We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business trip to Mombasa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
242 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Business trip to Mombasa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The atmosphere is great I was working so it made it quite difficult but as a holiday destination clearly a great place.
The rooms spacious and the free WiFi great! The food was super and the general hospitality great.
The room cleaner was an interesting problem as the room was never cleaned at the same time in the day making my life more difficult. I would get my bed made up even though i asked NOT to be disturbed.
The reception on arrival was pretty poor and I had to ask twice for assistance and keys and directions.

Room Tip: Sea Facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColmV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mike k, General Manager at Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Sarova Whitesands Beach resort & Spa as your Preferred Choice.

We have noted that you were inconvenienced by guest room attendants since they had no specified time for room cleaning and this has been taken as a learning lesson and we shall definitely look into all your other concerns including check in process.

Thank you for your positive feedback which will go a long in helping the resort improve on overall guest experience.

Kind Regards

Mike Kamau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    425
    140
    69
    61
See reviews for
382
314
64
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
De Meern
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was our first trip to Kenya, but from the moment we stepped into the hotel, we were treated as we were back home!

We arrived at 4 in the morning, and the detail that was given to us of where everything was and how things worked, really made us feel at home!

Room Tip: 2nd floor if you are able to get the option
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PalmerDeMeern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mike k, General Manager at Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing us and More especially for Choosing Sarova Whitesands Beach resort & Spa as your preferred choice .

We are truly happy to note that we did offer Refreshing African Hospitality and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Mike kamau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We were around 100 doctors of all specialities who came from jordan and lebanon for a conference and relaxation at the same time.
The atmosphere here is great at this time of the year....food and service are very good...
And kenyan people here are welcoming...
At night they have many activities esp the musical band and singers who are really dazzling.
The night is so romantic near the shore...
Reallt great place....and mosquitos are not as they said to us...u have to take yellow fever vaccine and malaria medicines begore u come but u really wont have a problem...
I will comd back again...

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Thabit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

As a customer who returns often with work this hotel never fails.
I always sit by the 'small' pool by the health bar as no children are allowed here.
Redemtia behind the bar here is an angel, nothing is too much trouble for her.
The staff are always smiling.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

I've been here twice, used their facilities, and eaten meals. It's clean, safe, right on the beach, you're not harassed (until you set foot on the beach), the food is good, desserts are lush, and the rooms are good.
The downside is always the harassment by sellers. I won't go back to the area because of them.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is a large resort-type hotel that looks as if it was built to hold large conventions and fly-in vacation packages. But it was off-season at the end of January and maybe had 200 guests. It has all the bells and whistles - great rooms, good beach, lots of swimming pools, bars and sunshine. Good security to keep the beach boys on the beach. We stayed on the half board plan (brekkie & supper) both buffet events with a wide assortment of foods (Kenyan, Indian & European). Give the rooms and facilities a 5 and the restaurant a 4 - good but nothing special - details e.g. world's toughest lamb chops, cold tea at breakfast - they would do better to put the bags out and with an urn of hot water... Staff and service very good although check out seemed slow... The hotel arranged for their driver to take us to Mombassa to see Ft Jesus and he arranged a licensed tour guide to walk us through the sites and picked us up a few hours later to head for the the airport at very reasonable fee.

Room Tip: We followed Trip Advisor's advice and asked for "refurbished rooms facing the beach" a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife had stayed in Sarova white sands days back on her vacation and felt in love with the food quality, this time we happen to pass by and enjoy the meals there especiallly during the kenyan night and breakfast time as well though we were not resident guests that did not set as different from others
Excellent service from the hostess unfortunately i dont remember her name as well as another excellent service from one of the waiters Katana who was very humble, attentive and proffesional will definately be back again soon

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamBen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.6 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
1.8 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
4.2 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bamburi
#1 Spa Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Africa's finest resort, Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa is conveniently located on one of the longest magnificent beach fronts on the Kenyan coast. We take pride in ensuring our guests enjoy the most relaxing and comfortable stay in tastefully furnished rooms and suites offering spectacular ocean, pool and garden views. For dining and entertainment, guests can choose from three themed superb restaurants, two great bars, and the exclusive Cocos Beach Bar, overlooking the beautiful Mombasa Ocean. There are four outdoor swimming pools with water slides, spring board, diving boards and four floodlit tennis courts that also serve as a landing ground for helicopters. A fully equipped wellness and fitness club with state-of-the-art fitness equipment, a PADI diving centre and a host of water sports, like snorkelling and jet skiing are also available. Be it a family holiday with children, beach wedding, honeymoon, business meetings with a difference or special interests like deep sea diving or fishing, Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa has something special for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort And Spa
Sarova Whitesands Beach Hotel Bamburi
Whitesands Hotel Mombasa
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing