We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't choose this pub.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bainbridge
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We arrived in the bar, on Sunday mid-afternoon just after just after a group of 20 had arrived, however the pub was not overly busy. The bar staff told us it might be a wait for food but not too long. David cut in and said as the group only mostly wanted sandwiches it would not be long at all. David quickly took our order.

Our glasses were dirty - one still had a previous users lipstick round the top.

We waited over an hour, in which time we endured a loud young bar person telling other customers about her personal life decisions and her opinions about staff in the kitchen.

When our order eventually came, it was not paninis as ordered, but sandwiches made from cheap white loaf bread tasting of cheap margarine. The orders of accompanying chips were completely wrong and the chips we did get tasted like they had been cooked in old well-used fat. We asked for salad cream but the bar person forgot to send for it. We complained as we were paying and we were offered a discount. We had left most of our meals.

The place is dirty with layers of thick dust in the toilets. I bring a lot of friends to the Yorkshire Dales, both from this country and from Germany and Spain. I am only pleased that I have never booked rooms or brought them for a meal at this dreadful place. I would be ashamed. I only hope that the management try and do something with what could be a lovely building before we open the Dales to the Tour de France. I would not like think that visitors would experience this pub as part of their impression of our beautifal Yorkshire Dales.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wakefieldwanderer04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at the Rose and Crown for the weekend. It’s a large old building, parts of which are over 500 years old! Must be difficult to keep warm when it’s really cold.
The room was fine, with view of a spring scene of sheep with their lambs in one field and horses in another. Staff very friendly and there was a relaxed atmosphere. The bar was full of character with typical pub food at reasonable prices. If you are looking for an immaculate sterile modern 5 star hotel with regimented staff, then this is not for you, but for us who prefer the experience of a classic old English Dales hotel, with a lovely meal and a few pints in front of a real log fire, it couldn’t have been better. We enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kjerstin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

recently stayed at Rose & Crown - most unloved place I have ever stayed at - needs a massive clean up throughout the whole place. Towel provided daily but you could nearly see through them. Tiles / grouting in shower area needed a good clean up. Boiler has been broken for some time so not a warm area to be found - had small heater in bedroom that could not keep warm room. Food was overall OK though. Two members of staff - Jamie-Lee and William - really where trying there best to see all guests had a good a time as possible in the circumstances - if the place had money spent on ti and they ran it would be a great place in a great location.

Room Tip: not sure there is one !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 109Sasha1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Arrived and booked in and all seemed OK. The beer, bar, food and staff were all very good. What let it down was the property and fixings. Needed a good clean and redecoration. Our room was dusty, there was a previous clients pyjamas left in the room, the four poster bed leaned at alarming angles but was very comfy to sleep in. The central heating didn't work properly so 4 days without hot water, lukewarm at best. The shaving light in the shower room didn't work and there was a leak from the macerator toilet system. All in all I would recommend it for a night out or a meal but as for staying there, if you need to stay in Bainbridge use one of the many B&B's. Just remembered you cannot watch the TV from the four poster bed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We walked the Cam High Road and had booked at the Rose and Crown for a meal. Although we were almost 2 hours late they made us most welcome and roast dinner was excellent. We were warm and cosy by the log fire and the service was good and friendly, particularly the young lady in the bar. This is an old pub- it is not your bright modern palace. If you want that, go elsewhere. These old English pubs are to be cherished. We would highly recommend the Rose and Crown to walking parties - the beer is good too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 254PauliH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

On a beautiful wintry Sunday afternoon we visited this 15th century hotel for lunch on the way to Masham. We both ordered sandwiches which arrived promptly and were well presented. Go for the curly fries!! Friendly service and stunning location. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 733AlisonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just had a long weekend here with freinds as we were let down at the last minute by another pub due to circumstances beyond their control,so we found the rose and crown booked for a long weekend deal great value , we found all the food was great ,all the staff we met were brilliant and we had a great time in the bar drinking the night away whilst with the locals and the barmen Willie and John ,overall a great stay made all the better by tha staff ,AAA+++ Thanks guys and gal Tony B

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bainbridge
4.7 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
18.6 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
299 reviews
3.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
17.6 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
563 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose & Crown Hotel

Address: Vlillage Green | Wensleydale, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Bainbridge DL8 3EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bainbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bainbridge
Price Range: £69 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rose & Crown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel Bainbridge, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing