We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bainbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Low Mill Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Bainbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Low Mil is amazing! Surrounded by lovely villages and fantastic countrydside the Mill is just stunning. Jane and Neil are excellent hosts and very welcoming. The food, from local producers is delicious and of a very high standard. We stayed in the Kiln Room which is very large, beautifully furnished, has a fabulous shower and superb views of the River Bain and surrounding countryside from all windows. We were given a tour of the Mill including the working water wheel! All rooms are exceptional, especially the Workshop with it's free-standing copper bath and working mill machinery. We would definately recommend this excellent B&B and will be booking a return visit very soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic, large and of a very high standard. The workshop is especially stunning due...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank abbie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for Low Mill Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2011

Absoluteley wonderful property! We orginally booked the store room but were upgraded to the Workshop free of charge.

Neil and Jane really welcoming, they showed us around all of the rooms (all finished to really high standard), and even gave us a demonstaration of the waterwheel in action.

Breakfast was also fantastic. We actually had dinner at Yorebridge House down the road but would love to try dinner here next time.

Would definately reccomend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We needed a chill-out after recent family traumas and months of long hours. We certainly got it. Low Mill is architecturally quirky and beautifully renovated, and Jane and Neil McNair's taste in mixing modern and period furniture with great quality textiles and bric-a-brac from local auction houses is spot on. We had a great and very reasonably priced three-course dinner from freshly-produced local foods, the bedroom was spacious with great views and had a separate small living area, great shower and indulgent toiletries. Breakfast was gargantuan, and relaxing in front of the log fire in the lounge was blissfully relaxing. Our hosts were interesting and attentive, but very unassuming. This fantastic hospitality, plus a great walk from nearby Hawes and exploration of local villages made a great weekend.

Room Tip: All three rooms are spacious and decorated and furnished to a high spec. Next time we'd like to...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sheena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We had an absolutely amazing time staying at Low Mill, it is a truly stunning building and Jane and Neil have done such a good job on the restoration. We stayed in the Workshop, which was very luxurious, especially the giant copper bath! Every single meal we ate was also delicious and Jane and Neil were very friendly and welcoming. If you like the Yorkshire Dales, you must pay a visit - one of the best B&Bs I have ever come across, especially for a romantic/luxurious stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank suziemct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Spacious rooms, super beds.And the breakfast, just amazing. The village butcher's sausages so fine, we took some home! We'd have liked to ask for a doggie bag for our fish pie at dinner, the portions were huge and lovely. We were there in the October heatwave so could sit beside the river and watch the ducks passing by. It's an ideal centre for walkers and also for lazy townies who want a bit of spoiling.

Room Tip: for true luxury choose the room with superb bath in it - there's a shower too for boring husband...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank violettaBainbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

What an amazing building! Absolutely wonderful, luxurious, accomodation. Neil and Jane were excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Stayed in "The Workshop" The copper bath was fantastic.Would have liked to light the wood burning stove but unfortunately our stay was not long enough. Ask Neil to show you the water wheel - a work in progress.
Can't wait to see it finished.

Eva

Room Tip: All rooms amazing
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed here for a weekend after walking half of the coast to coast path, with our dog, Herbie. It was a wonderful luxurious end to our holiday. The building is amazing, Jane and Neil were great hosts, and the food was really good - try the metling chocolate pudding!

Room Tip: The large room with copper bath is really special - very relaxing
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bainbridge
3.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
417 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
4.0 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
266 reviews
1.0 mi away
Skeldale House B&B
Skeldale House B&B
#1 of 7 in Askrigg
403 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Mill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Mill Guest House

Address: Yorkshire Dales National Park, Bainbridge DL8 3EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bainbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bainbridge
Hotel Class:5 star — Low Mill Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Late 18th-century stone built cornmill in the picturesque village of Bainbridge. Waterwheel and working mill machinery throughout the building. We have 3 luxury bedrooms and offer a full dinner, bed and breakfast service. Beautiful riverside garden, open fires and central Dales location make Low Mill an ideal base for exploring the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Low Mill Guest House Bainbridge, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing