We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Dining, but hotel was a little Overrated”
Review of Yorebridge House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bainbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yorebridge House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bainbridge
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife booked an overnight stay as a wedding anniversary treat and booked Carabeo, the Spanish room in the annex. The room itself was warm, clean and tidy, but lacked any Spanish atmosphere. The bathroom was functional with a roll top bath but no shower - our main concern was that it did not have a ceiling. The TV, a Bang & Olufsen, was out of tune, even though it worked only on the free Sky satellite channels. One of the staff tried to improve it, which he did marginally, but it wasn't really worth watching. We felt that the room and its services fell short of that required to claim a 5 star rating.

The restaurant could not be faulted. The food was quite superb as were the waiting staff who were helpful, always cheerful and knew exactly what they were serving - I liked that. We had the Yorkshire breakfast that set us up for the day - all local produce and nicely presented.

Can I suggest that you take note that the hotel adds a gratuity of 10% against the cost of the evening meal. It is on the menu, but you have to opt out of paying it. We thought that it would apply only to non-residents, but a gratuity of over £11.00 was included on the final bill. The receptionist removed it when I objected, again this probably colours my rating as it's not what you expect in a 5 star hotel.

In summary - We feel that the hotel is a little overrated at 5 star, but be mindful that that is based on a single night in a room that was away from the main building, being one of four in what was the original schoolroom. The food was delightful, the staff superb, but, for me, it doesn't tick all of the 5 star boxes and we were a little disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are probably the better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dugb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,092)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Really good, well run hotel with a great restaurant. The staff were always at hand and ready to help. Little details like; champagne ready on arrival, umbrellas to the car on checkout, not having to give your name or room number at bar/restaurant (they knew who you were). The room was unique and spotlessly clean with a great shower.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerrycambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

It was fabulous from the very start. Arriving on a Sunday evening in October for a 2 night stay the fairy lights in the trees and the long winding drive on approach just set the scene perfectly. The ambience inside was warm and cosy. Staff extremely warm and friendly. We were treated like royalty the whole time. Our candles were lit around our hot tub on the second evening and that was such a romantic and thoughtful touch by one member of staff in particular. He knew we were on our honeymoon and wanted to set the mood for us. It was greatly appreciated!
Food out of this world, service first class. In fact I have never been treated so well in a hotel before. Room and hotel spotlessly clean. Hot tub really good fun especially in the dark and rain. The rain was not going to dampen our spirits and actually added to the ambience.
The only downsides were, the television remote wasn't working and on the first night the room was cold as the heating wasn't on. It took 2 phone calls and a face to face request to put it on.
We will be booking our return to celebrate our first wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanetteAmys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had a delightful time at this grand, but cosy hotel in Wensleydale. From arrival to departure, we were treated to hospitality of the highest order. Our room was beautiful, but the hot tub grabbed our attention immediately. Sitting in warm water as autumnal rain cools the face, is one of the great pleasures of life.
After a shower, and with appetites sharpened, we headed to the bar, where we sipped champagne and sampled flavoursome canapés. Thinking that things couldn't get much better, we headed to the restaurant. What followed can only be described as sheer indulgence, as epicurean delights appeared magically before us. Sue had the figs and goats cheese, and I opted for the mackerel. The tenderness of the fish, contrasted perfectly with the crispy skin. We were both unable to resist the lemon sole and scallop main course and by this stage, I was in food heaven. The desserts were equally gorgeous. Throughout our meal, we were attended to by Jeremy Henaut, the restaurant manager. He was courtesy and efficiency itself, and imparted his knowledge of the food and wine with charm and sophistication.
The Yorebridge was an absolute pleasure, and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel looked special when we booked and the reality did not disappoint in any way. We stayed in Rangali and the room and the staff were first class. The meals were divine and that is said after many years of fine food in Officers Messes. It was a celebration of 25 years of marriage and could not be faulted and the absolute star of the place was the restaurant manager - a charming Frenchman who even lit our candle for the outside hot tub for a dip under the stars after dinner. Cannot recommend this hotel too highly.

Room Tip: With a tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay at Yorebridge House to celebrate my 50th bithday. I chose the Nikishi suite as it looked fab- we weren't dissapointed.
The whole package was perfect;the beautiful setting, sunny warm weather,lovely room, attentive staff,fantastic food and the amazing hot tub. We were spoilt rotten!
We would recommend this to anyone looking for a special place to stay, it really has the wow factor.Thank You to the Staff for making it so special.

Room Tip: Nikishi was lovely. Choose one with a hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was a lovely experience, made more so by the attentitive staff and gorgeous accommodation. The location is superb, ideal for touring or long walks to burn off the delicious food. We stayed for 3 nights; our only gripe is that the menu is rather limited, even more so if you don’t eat meat, and it never changed over the 3 nights. Although we had informed them of our particular dietary habits, it becomes a bit like Groundhog Day if you have to choose the same thing from the menu every night, even though it was delicious. So at these prices a little more creativity with the menu would go a long way. It’s a wonderfully romantic place, but the endless rotation of the piped music (James Blunt, Michael Bublé) does make you want to jump off the nearest hilltop. I would love to stay longer but only if the menu changed a little more frequent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londoners1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bainbridge
3.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
420 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
17.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
19.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
17.3 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yorebridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yorebridge House

Address: Yorkshire Dales National Park, Bainbridge DL8 3EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bainbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bainbridge
Price Range: £216 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Yorebridge House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yorebridge House is situated by the river on the edge of the unspoilt village of Bainbridge, Wensleydale in the North Yorkshire Dales. All Yorebridge's thirteen spacious bedrooms are individually inspired with sumptuous fabrics for complete comfort. Sky HD and DVD players available in all rooms. The bathrooms have been created for luxury and relaxation. All rooms have stunning views of the dales and some have their own terrace with hot tubs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yorebridge House Hotel Bainbridge
Yorebridge Hotel Bainbridge
Yorebridge House Bainbridge, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing