We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed for 5 nights and found the staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant provided excellent breakfast and dinner buffets and had evening entertainment included. Friend celebrated birthday during our stay and waiters and waitresses were very accommodating and even all sang in their native language for him!
Rooms clean and tidy and felt very safe. Safe boxes in room and also safety deposit boxes at cashiers office. Rooms had mosquito nets provided on request although did not find that there were many mosquitos around.
Good location on the beach. Also swimming pool had games which were fun to take part in.
I would definitely stay again as good value for money also.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vik193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, and noted the following that the management need to check on,
1. rooms clean, bed comfortable, towels are too old and please make them white.
2. a choice of only 1 local Tv channel, which in fact was not working when we were there.
3. staff extremely friendly but the management should buy them new uniforms so that they can look neat and more appealing, i trust you are in the hospitality business where what the customer sees is very important.
4. food good but no varieties, please include foods like arrow roots, sweet-potatoes, kaimati, mahamri, and bacon for breakfast and please don't keep serving sausages that have been warmed for like 2 days. For dinner too try and make varieties eg like various beef recipes, chicken recipes etc.
5. swimming pool perfect.

staff i repeat are very friendly and very good and they are the strength of this hotel.

Room Tip: view from higher floor rooms is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoller o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This hotel has greatly improved in all areas.The have very nice food and very good evening entertainment.Their internal communication is has improved with introduction of walk-talk.Very clean rooms and an excellent front office staff.Accounts department is also good.Their laundry dept should pull up in terms of efficient .Pool/beach games are very good.

Room Tip: New building block have flat TV installed and are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gitehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed at his hotel for a week and have mixed feelings about it. The best part is the most friendly, accomodating staff and great night entertainment. The best crepes for breakfast that tasted better than the ones I had in Paris. Even though the property is quite old, it is very well maintained and impecably clean.
What was not so good is that check out process took the longest time: they do not have records of your downpayment in the computer and it was very frustrating having to deal with it at 3 AM at checkout, even though the bill was already settled the night before. There should be better communication among front desk staff and better record keeping. I was told that kitchen was open 24 hrs and having breakfast before catching an early flight should not be a problem, but after walking all the way there in the dark, I found the door locked and it was frustrating that nobody at the front desk called them that there was a guest coming. The beach in front of the hotel could be kept cleaner and more attractive. Again, had it not been for the waiters, security staff, housekeeper,and the hotel driver who provided excellent hospitality, I do not think that this hotel would be my choice in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naisula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I have travelled up and down the African coast for the last 20 years. I think I have stayed at Kenya Bay Beach Hotel about 15 times now and these days I find it the best value for money on the East African coast. The place has a very peaceful atmosphere, but lively places are within easy reach if it becomes too quiet. I have been there as a single holidayer, with friends some times and also with the whole extended family. It suits all needs. Being the neighbour to the fantasic Il Covo restaurant is a huge advantage. Nowhere is better to enjoy reasonably priced piripiri prawns and chilled white wine. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and the rooms are just what you need. The rooms have safes, but a couple of times I have forgotten to put valuables in the safe, but I have yet to experience any theft from the room. They always have enough sunbeds and the staff will eagerly get you towels and mattress when needed. While at the three times more expensive Whitesands a few hundred meters down the Beach will have you waiting for ages for a sunbed. And remember the beach is the same for all these Bamburi hotels, so why pay a fortune? I will be back very soon!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tore W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I have to agree with the previous reviewer 'wrinkles & loneliness'....I was supposed to stay 3 nights and left after one. I had decided to stay after all of the great reviews yet apart from the lovely staff the hotel is terrible. Having stayed all over the world in all types of hotels and accommodation I am an easy traveler, yet this hotel has to be one of the worst....polluted beach, average food and generally low energy place to stay.

Room Tip: Suggest rooms above basic.....however, I suggest finding an alternative hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My Best friend and I stayed at Kenya Bay sometime in July and although we just needed a quiet stay, we had the best 2days we've ever spent on any vacations. From the gate to the beach, the whole place was beautiful and very clean.. Very serene. The staff at the reception were amazing.. Exceptionally helpful, courteous and very professional, though we did not meet our housekeeper, she did an excellent job of keeping our room neat all the time. The room was very spacious and the air-conditioning was just right. The main restaurant had the best breakfast we've ever had in Kenya and the waiters were very attentive. The swimming pool was very refreshing, the water clean and the life guards too were very friendly. They were the ones to tell us about all the best entertainment places in Mombasa. We can't wait to go back there and definitely recommend to friends. I hope next time they could have a little more hotel amenities like dental kits, slippers, and at least stock their minibars. Our minibar was quite old and made a very bad noise at night, and it was also full of rust that was peeling off. Nevertheless we had a beautiful stay and we are happy to go back again very soon...

Room Tip: Double Delux rooms are abit more pricely but they are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shikok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.2 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 60 in Mombasa
987 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#11 of 60 in Mombasa
226 reviews
59.5 mi away
Kahama Hotel
Kahama Hotel
#7 of 14 in Bamburi
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenya Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Bay Beach Hotel

Address: Mombasa Malindi Road | Bamburi Beach, Bamburi, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bamburi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range: £58 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kenya Bay Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful setting among Frangipani and Bougainville with the most breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean, welcomes you to the Kenya Bay Beach Hotel, Mombasa. This exclusive hotel built in a subtle blend of African and modern architecture offers a marvelous ambiance for a truly wonderful and relaxing beach vacation. Located on Bamburi Beach, it is no wonder that year after year, families have anchored at this hotel for a relaxing and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kenya Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenya Bay Beach Bamburi
Hotel Kenya Bay Beach
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing