We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bainbridge
Trimdon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

called in for sunday lunch as we stopped to watch the vintage cars having their lunch stop from the beamish rally.we wernt impressed with the sunday lunch.it looked like they were short staffed.i know it is a very old hotel & has character but i thought it could have done with a spring clean.the toilets need sorting out as i wasnt impressed with them.put it this way a couple ordered their sunday lunch their was 2 choices pork or beef they ordered beef & got pork.we ordered pork & got no stuffing & had to ask for apple sauce which wasnt very nice.dont think i will visit again only for a drink.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenys A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    68
    21
    43
    49
See reviews for
34
103
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked this at last minute as there were no 3 or 4 star nearby within our price range. We were not disappointed although it is 2 star and in need of some TLC.It was clean and we had 2 nights in a comfortable bed .Views were good from our room window and the village is very pretty especially the tour de France displays. We decided to have the offer of £88 per person for DB&B. The menu we were given for the special offer was fine but we could also have anything from the regular menu and pay the extra which was not very much. I was surprised at how busy this pub is and the food was very good. The staff were very nice and the choices on the breakfast menu was above 2 star .One could choose scrambled egg with salmon or kippers as well as the usual fried breakfast. it would have been nice to have yogurt and fruit on the menu but the menu was more than I have seen in 3 star accommodation. I would return to this hotel and if you are staying 1or 2 nights and want value for money then this is ideal.

Room Tip: We had room 7 with a four poster double bed .Also in the room were 2 single beds too. The shower was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juney25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Group of 12 - well received in the bar with friendly service. We did have to ask for replacement drinks as the soft drinks were flat.
However the meal was where it all went wrong. The starter did not taste like any of the ingredients that were supposed to be in it.
Several of us had ordered what sounded like a nice meal with mashed potatoes. However without a discussion, new potatoes were served perhaps in the hope we wouldn't notice. When we did ask, we were told there was no mash left. The chef sent his apologies, but he didn't mash the potatoes. It didn't seem particularly busy.
To be fair, they took a round of drinks off the bill. But I wouldn't come here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bainbridge hotels

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband,myself and two friends stayed here for a couple of days,beautiful setting,the staff couldn't have been more friendly.the food was all you could have asked for, a great menu plenty
of variety..decor could be improved but having said that was in keeping with the age of the hotel..will definety be returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Certainly an economic weekend for DB&B, The food is good pub food, good beer, but let down dramatically with drab tired décor, and a lack of cloths hanging space in some bedrooms.
New carpets & curtains throughout would make a world of difference to this ancient pub & please remove the `plastic` flowers.
Staff helpful

Room Tip: Check first to see if you have a shower or a bath?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Me and my wife stayed at the rose and crown hotel on our way back to lancashire from scotland the village is lovely part of yorkshire and the hotel being the age that it is was very nice,we spent the evening by the log fire had a lovely dinner and staff were very friendly and helpful the hotel is definetly worth staying at as it is like going back in time and has alot of original features which you dont often see in a city,will certainly be back for a long weekend in the summer time .

Room Tip: four poster rooms are very good value for the price !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

stayed for a full weekend and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. the food is excellent generally with the full Yorkshire breakfast being fantastic. the staff are a happy crew led by a gregarious host whose direct manner and good humour were refreshing. whilst some aspects of the décor could be improved the overall verdict is one of tremendous value for money. The Pub is characterful catering not just to the tourist but also locals and occasional passers by. The village of Bainbridge itself is idyllic and a perfect base to explore the amazing Yorkshire dales. David .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bainbridge
3.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
3.9 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
17.6 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
2.1 mi away
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose & Crown Hotel

Property: The Rose & Crown Hotel
Address: Bainbridge | Wensleydale, Bainbridge, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bainbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bainbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rose & Crown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel Bainbridge, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing