We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kenya Bay Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

...and another beautiful vacation at the Kenya Bay Beach Hotel has ended. We first stayed in this hotel last year. We loved the service, the quality of the accommodations offered, the food, the ambience a year ago and everything is as beautiful now as it was then. We could go on and on extolling the hotel's wonderful features. This will definitely be our HOTEL OF CHOICE in Mombasa when we come again. We would strongly recommend this hotel to those who are travelling to Kenya and want to stay in a hotel that is right on the doorstep of the Indian Ocean beachfront with good service, THIS IS DEFINITELY THE PLACE!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanrosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    130
    44
    16
    17
See reviews for
106
93
31
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Upon arrival, we were met with very tired looking receptionist. the porter looked like he was being forced to be there. It was only 7p.m. The greeting was half hearted.
The room (standard room) was very nice with a balcony. Spacious with big beds, comfy. T.V satellite channels rubbish as we could hardly watch anything. The bathroom looked nice but the tub was super dirty. We could almost see a sandy footprint. Big disappoitment as we had to disinfect it with Dettol and let the water run. Carry slippers to use in th tub!!! You cant be sure they wash it.
The toiletries were ok. Soap and some awful fragranced shower gels in re-used bottles with faded trademarks. If hygiene is a factor, they do not change your towels every day so be careful how you use yours. If you leave it on the floor or seat, you will find it nicely folded out and placed in the bathroom or on the seat! Shocking.
Besides that,the food is great and the waiters are very friendly and nice. You will feel the value for money after the visit to the simple dining. You will be happy during your stay. Food is great with plenty of variety. The soups are delicious. The main course has good variety of local and international dishes and the desserts are just ok, nothing extraordinary. The manager is also very good who keeps an eye on things.Fruits also in plenty. However, not much entertainment at night, just soft music in the background that may skip once in a while. (it adds to laughter anyway! haha)
The pool is nice,standard and you can see the magnificent view of the ocean; also from the rooms, to the grounds and also at the restaurant. There are plenty of activities around like boat rides, surfing, etc. The beach boys may disturb a little by hovering but once they see you are not interested, you have peace.
Few minutes from Malls, hotels, restaurants, Il Covo a minute away,butterfly center, go-karts and other nice places to visit nearby.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. It depends with what you want to pay. Standard rooms are next to the recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baker L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I was in Kenya Bay beach hotel for 3 nights and it was great! It was not busy so i had the chance to get to know the staff.
They put flowers on my bed and in the evening there was nice entertaining! :)
The staff is very friendly and we felt very welcome. If i come back to Mombasa again, i certainly choose for Kenya Bay again!

Asante sana you guys!

Saskia from Holland

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molo, Rift Valley, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Kenya Bay gave my fiancée and I such a great weekend and topped it with a special birthday cake. The pool is clean and awesome and the food is delicious.
Great Staff and a wonderful experience. Will surely be back .

Room Tip: Room 207 is the BEST Room. Will be Back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Had the best weekend of my life. The view, the comfort, the fo0d and all the facilities of our room was great. we had a fantastic stay at Kenya Bay Beach Hotel, for sure we are all definately coming back

Room Tip: deluxe room is the best with a beautiful sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajsolanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Istay 1 day when iwas coming from Zurich via Nairobi via Mombasa I book this hotel I stay before about 5 years ago it was late when iwas arrive it was almost morning the reception given the juice for welcome and also clothe for clean up your face after given us our keys for the room with the porter the room was discusting dirty also no mosquito nets also toilet is not clean towel are very old you will not given any guest those towel you can used for cleaning floor air condition not working is making noise also is bringing dust also it was very noise coming from the disco also noise for the car alarm we rang reception and we say we can sleep with this room was dirty and we have to stay at reception all night until morning and she say if we need breakfast we can have it when we went to breakfast table juiice tank it was absolutely dirty we didn't have any breakfast I went back to reception and she want me to pay full amount it was 9600 Kenya shilling is about 100euro ipay full amount and then we ask the manager name we have been given his name and email and his telephone number we rang and we explain what's happen and he decide to given offer to stay free next time but we refused and his offer half of the rates to collect at reception the porter boy he say plenty room at the beach no tourist at all it was very quite but they decide to give horrible room I will never stay again on this hotel I stay all over the world but this hotel it was dirty iwill not recommended to anyone to stay this hotel also if you at reception you can smell rubbish bin is near reception

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ismail c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

When we first arrived we were greeted by very friendly staff and made us feel very welcome. We've been to about 10 different hotels in previous years but this was by far the best.. The food is delicious and varied, the location is just perfect and the atmosphere overall is mesmerizing. During the day there are fun packed activities for both kids and adults to enjoy! Every night there is fun and exciting entertainment, the rooms are beautiful and very clean. I am planning my next trip to kenya next month and i will definitely be back at kenya bay beach :)

Room Tip: Choose a room with a good view of the beach ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayaan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.2 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#8 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kahama Hotel
Kahama Hotel
#7 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
3.0 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#18 of 59 in Mombasa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plaza Beach Hotel
The Plaza Beach Hotel
#10 of 14 in Bamburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenya Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Bay Beach Hotel

Property: Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Address: Mombasa Malindi Road | Bamburi Beach, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bamburi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kenya Bay Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful setting among Frangipani and Bougainville with the most breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean, welcomes you to the Kenya Bay Beach Hotel, Mombasa. This exclusive hotel built in a subtle blend of African and modern architecture offers a marvelous ambiance for a truly wonderful and relaxing beach vacation. Located on Bamburi Beach, it is no wonder that year after year, families have anchored at this hotel for a relaxing and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Kenya Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenya Bay Beach Bamburi
Hotel Kenya Bay Beach
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing