We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We went on the 18th of June and from the beginning the food was horrible, and despite several complaints there were no changes in the food (we stayed for 8 nights) and were served the same bland menu everyday
everyday. The rooms are old and rundown, especially the old wing and the staff was so incredibly rude to us.we were a huge group of students and they basically treated us like kindergarteners, never listened and blatantly ignored us and everything we had to say.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sophh-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj V, General Manager at Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort and Spa as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

First and foremost kindly accept our sincere apologies.
We have taken note of your feedback in regard to room status during your stay, food and menu items served. it is quite unacceptable to be ignored by any of our staff members, we are keenly looking into it to ensure it does not recur and all our guest are comfortable through out their stay .

Your reviews are very important to us and we do appreciate your support.

We look forward to extending our refreshing African Hospitality .

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

594 - 600 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

I checked in at The Whitesands on 25th June and was warmly received by the front office staff. The rooms are great and menu is all inclusive. The staff in this hotel are all warm and will serve you with a smile

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the beach is great as you can sit at the balcony and enjoy the beach breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky1973Nairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Becky1973Nairobi,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort and Spa as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

We have taken note that you had a fantastic experience and the entire team is excited to have been part of this experience. We have taken note of the areas that we need to work on to enhance our guest experience.

Your reviews are very important to us and we do appreciate your support.

We look forward to extending our refreshing African Hospitality .

Kind regards,

Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

What can I say ??? The perfect place to get married !! As we did. All the staff without exception were amazing ! We were very looked after, and couldn't have ask for more. We did pay for the upgrade and understand that we would have been upgraded anyway as we were getting married, but others in other party, didn't pay for the upgrade , but we given it anyway. We had amazing views of the ocean, and were near the quiet area, near the spa. All arrangements were made by the hotel, and they were great ! We married on the beach. We paid for all inclusive and it's defiantly the best way to stay ! Food and drink available 24/7. There is nothing more you could ask for. Really want to return, but can't travel due to restrictions to Kenya ! We will def return, I love this place, it has a very special place in my heart xx

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Janie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Janie1969,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort and Spa as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

We have taken note that you had a fantastic experience during your stay and the entire team is excited to have been part of this experience. We have taken note of the areas that we need to work on to enhance our guest experience. Congratulations on your wedding and we were honored to be part of it.

Your reviews are very important to us and we do appreciate your support.

We look forward to extending our refreshing African Hospitality .

Kind regards,

Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

One of my nicest breaks! The Hotel was clean, great sea views and the staff over eager to help and friendly. I will definitely return. The food was great at The Pavilion restaurant - vast choice on the buffet. Plenty of entertainment as well. Special mention to Margaret at front desk and Phillip at Lido restaurant for the extra mile. This was my first visit to Mombasa and I am sold because of this resort. Wow Wow Wow

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaynaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Great food, clean rooms, great pools. Stephen and the other waiters in the Pavillion Restaurant dining room are always ready to help, but are not always hovering at your elbows like other places. We will come back again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwhiteke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is one of the best hotels in Mombasa and is reasonably priced. I have stayed her over the past 11 years and found it to be consistently good. Spend a little extra and get a Premier Seafront Room and make sure it is one of the renovated rooms. Beautiful beach and view of the Indian Ocean.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get a Premier Seafront Room and make sure it is one of the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roryjdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The doorman was very welcoming.checkin was ok.The room was clean (2044) and i really loved it.The food was great!The issues started on the second day. we went back to our room at 1pm and we could not access it as it was blocked which we could not understand as it we had paid.You can imagine going back to the reception and it was raining!Terrible.when we finally got into in the room,it wasnt ready.At 1pm and the room has not been cleaned?really!Actually the room steward had to be called to clean it.No apologies made.Then you have to keep asking for amenities to be replenished in your room.The restaurant staff are friendly,proffesional and very pleasant

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Imma K,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort and Spa as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

We have taken note that you had a fantastic experience and the entire team is excited to have been part of this experience.
We have taken note of your feedback in regard to servicing of your room during your stay, we are looking into the matter so as to ensure it never reoccurs and all our guest are comfortable through out their stay .

Your reviews are very important to us and we do appreciate your support.

We look forward to extending our refreshing African Hospitality .

Kind regards,

Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
1.8 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
4.2 mi away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#10 of 61 in Mombasa
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
#18 of 61 in Mombasa
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
590 reviews
3.1 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 61 in Mombasa
3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bamburi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range: £123 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Africa's finest resort, Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa is conveniently located on one of the longest magnificent beach fronts on the Kenyan coast. We take pride in ensuring our guests enjoy the most relaxing and comfortable stay in tastefully furnished rooms and suites offering spectacular ocean, pool and garden views. For dining and entertainment, guests can choose from three themed superb restaurants, two great bars, and the exclusive Cocos Beach Bar, overlooking the beautiful Mombasa Ocean. There are four outdoor swimming pools with water slides, spring board, diving boards and four floodlit tennis courts that also serve as a landing ground for helicopters. A fully equipped wellness and fitness club with state-of-the-art fitness equipment, a PADI diving centre and a host of water sports, like snorkelling and jet skiing are also available. Be it a family holiday with children, beach wedding, honeymoon, business meetings with a difference or special interests like deep sea diving or fishing, Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa has something special for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Whitesands Beach Hotel Bamburi
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort And Spa
Whitesands Hotel Mombasa
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing