We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem in the Dales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Bainbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Little Gem in the Dales”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Booked the Riverside last minute as my plans had changed and how glad was I that I did. Paid £55 via Booking.com, which was good value and included a full Yorkshire breakfast. The location is perfect, right on the bridge overlooking the fast flowing river. The room was nicely fitted out, clean and warm. There is WiFi available and no phone signal, ideal for me. Breakfast was lovely, the scrambled eggs perfect. My young host was very nice, helpful and provided a nice atmosphere. I look forward to returning in the summer.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxana M, Owner at Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Riverside, in spite of the change in your travel plans. I wish you all the best and maybe I'll see you again the future.

Best regards, Roxana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
166
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CHESHIRE UNITED KINGDOM
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Wonderful bed and breadkfast in a prime location for visiting the Dales. Spotlessly clean, quirky and interesting decor with tasteful nik naks everywhere. Delicious and piping hot full vegetarian breakfast provided. Fabulous view from bed and shower..we are looking forward to returning soon. Thank you Roxanna.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TUBBSONTOUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxana M, Owner at Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review and for taking the time to share your experience. I'm glad you liked the décor and the breakfast, I really enjoy cooking and it's great when guests enjoy eating it. I look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best regards, Roxana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We returned for 4 nights following a 2 night stay last April.

Firstly, the host, Roxana. We have never met a better host, the welcome is very warm, nothing is too much trouble and cooks one excellent breakfast. We cannot speak highly enough of her. Thank you.

Moving on to the place. a great cottage next to Britain's shortest river with it's own little garden and family of ducks. The attention to detail throughout is fabulous, our particular highlights including the 'Lonely Hearts' ads, cannot walk past without reading, to the hand painted biscuit tins in your room.

We have only ever stayed in Room 2, it is warm, comfortable and very homely.

If you are going to the Dales, then stay here. It is the best.

Room Tip: Only ever stayed in Room 2, which is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank football_spoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxana M, Owner at Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Well what can I say, "thank you" doesn't seem to be enough, but a big THANK YOU! though for your kind comments. It was a pleasure seeing you both again and it's always great when I have returning guests, it means I'm doing something right.

Best regards, Roxana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed here whilst attending a wedding at Yorebridge house. It was a great place to stay, clean rooms and everything in them you would need, loved the biscuits! Breakfast couldn't be faulted and Roxana was a great host. The lounge area was well stocked with books, games, cds, dvds and comfy sofas etc. Thanks for everything, enjoy travelling make sure you make it to France!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxana M, Owner at Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, much appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here and the biscuits :) . And thank you for your travel suggestions, I've already had a look on the website you recommended in search for a bargain.

Best regards, Roxana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

A lovely,friendly welcome on arrival and throughout our stay,with great accommodation which was lovely and warm to get away from the cold weather,excellent breakfast with attentive service and the location is excellent for travelling throughout the Dales.I cannot recommend Roxana and her B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxana M, Owner at Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you so much to the both of you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you both and it's always great when guests leave here happy. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards, Roxana.

P.S. Thank you for the red squirrel photo, it's brilliant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Definitely the best place we have stayed yet. Roxana is a fantastic host and made us feel very welcome from the little touches in our room to the comfy lounge area everything was spot on.
Top marks!
We would love to visit again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank natal85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxana M, Owner at Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you very much for your great comments. I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay here and it was my pleasure having you as my guests. I look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best regards, Roxana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Superb accommodation. Our room was comfortable and spacious, and it was nice to come back to a decent shower after a cold and muddy walk. Roxana was very welcoming and the breakfasts she made us each morning were delicious. We enjoyed admiring the collection of antiques around the house, especially in the lounge area which was a lovely room to relax in. We will definitely stay here again next time we come to the dales :) thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy_n_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxana M, Owner at Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
What a great review, thank you very much! I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay here and I do hope you'll come back one day, it was a pleasure meeting you both. Maybe next time you won't get so muddy :).

Best regards, Roxana M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bainbridge
1.7 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
397 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
2.4 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
215 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hazels Roost
Hazels Roost
#3 of 3 in Bainbridge
113 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#4 of 23 in Hawes
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Bed and Breakfast

Property: Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Address: High Mill Cottage, Bainbridge, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bainbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bainbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Up until the 1890's, High Mill was the village corn mill, after which it became a sawmill. In 1912 the Bainbridge Electric Lighting Company took over the site but The National Grid reached Upper Wensleydale a few years later and the mill returned to being a sawmill, driven by the old water turbine. It now has a different role that welcomes the discerning visitor, inviting them to delight in its heritage. We offer three rooms with generous en-suites, the two doubles with Four Poster Beds and a twin bedded room with stunning views, all furnished in keeping with the surroundings. All rooms have hospitality trays, hairdryers and flat screen TVs with DVD player and there is a separate TV lounge to relax and unwind in should you so wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverside Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Bed And Breakfast Bainbridge, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing