We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, outstandingly clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Deer Mountain Lodge & Wilderness Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Dummer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, outstandingly clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We were in the area for whitewater kayaking on several nearby waterways, and this location could not have been more perfect, especially for a first-time visit. We were within 10 minutes of the Pontook Dam, where we met our group, as well as 20 minutes from the location we met for dinner later. The bed was extremely clean and comfortable, with high-quality linens scented of the fresh NH air from line-drying. The themed rooms are interesting and spacious, and ours was pitch-dark for ideal sleeping. The lodge decorations are like a museum, where we noticed new details every time we walked through or sat on the comfortable furniture in the common area. The bathroom was very small, though clean and functional (worth the tight size it to have our own bathroom, rather than sharing one with multiple other rooms as we have experienced at similar lodges). Richard could not have been more accomodating to our needs to dry wet clothing after running the river, and is a wealth of information about the area (attractions, history, and current events, in particular). Though we largely avoided our electronics on this trip, we appreciated having access to wireless internet for a quick check. The continental breakfast offered a good variety to select from for varied tastes, and he kept the coffee coming. The reservation process was easy, as the phone was answered each time I called, and the email I sent later with a question was answered promptly. We will definitely stay at this lodge on future trips!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We had a wonderful time enjoying the personalized service that the innkeeper provides.
The Inn is rustic and comfortable, just what we needed as a break from big city life.
I would recommend Great Northern Moose Lodge as a terrific place to stay in the area!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeptravelin65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Always great to see Richard and Sandy. Sophia had so much fun collecting branches in the woods to roast marshmallows and have her first "real" s'more. We try to get out the the lodge at least once a year and have been going now for 6 years. LOVE IT. Sophia likes going to "Moose" and visiting her friend "the boy" (she just turned 5 and tends to leave things blank.) We'll see you again hopefully in the Fall. Wonderful, quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyJane85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

We had such a good time. Rich, our host was excellent and gave us whatever we asked for. The rooms are very quaint and comfortable. Whether out moose sighting or sitting around the fire chatting, you will love this place. Thanks agian Rich....We will be back
Tim and Desirae Peterson

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank timndez15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

We had the most relaxing few days we have had in a long time. Richard was a wonderful host and we all felt comfortable from the moment we got there. we will definately be back. Thanks for the hospitality and the warm fires on some slightly chilly June nights. Had a great stay. Valerie and Alan Dean, Dana and Tammie Dean, Tim and Dez Peterson

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, very country
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vfdean47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

My Son and I had the great fortune of staying at the lodge .....meeting Richard, Sandy, and their daughter was more pleasant than you could imagine, could write the whole week here but you would be better suited to go experience it for yourself, no better place to stay in all of NH and no finer people anywhere...... my Son is already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: Just call Richard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank truckboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latham, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We had a wonderful time staying at this amazing place. Richard, the host and owner, was the best host you could ever ask for. He was extremely accommodating, laid back and becomes a great friend. He provided us with many many many activity ideas and tourism information. We always looked forward to going back to the lodge in the evening to hang out with Richard and his other guests. Richard makes a world class campfire. Wonderful place at inexpensive rates. YOU MUST STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sushilover123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dummer
0.0 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colebrook Country Club & Motel
0.0 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
0.0 mi away
Notch View Inn
Notch View Inn
#3 of 7 in Colebrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tall Timber Lodge
Tall Timber Lodge
#2 of 12 in Pittsburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Mountain Lodge & Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Mountain Lodge & Wilderness Resort

Property: Deer Mountain Lodge & Wilderness Resort
Address: 1442 Nh Route 16, Dummer, NH 03588-5331 (Formerly Great Northern Moose Lodge)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Dummer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dummer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Deer Mountain Lodge & Wilderness Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Mountain Lodge is a Country Rustic B&B located on 47 Acres of land nestled on the Androscoggin River in Dummer NH. We currently boast 5 guest bedrooms each with a custom made log bed, and private bath. We offer the opportunity to enjoy many outdoor activities, such as Ride the Wilds (OHRV riding) and Snowmobiling right from our front door! We offer an optimum location for our guests to enjoy fishing,hunting, rafting,kayaking,wildlife watching, photography, hiking, biking and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Deer Mountain Lodge & Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing