We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travellers Beach Hotel & Club
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Just one night”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed here with my wife for 1 night. The room was nice. It seems like a very long thin hotel. The food was OK. My wife was particularly keen on it compared to another hotel we go to. I was told check out in the morning would be fast... it wasn't. A very confused cashier who seems to have been up all night. African grey parrott was wheeled out in the morning and his cage was crawling with roaches! That says something about care for the bird and cleanliness behind the scenes. Staff member offered to spray the cage with Doom. Not sure that's good for the parrott! On the whole it was OK... I think aimed towards an old clientèle.
We left too early to see what full breakfast was like... but the continental was a bit sparse.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pumbavu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBHMSA, General Manager at Travellers Beach Hotel & Club, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest,

It was such a pleasure to read your valuable comments after your last stay with us.
I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed the variety of food and beverage offered in our Hotel.

The management team has taken all your comments seriously and will take the corrective measures to improve on all the concerns that you have raised. I am also happy to inform you that a lot of the issues that you raised have been addressed as at now.

It will always be our pleasure to welcome you back again. Should you need any assistance in respect to your future stay, please feel free to reach me at gm@travellershtl.com

Yours faithfully,
TRAVELLERS BEACH HOTEL

FREDDIE KIURU
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    270
    80
    27
    31
See reviews for
219
266
45
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Larvik
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at the half board side for 4 days with a three year old and grandmother.

The grounds at Travellers are wonderful and beautifully kept. The poolarea and next to the beach the same. It is peaceful and green all over. For people not fond of sometimes aggressive monkey, bevare: they are plentyful and cheeky!
The staff are very helpful, but they mix up orders and in our room they took our towels and kept them the whole day before returning them.
There are free towels at the poolside so not a big problem..

Food at dinner and breakfast was very good with different things every day.
DInner was a bit late for a family with a small child starting at 19.30, but it was plenty of room and quick service.

The beachboys where a small problem at first, but use 15 minutes with one of them and learn his name and seem interested.. After that you refer to him if anybody else comes up to you and say you have a deal with him :)


All in all a great stay with a few hickups that without could have made the perfect stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBHMSA, General Manager at Travellers Beach Hotel & Club, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear larvik,

It was such a pleasure to read your valuable comments after your last stay with us. We thank you for your recognition of all the hard work put in by my team in ensuring that every single guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

I am delighted to learn that you not only experienced a very high level of friendly and professional service but also enjoyed the variety of food and beverage offered in our Hotel. The management team has taken all your comments seriously and will take the corrective measures to improve on all the concerns that you have raised. I am also happy to inform you that a lot of the issues that you raised have been addressed as at now.

It will always be our pleasure to welcome you back again. Should you need any assistance in respect to your future stay, please feel free to reach me at gm@travellershtl.com

Yours faithfully,
TRAVELLERS BEACH HOTEL

FREDDIE KIURU
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Currently still here, well on arrival I thought the hotel looked a little tired, with the odd stain and leaves in the pool .. however this was in the afternoon and it was windy. The following morning the whole place was being swept and cleaned and after a little initial disappointment became very pleased with the hotel. Food choice for some could be considered limited, its a buffet and every meal so far we have enjoyed with no problems. The rooms are quite spacous with a good bath cross shower with an enless supply of very hot water. we have a sea view with very capable air conditioning which we now turn off at night just because we were getting cold at 22 deg. it is a quiet, relaxed atmosphere with free entertainment from 9.30 each night which ends around 11.30 give or take 15 minutes and there are activities in and around the pools daily. The real winner though are the staff, they are always smiling, welcoming, offering their  services, saying hello ( jambo ) and do not expect a tip although we will tip at the end as we have been well treated.
The DOWNSIDE ... is the tourist sharks on the beach. Be warned ... these people will try their hardest to seperate you from your money. DO NOT BUY ANYTHING unless you consider yourself the champion of bargaining and visit the hotel gift shop first to give yourself a guide for prices. Example .. a wood elephant keyring with your name carved into it, gift shop price 300. Beach price after a good haggle 700. They try anything to keep the price as high as possible and the goods may not even be made of what they claim ( plain wood stained when claimed to be ebony ). The moment you set foot off hotel grounds onto the beach they approach, although they are very patient and polite they are also very persistant. They will walk with you along the beach for hundreds of meters and first time it's quite nice but wears off very quickly.
A trick another guest suggested, but was too late for us, was that when your approached for the first time by these vultures is to simply claim that this is not your first visit, you were here last year and you have got all the souvineer crap (paintings, carvings etc) and your not buying anymore and all your trips have been prebooked with your tour operator. They will still try but stick to your story, don't talk money, claim you can't remember and they will finally piss off.
Now the beach will become yours to enjoy at least outside your hotel. The beach is nice, some seaweed marks the high tide line and the sand is more like fine powder than sand. The sea stays shallow out for at least 100M so because of this the water is as warm as the hotel pool but when the tide is low it's more like weston super mare
The hotel has several pools some of which are linked, the pools are lovely and spacious and vary in depth to suit all. Sun beds are widely available poolside or under the palmtrees at the hotel boundry with the beach but not on the beach. The sun is strong and the constant sea breeze is most welcome so cream up or your burnt in 20 minutes.
Apart from the trips you can book through the rep ( or the beach sharks if your feeling brave ) there is very little to do near the hotel. The halla park near is a nice half day out, a taxi will pick you up, take you, wait for as long as you want, then return you for 1500 and we didn't even haggle. Then just your entrance fee.
Final conclusions ... Thoughly nice time in the hotel and on the trips especially safari, the beach and sea are lovely spoilt by the beach boys or beach sharks as I prefer to call them. Far more german guests than english and I have felt very lazy as some of them have been so friendly and always spoken in english. This hotel is very quiet and relaxing but after a safari I found the slow pace difficult to adjust to initially but not a problem now

Room Tip: The rooms are on 3 levels and I recommend the middle level or floor 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBHMSA, General Manager at Travellers Beach Hotel & Club, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Ian,

It was such a pleasure to read your valuable comments after your last stay with us. We thank you for your recognition of all the hard work put in by my team in ensuring that every single guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

I am delighted to learn that you not only experienced a very high level of friendly and professional service but also enjoyed the variety of entertainments,food and beverage offered in our Hotel. The management team has taken all your comments seriously and will take the corrective measures to improve on all the concerns that you have raised. I am also happy to inform you that a lot of the issues that you raised have been addressed as at now.

It will always be our pleasure to welcome you back again. Should you need any assistance in respect to your future stay, please feel free to reach me at gm@travellershtl.com

Yours faithfully,
TRAVELLERS BEACH HOTEL

FREDDIE KIURU
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Do not be put off by mindless thugs who caused havoc in Nairobi. Do go to Kenya - it is a beautiful place. We had the best holiday ever!
We stayed at the Travellers Beach Club on an all inclusive basis (yes alcohol included) and what a lovely experience.
The food was excellent - I had to slow down but still managed to try some excellent dishes. The African night was special because it gave us the chance to try local food. There was Indian, Chinese, Italian, European and African food and plenty of high quality food.
The bar staff around the pools were courteous and brought your drinks and kept you hydrated!
Look forward to going soon with our grand-children.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBHMSA, General Manager at Travellers Beach Hotel & Club, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Ken,

It was such a pleasure to read your valuable comments after your last stay with us. We thank you for your recognition of all the hard work put in by my team in ensuring that every single guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

I am delighted to learn that you not only experienced a very high level of friendly and professional service but also enjoyed the variety of food and beverage offered in our Hotel. I have shared your compliments with my Team Members.

It will always be our pleasure to welcome you back again. Should you need any assistance in respect to your future stay, please feel free to reach me at gm@travellershtl.com

Yours faithfully,
TRAVELLERS BEACH HOTEL & CLUB

FREDDIE KIURU
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

A fantastic place to stay in Mombasa,Kenya. I was there on a serious business trip and was pleased to actually stay in a beautiful resort like the Travellers beach. The people who run and manage this property are very pleasant. Its a clean place and nice food. Could see a lot of leisure activities around. Will certainly come back here if I plan a holiday in Mombasa in future.

Room Tip: Look for the seaview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank syedfarhadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBHMSA, General Manager at Travellers Beach Hotel & Club, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Syed,

It was such a pleasure to read your valuable comments after your last stay with us. We thank you for your recognition of all the hard work put in by my team in ensuring that every single guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

I am delighted to learn that you not only experienced a very high level of friendly and professional service but also enjoyed the variety of food and beverage offered in our Hotel. I have shared your compliments with my Team Members.

It will always be our pleasure to welcome you back again. Should you need any assistance in respect to your future stay, please feel free to reach me at gm@travellershtl.com

Yours faithfully,
TRAVELLERS BEACH HOTEL

FREDDIE KIURU
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel during September '13. It was not a really great place to stay if you are a young european travelling around. First of all, it is located in the middle of many resorts, and the only access to the beach is full of Kenyans who would like to sell you something and do not stop pushing you! Then food was not really great. It was a buffet, and had nothing really special...however, breakfast was amazing with waffels, crepes, eggs, and plenty of other stuff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puntanela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We have just for back from travellers all inclusive beach club, we stayed 3 nights after having a hectic few days on safari. The club was incredibly welcoming and friendly. Our room looked out onto the beach which was beautiful, it rained most days but only showers that didn't last long. The one thing that makes this place is the staff, we loved Thomas in the resurant who was always very pleasant and chatty and always greeted us with a smile. The people on the beach trying to sell items are a bit of a pain but it was very beautiful, and there are security guards on each entrance so the sellers can't get on the hotel grounds, we met a young man called Michael who was very kind and friendly, and very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and very professional when it comes to his role as security guard - he's a credit to the hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend anyone to stay here.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBHMSA, General Manager at Travellers Beach Hotel & Club, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Jo,

It was such a pleasure to read your valuable comments after your last stay with us. We thank you for your recognition of all the hard work put in by my team in ensuring that every single guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

I am delighted to learn that you experienced a very high level of friendly and professional service. I have shared your compliments with my Team Members.

It will always be our pleasure to welcome you back again. Should you need any assistance in respect to your future stay, please feel free to reach me at gm@travellershtl.com

Yours faithfully,
TRAVELLERS BEACH HOTEL

FREDDIE KIURU
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.5 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 58 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.7 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#16 of 58 in Mombasa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
4.3 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Beach Hotel & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Beach Hotel & Club

Property: Travellers Beach Hotel & Club
Address: Mombasa - Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bamburi
#3 Spa Hotel in Bamburi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Travellers Beach Hotel & Club 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers Beach Hotel is dedicated to give you a relaxed and home like feeling. Travellers Beach hotel provides a 4 star accommodation facility with luxurious amenities to enhance your stay and make it a memorable one. The amenities include telephone services, split air conditioner, balconies with panoramic view of the ocean and the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travellers Beach Hotel & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Beach Hotel And Club
Travellers Beach Bamburi
Hotel Travellers Beach
Travellers Beach Hotel Mombasa
Travellers Beach Hotel Kenya
Travellers Beach Hotel & Club Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing