We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem that you really should experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bainbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Low Mill Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Bainbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My partner and I spent 3 nights at this delightful Guest House in February 2014, and it surpassed all our expectations. Whilst attention was paid to every detail you could not ask for a more unobtrusive couple. They remained discreet but attentive and should you need anything then Neil and Jane are their to sort it for you with a friendly smile. Nothing appears to be too much trouble for them. When we were planning a day out we mentioned it to Neil and he went off and researched what was going on in the area. Bearing in mind that little happens in February, with his help we had a fabulous day out and explored places we never knew existed. Whist this Guest House is advertised as B&B, you can have evening meals if you let them know early enough. We had evening meals on two of the three nights and I have to say that these meals were a match for ANY restaurant I have ever been to and I've been to a few in the last 50 years. Whilst Neil is a top man I think Jane steals the title for food queen :) Fabulous food and very generous portions. I cannot recommend Low Mill Guest House or its owners highly enough. The rooms are fabulous, the beds are extremely comfortable and you can relax in front of a log fire in a cosy lounge with a nice local beer served by Neil. What could be better than that. Our heartfelt thanks go to Jane and Neil for making our short break very, very special.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed with some friends so we took all three rooms. I stayed in the Storeroom which is the smallest room but still a good size and very well done out. Everything included in room right up to chocolate bars! Nice bathroom with modern fittings and shower over bath. The other 2 rooms are larger and fitted to the same high standard.
Nice residents lounge with TV etc and log burner,all very cosy! It is obvious that a lot of money has been spent on this rebuild of the mill to turn it into an award winning B&B. Guest areas are separate from the owners living area.
We all ate dinner which was excellent and breakfast was the same standard. Neil will also show you how the mill works!
This is a prime example of perhaps paying a little more but getting a really good product. Will certainly put this one on my list to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same standard. Depends if you want a copper bath in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

recommended by a friend,well worth a visit. jane and neil excellent hosts. stayed in the kiln room.
evening meal upon request, stayed 2 nights, ate in both nights excellent food. nice big lounge with a big fire for the winter. will certainly return

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dennis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

beautiful unique place to stay & Jane & Neil are always warm & welcoming. We were in the Workshop again (cos it has the logburner!!) and we dined in both nights - the food is brilliant. Be back next year...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robotmanWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

WHAT a treat Low Mill Guesthouse was as a stop over whilst cycling Stage One of Le Tour de France this week . A warm welcome, hot bath, fine dining, plush bed and stellar breakfast awaited us. We can't recommend this place and its owners highly enough. They use local quality produce for everything they serve and we could tell. We indulged in a three course evening meal - delicious mushroom soup, belly pork with perfect crackling and lamb shank falling off the bone, beautiful local cheeses, an excellent wine etc - served in their candlelit dining room. The ambiance was perfect.
Great breakfast menu too - I had bacon, pancakes and maple syrup whilst hubby had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. We didn't even have to choose what we wanted the night before like in most guesthouses. It set us up lovely for cycling up Buttertubs Pass.
We were in the least expensive of the rooms - The Storeroom - and judging by it's luxury the others must be verging on opulent as they go up the scale.
Lovely little touches like loose leaf tea, real fires, proper milk in a flask instead of UHT in the bedrooms, bath robes, chocolates all over the place, and interesting decor make it such a treat.
The rich history of the mill is very interesting and all the artifacts are still in tact to have a nosy at.
This one's a keeper. They really have got it right.

Room Tip: They're all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sezra25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

What an absolutely beautiful place. Low Mill is the perfect place to relax and unwind, in the idyllic surroundings of the a Yorkshire Dales coupled with the quirkiness inside. Neil and Jane are the perfect hosts, giving you the right amount of attention without intruding. Dinner and breakfast were scrumptious. Can't wait to go back...perhaps we'll let our pup come next time!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique, quirky and comfortable so take your pick - you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Working water wheel...check, detached, situated next to the river...check, terraced gardens with quirky ornaments, seating areas and overlooking that river...check, log burner in bedroom...check, HUGE copper bath in bedroom...check, 2 more FANTASTIC bedrooms...check, superb dining room with separate tables and an open fire...check, brilliant breakfasts with big choice...check, 2 or 3 course evening meals at incredible prices, cooked with as much skill and attention as any restaurant...check, wine/drinks list at proper prices, not over inflated like many...check, lounge with fantastic sofas, comfy chairs, open fire and big selection of maps/books/DVDs...check, all mixed together with owners who care and are genuine. I don't see why you would want to stay anywhere else in Bainbridge, or indeed the Dales!! This time round we stayed in the largest bedroom (Workshop) and had another fantastic holiday. Roses on the bed (stayed Valentines weekend) chocolates on the table, loads of nice little touches!! Another plus point is the other guests you meet, we have always found everyone to be warm and friendly, often staying up chatting in the lounge after dinner. All previous posts have said it all, but it's soooooo good, you have to keep saying it!!
Thanks once again Jane and Neil for more great memories

Room Tip: Splurge on the Workshop, but all are fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bainbridge
4 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
232 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
632 reviews
5.1 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Mill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Mill Guest House

Address: Yorkshire Dales National Park, Bainbridge DL8 3EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bainbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bainbridge
Hotel Class:5 star — Low Mill Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Late 18th-century stone built cornmill in the picturesque village of Bainbridge. Waterwheel and working mill machinery throughout the building. We have 3 luxury bedrooms and offer a full dinner, bed and breakfast service. Beautiful riverside garden, open fires and central Dales location make Low Mill an ideal base for exploring the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Low Mill Guest House Bainbridge, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing