We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Very warm & inviting"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Corn Mill Tearoom

Corn Mill Tearoom
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family run tearoom based in the village of Bainbridge. Overlooking the village green there is seating in and outside where you and enjoy one of our many homemade produce. Open seasonally 7 days a week from March until end of October 9.30Am till 5.00Pm, then during November 4 days a week 9.30Am till 2.30Pm. Please ring in advance to check opening hours if you are making a special journey.
salsaqueen1969
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Very warm & inviting"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent tearoom. Had a lovely cup of latte & a slice of tiffin..yummy. Excellent selection of savoury & sweets,

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank salsaqueen1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corn Mill T, Manager at Corn Mill Tearoom, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thanks for calling, glad you enjoyed your treat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    21
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderfully welcome elevenses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We called in here on the 23rd. March for elevenses and to break our journey from home to the Lake District. It was a very cold morning and we received a very warm welcome. Two hot chocolates (made properly, by hand, like you do at home and not from an instant-type machine) .The selection of genuine home made cakes made us wish we had called in for afternoon tea !! Young staff who care.
Highly recommend if passing through.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baranda48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corn Mill T, Manager at Corn Mill Tearoom, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for calling. We are a popular stopping point for people en-route to and from the Lake District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Now open every day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Called in on our walk in the area. Very friendly staff, bright, clean, pleasant tea room. We only had cups of tea but the cakes look delicious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanF50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corn Mill T, Manager at Corn Mill Tearoom, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Yes we are open every day now and the cakes are even harder to resist when you make them and look at them all day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We turned up for breakfast at 9:15 am to find that the restaurant doesn't open until 9:30 am. Absolutely no problem to the lovely lady working there - she welcomed us in and served up 4 fantastic full cooked breakfasts. After a weekend walking in the dales, it was just what we needed, so a big thank you from the four of us!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank English P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corn Mill T, Manager at Corn Mill Tearoom, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Many thanks for your kind review and calling at our tearoom for breakfast. I hope you all got back to your destinations ok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Being refurbed? Feb 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Been here often before and usually open but not today. Looks like work going on inside. had rung before setting off but the tel no above just gave me the Coalman's answering machine. No tearoom advice.
We were well looked after at the Rose and Crown with coffee and sandwiches but will try the Tearoom again hopefully as the cakes have always been such a treat.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JHWJHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corn Mill T, Owner at Corn Mill Tearoom, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
So sorry we were closed when you called. We are open seasonally from mid March till end of November. This year we are opening Tuesday 11th March. We have a web site www.james-peacock.co.uk where you can find our opening times under the Corn Mill Tearoom section.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corn Mill Tearoom also viewed

Bainbridge, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Corn Mill Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing