We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Partially run down but quiet and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Indiana Beach Apartment Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Partially run down but quiet and clean”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel is beautiful, great location, kind management but service could be better. They have renovated rooms but also really run down rooms. Room prices are "officially" quiet expensive although so are all Mombasa hotels at the moment. Their restaurant at the beach is one of the best restaurants in Mombasa (according to trip advisor) but the prices are just absurdly expensive. They are even much more expensive than restaurants in Europe! Would I visit the hotel again? Yes if the price was fair again and I got their better rooms (again). Compliment to the security guards. They always smiled and were always humble and friendly. Some of the receptionists could learn a thing or two from them. Small tip to most if not all Mombasa hotels at the moment: pull up your socks! In Thailand one would pay half your official prices for more of the quality you are all offering. Maybe this explains why most of your hotels in Mombasa are empty at the moment excluding the il-persieved insecurity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor, perhaps not too close to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHTraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    11
    8
    1
    8
See reviews for
18
7
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi Region, Kenya
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel is beautiful and the staff there are friendly. It over looks the Indian ocean, it is a breathtaking view from the Casurina snack bar terrace which over looks the Indian ocean. There is also a resturant which has a sea view deck too, which till over looks the ocean and the views from all this places is breathtaking and very peaceful when you are there.

I hear that the sound of water flowing in the ocean, it takes the stress away to help you be more relaxed and at peace.

Room Tip: I would recommend for the travelers wishing to visit the hotel or to book to request the room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mwangi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent 3 nights at Indiana Beach. The staff were very welcoming from the receptionist to the staff member who showed us around the hotel. Since it was the low tourist season we were practically the only ones in the hotel enjoying the two pools and lots of quiet.

The beach is very close (2 minute walk) accessed via a private path. The food bitings are reasonably priced. Breakfast was exceptionally served - the catering staff did go out of their way to make us comfortable as did the house-cleaning lady (we only saw the one who cleaned our rooms).

My one great issue was the WiFi. It would connect on my laptop but neither on our tablets nor any of our phones. Their IT guy was most unhelpful. Long story short the lack of WiFi and no support from him or feedback after he said he'll look into it and I'd left my room number was the single most unpleasant item of my stay.

All-in-all, (less the WiFi), it's certainly a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nakuru, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I was very disappointed with my stay here, the pool was under treatment for 3 days, the reception staff followed us for payment like a hawk, and then after payment calls at 6 am to confirm if we have paid?? this is not my idea of a holiday,,,, having stayed in a lot of places in Mombasa and around the world this was the first time ive got a call of that nature and frankly puts you off....
the price is a good feature for sure...very affordable....rooms decent....bathrooms were not clean...air conditioning not so good.
the location is central and ideal....this place has a lot of potential hope the management will look into service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arfhan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bamburi hotels

Aland Island, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We visited Indiana Beach Hotel from 10th of December 2013 for five weeks.
Accommodation was very good. Big and comfortable rooms. Clean.
Choma grill. The food was delicious and well prepared.
Sea view restaurang. Breakfast was tasty, plenty of choise, delicious.
Two swimming pools. Well maintained. Our grandchildren enjoyed swimming in the pool everyday. The hotel has access to a beach. We had not any problems with beach boys.
Location very good. We did day trips (Tuktuk, Matatu and Taxi) to Mamba Village, Haller Park, Butterfly Park, Bamburi Forest Trails, Wild Waters, Nakumatt supermarket Nyali, Shanzu
village, Mombasa and Malindi. Fishing.
Safari to Tsavo East, Tsavo West and Amboseli five days.
We really enjoyed our stay at Indiana Beach Hotel. Thanks to all staff.
We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tor9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2014

i stayed at indiana and it was a dream come true. the service was excellent, the rooms were spacious and clean. they have robertos the italian resturant which is a plus point. for family holidays they too have apartments.

i am coming back guys keep up.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prashant s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goma, Nord-Kivu, Democratic Republic of the Congo
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I checked in March 2013. Well priced and well maintained hotel. Two pools and two restaurants. However the old staff seems to be unwelcoming and lacadisical. The waitor in Grill Bar, who claimed to be serving there for 15-17 years, was hell bent on serving the food of his liking and not of our choice. May be food was included in my package and he was under orders / pressure to keep the bill low. Otherwise rooms were well kept and security was no issue.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lokeshjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.1 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kahama Hotel
Kahama Hotel
#7 of 14 in Bamburi
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
964 reviews
3.4 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#10 of 58 in Mombasa
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indiana Beach Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indiana Beach Apartment Hotel

Property: Indiana Beach Apartment Hotel
Address: Off Mombasa-Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bamburi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Indiana Beach Apartment Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Indiana Beach Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indiana Beach Apartment Hotel Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing