We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some sharings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Philea Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ayer Keroh
Melaka
1 review
“Some sharings”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I booked a three days two nights accommodations here. I am stil staying here while I wrote my review here.first of all,as stated in my itinery, I am suppose to get welcome drink and fruit basket and I got nothing. Second as what was written in the itinery I will get replenish of beverages daily,but the fridge is empty. Coffee and tea in the room also got once for two days,only mineral water I got two bottle daily. Third was about the breakfast. The food here are actually delicious but limited choices. The only thing about the nusantara restaurant is it is too noisy. Other than that, the stuffs and the buggy are very friendly and helpful. The room is very unique but in the afternoon, the strong sunlight will enter the room n direct to the bed. Lastly, I think the management should be very careful about each different itinery n keep their promise as stated in itinery. Or else it is very hard to get guests come back for second time of stay.

Room Tip: Higher floor is quiet n get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soolinloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear soolinloo,

First of all, we are honored that you have selected Philea Resort & Spa, Ayer Keroh as your recent trip.

As we are dedicated to providing you with the genuine personal service in your travel experience, we would like to extend our humble apologies in some areas that you did not experience the entire Philea Resort & Spa service and product standards as expected.

We do take all comments seriously and appreciate your valuable feedback. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    161
    103
    54
    48
See reviews for
155
135
6
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

i am impressed with the welcoming experience. While you check in, the served you with refreshing welcome drink and cold towel. A stalk of flower for the ladies was a nice touch. The check in process was breeze. The room is what you expected from wooden type chalet, dark, noisy, yet rustic. I had a very nice view, my room facing to the waterfall. The room facilities are above average.

We decided to have diner in the resort instead going out to town. We had the Steamboat by the pool. The service staff was very helpful and very friendly, may because only me and wife in the whole restaurant. The food is average. Finally we still go out to town to enjoy our meal.

Breakfast was below average. Need to rework on the selection and cooking quality. The roti canai was good but the curry and the dhall was soooo bad. The bakery selection is good but the quality was poor. Clearing dirty plates was very efficient.

If all the shortcoming sort out. This resort is definately a place for relaxation. It was clean, quite, frendly staff and the landscape was astonishing.

Room Tip: Room facing to the pool and upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imran h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear imran h,

First of all, we are honored that you have selected Philea Resort & Spa, Ayer Keroh as your recent trip.

As we are dedicated to providing you with the genuine personal service and gracious amenities in your travel experience, we are happy to hear about your experience with us. We would like to apologize in some areas that we did not meet your expectations.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and thank you for your commendation. We look forward to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Arranged a 3D2N getaway to Philea after our short stop 2D1N @ Traders and Legoland.

Location is right after Ayer Keroh exit, to the left. Secured carpark space provided. Arrived at the lobby and warmly greeted with a cool towel 'n refreshing welcome drink. Room was ready by the time we arrived and buggy has stand by to bring us, hassle free.

Room allocated on the 2nd floor, which came to our surprise was lovely and we did like it much. Ran out to the balcony: pool view with the waterfall made it even better. Amenities and facilites in the room were as expected. A/C was working very well, no issue. There was a ceiling fan that can be controlled from the switch next to the entrance door. Water pressure has never failed us. Decor - Superb. Can't describe any better.

Drove out for lunch and dinner to downtown, took us bout 15-20mins. Nothing much to say bout downtown. Went back to resort and direct jumped in to the pool at about 2030hrs. The water was lukewarm to our surprise. My lady was persistant, at first, till I deep in. 'n yes . . .we did enjoy the entire pool without anyone else at that time, coupled with stars above our head that made it even perfect.

Next morning, went for another round in the pool and head for breakfast, was served as expected: more towards local taste, which we have no objection to that. A little down though, yes... the house flies did their part being friendly as well. Stroll around the resort and simply just relaxing, really... it made our getaway an astounding getaway we wanted to.

Well of course... another round of pool again as its so much worth the time spent, just the two of us. We very much appreciated each other company and the surroundings made it simpler.

Return? Yes, certainly will for a true getaway ;)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t1g3r_b34r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear t1g3r_b34r,

First of all, we are honored that you have selected Philea Resort & Spa, Ayer Keroh as your recent trip.

As we are dedicated to providing you with the genuine personal service in your travel experience, we are happy to hear about your experience with you.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and thank you for your commendation. We look forward to welcome you back again! Thank you so much once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed there recently for a 5-day off-site training program (28-Oct to 1-Nov) organized by my company. Initially, I was expecting a fantastic experience from my 5-day stay there as I found that it was a 5-star resort with its unique selling point of being a log-accommodation style. I was proven deadly wrong. I felt totally obsolete from the outside world during the 5 days stay there. First night there and I was already counting down to the moment I am leaving the place.

1. Buggy Service: as the resort is relatively huge, one may need to engage the resort buggy service to get to your room. However, expect long wait if you encounter rain as their buggy was not enough to handle guest capacity.
2. Room Condition: the room was barely well maintained as one can easily notice cobwebs in a corner of the room and collective strands of hair in certain corners. Also, the bath towels were not really cleaned and yellowish with brown stain (spotted on one evening after the room service swapped the earlier towel I was using). The bathroom floor was also stained with white unknown patches. Rain shower was rather weak in the water flow. Due to its "unique" log-style accommodation, the rooms on the lower floor were extremely noisy if you have someone staying above you. You can practically hear the guests climbing up and down the stairs, and prancing up and down in the room, walking from bedroom to toilet. You can even hear the water flow upstairs when you're in the toilet. Many times in the night I was woken up by the noise of neighbours walking up the stairs and walking around the room. "Great night sleep indeed!" The air-con was rather weak and there doesn't seem like any available switch to turn off the ceiling fan except to climb on your bed and pull the cord to switch it off. Risky job!
3. Food Variety: Extremely limited food variety. However, the food does taste good with the Roti Canai being one of the most-looked-forward-to breakfast item on my menu everyday. Coffee and tea are served but expect lots of plain water. Never see any alternatives available except for Coffee, Tea, Plain water, and on certain meals - fruit juice. Staffs, however are extremely efficient in clearing the used plates so that guests can just keep going for rounds of food with clean plates (Great job in that area!). Serves only Halal food, so do not expect non-halal style food there.
4. General: Wi-fi connectivity is slightly above average. However, one may require frequent login to their wi-fi as you can easily get disconnected. Great environment for one to relax in, but not for more than 3-days in my opinion as there are really limited activities in the resort except to swim, gym and drink (at their Chill-out bar). 15-mins journey to the Melaka Town is not very recommended as one may have problem getting back should you not have your own private transport.

Room Tip: When staying in one of the log cabins with 4 units, choose the upper floor. Although one will need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelHappy1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear TravelHappy 1010,

We are honoured to have you and your colleagues with us during your recent company trip.

As we are dedicated to providing you with the genuine personal service and gracious amenities in your travel experience, we are happy to hear about your experience with you. Added to that, we do take all comments positively and we would like to thank you for your valuable feedback. We would like to apologies in areas that we did not meet your expectations.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ayer Keroh hotels

Show Prices
Seremban, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

love the landscaping, and the pool with man-made waterfall, relaxing.... I arranged the bday candle-light dinner with my boyfriend and they did it real good, me and my bf liked it a lot and the staff are friendly with smiles most of the time.

the pine wood room just amazing, its clean and quiet. a good place to relax and close to the nature. one thing if they can improve, if plan to stay in the resort for whole day without much exploring outside then there is very least of activity u can do.

if they can hv some music and singer at night will be great

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadegefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Nadegefish,

Thank you for selecting Philea Resort and Spa Melaka during your recent birthday celebration.

As we are dedicated to providing you with the genuine personal service and gracious amenities in your travel experience, we are happy to hear about your birthday experience with us!

We appreciate your valuable feedback and thank you for your commendation. We look forward to welcome you back again. Happy Belated Birthday once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

New experience for me and my wife, i arrange secretly to surprise my wife on our 1st anniversary. I took a package, i cant remember what type of package..they prepare us honeymoon cake and flower petals decor in our suite etc..thank you very much for making our 1st anniversary memorable... ;-)
the cabin is gorgeous...hard wood...nice deco inside
haaa..one more the steamboat for dinner superb, bfast buffet also sedapppp.....
swimming pool great...
we went to this resort during weekdays so it really calm and perfect getaway for us...thanks again..definitely will come back later...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waja2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear waja 2412,

First of all, we are honored that you have selected Philea Resort & Spa, Ayer Keroh to celebrate your first anniversary.

As we are dedicated to providing you with the genuine personal service and gracious amenities in your travel experience, we are happy to hear about your happy experience with you.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and thank you for your commendation. We look forward to welcome you back again in many more anniversaries. Happy Anniversary once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

The place, concept, landscaping is wonderful. Upon arrival you feel away from the hustle-bustle of the city. Checkin was smooth. Room is good. Pool is excellent. Staff try their best...but I think they need more training to better manage situations.

Its the first and largest log resort in Malaysia. But that doesn't warrant it the other accolades. There is nothing else to do. You are pretty much left to find ways to entertain yourself.

Was very disappointed with breakfast. Minimal basic spread, yet the resort couldn't cope with the refills and the table turnover. They have numerous outlets...but we were pulled to Jonker due to the unappertizing breakfast.

Housekeeping was interesting. Towels were a bit grey but clean. The shower hose sprung a huge leak. The water pressure poor. And the staff actually missed out in thorough cleaning. They left a pile of tissues near the room door.

Overall, if you like nature, swimming, a relaxing feel, you'd just ignore everything else. Would I come back...I think I would...just to see if things improved...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 210877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear 210877,

First of all, we are honored that you have selected Philea Resort & Spa, Ayer Keroh during your recent trip.

As we are dedicated to providing you with the genuine personal service and gracious amenities in your travel experience, we would like to extend our humble apologies in some areas that you did not experience the entire Philea Resort & Spa service and product standards as expected.

We do take all comments seriously and appreciate your valuable feedback. Thank you for your patronage and we are definitely looking forward to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayer Keroh
8.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,356 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
620 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#11 of 166 in Melaka
496 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,325 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philea Resort & Spa

Property: Philea Resort & Spa
Address: Lot 2940 Jalan Ayer Keroh | Off Jalan Plaza Tol, Ayer Keroh 75450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Ayer Keroh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ayer Keroh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Philea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spanning over 15 acres, strategically located in the fast-developing Ayer Keroh in Melaka, Philea Resort and Spa is an extraordinary resort built utilising natural resources, including 8,000pieces of disused railway sleepers for the staircase and more than 6,000 tons of marble from Perak as block fencing. Recycled materials from shipwrecks are used as furniture in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Philea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philea Resort And Spa
Philea Hotel Ayer Keroh
Philea Resort & Spa Melaka State/Ayer Keroh, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing