We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bainbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Low Mill Guest House
Ranked #1 of 3 Bainbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This place is lovely, I had booked via email about five months before and mentioned it was our wedding anniversary. One of the owners, Neil, met us and congratulated us our anniversary which was really personal and thoughtful to have remembered.
As we entered into to cosy lounge, there was a lovely real fire burning away that instantly gave it that homely touch. We were shown to our room which was the store room, it was simply gorgeous, warm, welcoming and tastefully done. It made you want to instantly kick off you does and make yourself at home! In our room - home made chocolates and home made cookies, a really nice touch. In the window a few fresh long steamed roses in a vase, They think of everything! I have been to hotels before where the charged extra for things like this. We had a lovely view on the beck and with the window open a jar you could hear the water which was very relaxing.
The shower was really powerful and the bed soooo comfy with luxurious bedding!
The breakfast was spot on and really tasty. The bread was home made, or at least it tasted as though it was, we could not fault it. You could tell all the ingredients were of quality.
this place has been lovingly resorted by the current owners and it shows. It is an old water mill and as we were leaving, Neil kindly turned on the water wheel and showed us how it all worked. What a treat. This really is the best place to stay in the Dales. You have it all, a beautiful old building steeped in history that has been sympathetically restored to a fantastic standard. We loved it!

Room Tip: Perfect retreat to explore the Yorkshire Dales
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
253
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

By far the best guesthouse we have stayed in (and we've stayed in a few!) Perfect location, immaculate accommodation, quirky interiors and excellent food. The attention to detail is extraordinary. And to top it all, very warm and welcoming hosts. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have just come back from a mini break around Northumberland and stopped on our way back home in the Yorkshire Dales. My husband had booked all three rooms out for ourselves, our two daughters and my mother-in-law at Low Mill. He said we were in for a treat; he wasn't wrong. The house was stunning. Beautifully decorated and situated. We arrived quite late but had a warm welcome and were offered drinks and cake. Our girl's were very pleased with their room (Storeroom - huge) and the small gift left on their bed. My mother-in-law had a gorgeous room too and a massive walk in shower. Our room (The Workshop) was just amazing.

Breakfast was a treat and there was a huge choice - all delicious. The local eggs were scrummy. Neil took some time to show us how the water wheel worked. Nothing was too much for our hosts Neil and Jane and we would recommend this accommodation to anyone. We would love to visit again. Thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully decorated but if you want something a little more special - The Workshop i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank em m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Great place to stay. Were made very welcome by Neil with a pot of tea and parkin, which was much appreciated after a cold wet walk.
Dinner was excellent and terrific value for money. Lovely soak in the copper bath in the Workshop room.
Will definitely return and would have no hesitation in recommending.
Also made our dog very welcome.
Neil was also only too happy to get the water wheel moving and explain how it all worked.

Room Tip: The Workshop is the dearest room but well worth it for the bath tub and the log burner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireTedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

My sister and I took my mum away for a two night stay at Low Mill. My parents have been before but this was a first for me and my sister. From arriving to leaving this wonderful bed and breakfast the service, the accommodation and the food was all fantastic. On arrival we were greeted by Neil who showed us our rooms and then offered us coffee/tea which was served with a lovely scone and jam in the lounge which was just what we needed. I stayed in the Storeroom and my mum and sister stayed in the Kiln Room both of which were beautifully decorated and the little touches made it that extra bit special.. Were do I start on the food Amazing! We ate in on both nights and there was plenty to choose from. Breakfast was delicious and wonderful produce used. The dining room is lovely and on an evening it is set out candles, a lovely roaring fire and relaxing music. Neil and Jane are the perfect hosts and can't do enough for you (when needed). This is a little gem and we all can't wait for our next visit to this wonderful place.. Thank you for a wonderful stay

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We arranged a weekend away to celebrate a friend's 60th birthday and took over all 3 bedrooms. This was our 3rd visit to this gem and we took a great deal of pleasure in introducing our friends to the delights of Low Mill and Neil and Jane's wonderful cooking. Once again everything was perfect from the moment we arrived with a welcoming round of tea and scones to Neil's demonstration of the mill working before we left. We gave over the Workshop (our favourite room) to our friend celebrating her 60th birthday, however enjoyed staying in the delightful Kiln Room which is charming and quirky with a separate sitting area. It is difficult to continue to find the superlatives to describe this wonderful Bed and Breakfast which is undoubtedly the No 1 B&B in Bainbridge and anywhere for that matter. Thank you Neil and Jane for another lovely stay and we look forward to our next visit later this year. No, we're no related or have any connection other than very, very satisfied customers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlissedOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

My partner and I spent 3 nights at this delightful Guest House in February 2014, and it surpassed all our expectations. Whilst attention was paid to every detail you could not ask for a more unobtrusive couple. They remained discreet but attentive and should you need anything then Neil and Jane are their to sort it for you with a friendly smile. Nothing appears to be too much trouble for them. When we were planning a day out we mentioned it to Neil and he went off and researched what was going on in the area. Bearing in mind that little happens in February, with his help we had a fabulous day out and explored places we never knew existed. Whist this Guest House is advertised as B&B, you can have evening meals if you let them know early enough. We had evening meals on two of the three nights and I have to say that these meals were a match for ANY restaurant I have ever been to and I've been to a few in the last 50 years. Whilst Neil is a top man I think Jane steals the title for food queen :) Fabulous food and very generous portions. I cannot recommend Low Mill Guest House or its owners highly enough. The rooms are fabulous, the beds are extremely comfortable and you can relax in front of a log fire in a cosy lounge with a nice local beer served by Neil. What could be better than that. Our heartfelt thanks go to Jane and Neil for making our short break very, very special.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bainbridge
3.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
17.1 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
5.1 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Mill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Mill Guest House

Property: Low Mill Guest House
Address: Bainbridge, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bainbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bainbridge
Hotel Class:5 star — Low Mill Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Late 18th-century stone built cornmill in the picturesque village of Bainbridge. Waterwheel and working mill machinery throughout the building. We have 3 luxury bedrooms and offer a full dinner, bed and breakfast service. Beautiful riverside garden, open fires and central Dales location make Low Mill an ideal base for exploring the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Low Mill Guest House Bainbridge, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing