were doing a tour of the WW1 Battlefields of Flanders and France and the Protea was our base for the Flanders section and was a great choice. Alain and Annie were wonderful hosts, our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We had a wonderful breakfast each morning, fresh fruit, cereal, lovely breads, cheese and cold meat as well as eggs, so really set us up for the day. Alain has a great knowledge of the WW1 history of the area and helped us plan our day. We also took a 1/2 day Battlefiled tour with Alain which was just great. We had a wondeful stay, it was a great base, close to everything, and if we get back that way again we will definetly go back to the Protea.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarkule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This B&B was a real find (and easy to find at that!). The breakfast was great, the fruit plate was different every morning and there was a fine selection of meats, cheeses, breads etc. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. Alain gave us a fantastic itinerary and background information for seeing a massive range of cemeteries, battlegrounds and points of interest in the Ypres area. One to definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJH_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Terrific B&B and thank you Alaine and Anne. Nothing was too much of a problem and you were free with advice and tips for touring the area. Alaine also visited us while we were cycle touring the area and provided WW1 points of interest and an itinery to go by, especially Polygon Wood. The rooms were roomy and clean with comfortable beds and a warm shower. Breakfast was fantastic and there was easy parking out front with easy access to WW1 sites and museums. We will return to Ypre and will aim to stay at Protea again. Thank you very much - thoroughly recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Thank Annie & Alain best stay we have had since we started out tour of Europe in May 2012 best presented breakfast table equal if not better than a 5 star hotel the variety of food was fantastic. Rooms big and clean great garden if you want to spend time or eat outside.
Alain is a walking book on WW1 battles and will pass his knowledge if you are interested
They make you feel as if it was yor own home especially after being out all day it was great to come to such friendly enviroment.

Room Tip: With only three romms and all facing the garden, not always available at other places so it makes no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverst, Limburg, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We only stayed at The protea for two nights, but really enjoyed it. We actually stayed there to go to the amusement park down the road, but enjoyed learning about our country's history in WW1 a lot more. We both were never that known with WW1, but Ypres and it's history had gotten in our hearts
We'll come back for sure!
Thank you Annie and Alain for 3 wonderful days!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie12_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geluveld
0.9 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
213 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,267 reviews
1.4 mi away
B&B La Passarelle - Hooghe Crater
B&B La Passarelle - Hooghe Crate...
#19 of 44 in Ieper (Ypres)
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Protea Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Protea Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Protea Bed & Breakfast
Address: Menenstraat 47, Geluveld 8980, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Geluveld
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Geluveld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Protea Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At THE PROTEA you are realy staying in the middle of FLANDERS FIELDS, YPRES, where the battles of the Great War really took place. Your host Alain will share his passion for World War One with you and guide you towards the most interesting silent witness of the GREAT WAR. Or, even better, let Alain take you for a private Battlefield tour. Three modern guest rooms. FREE WIFI, Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Protea Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing