We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good seafront hotel - best restaurant in town”
Review of Hotel La Terrasse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Terrasse
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
471 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“A good seafront hotel - best restaurant in town”
Reviewed 21 October 2008

This is a busy seafront hotel with over 60 rooms and a large restaurant that was always full when nearby restaurants were half empty. All rooms face the sea but some of them have another building in front of them. These offer a 'lateral sea view' which means you have to look out at an angle of 45 degrees to see the beach. Our room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable but the carpet had seen better days - an a few cigarette burns. The little TV was poor although it did receive some British programmes. A faulty light bulb was fixed quickly. The reception area was small but efficient. There were two large restaurants but no lounge and very little local tourist information. We had two meals in the main restaurant and these were absolutely superb. At busy times the restaurant operates a system of two separate sittings - at 7 and 9 o'clock. The fish was very fresh and melted in the mouth. The town has planty of attractions, the beach is large with big sand dunes each side of the town and there is a major bird sacntuary on the Somme estuary about 15 miles away. We were there in off season so had none of the noise problems mentioned in other reviews. This was probably because most of the seafront rental properties were empty at the time of our say. Definitely an area and hotel to return to for an out of season break.

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — unable to ventilate bedroom without opening big balcony door
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    128
    96
    47
    22
See reviews for
75
198
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
The Algarve
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2008

Stayed here for two nights whilst playing golf in Belle Dune and Hardelot on an inclusive bed and breakfast break.

The hotel is situated right on the beach and our room had a sea view, albeit over the public toilets. No problems with the situation other than at night when it was very noisy right through until the early hours (4am) with people still on the beach!!

The rooms are spacious, clean and satisfactory. There is tv, a hairdryer and the beds are comfortable.

There are no facilities in the hotel, other than a small reception. The welcome was friendly and our keys were quickly provided. Private parking at cost is available nearby.

The breakfast buffet was plentiful and provided in a small well decorated windowless(!!) room. The staff were helpful and friendly.

The main restaurant is quite expensive, the food okay, and the staff average. We did not eat in the bistro so cannot comment.

Fort Mahon Plage is good for a short break with many cafes, bars and restaurants. The beach is huge and overall the situation is great. A typical French seaside town with lots of shops all selling the same things!!

The hotel is a great base for golfing in the area and I would definately return.

  • Liked — Spacious room and comfortable bed.
  • Disliked — Late night noise from the beach
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Waltham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2008

Spent 2 nights here in August.
Nice room with good view towards the sea.
Staff helpful, asked if balcony could be cleaned and this was done.
Restauarant with view over sea and the setting sun.
Two good meals in restaurant

  • Liked — Sea Views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sorcery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

Stayed here on Friday 25th July. Booked a sea front room for €84.00. Lovely room with a good view of the sea. Nice bathroom. Had a lovely lunch in the bistro attached to Hotel. €10 a head for starter, big bowl of mussels and a small desert. Overstanding- had to go for a walk after it!.

There were two sittings in the resturant for the evening meal and we took the later one at 8.30 pm. Ordered twelve oysters but only got 9 and charged for 12. Small bit of trouble getting that sorted. Service a bit amateurish eventhough we speak good french . Headwaiter eventually got involved and sorted it. Dinner was good.

Great breakfast downstairs in a fun room The Captaineer. Buffet style.

Cant undersatnd previous reviews. Hotel faultless. Only area where we felt it fell down was the initial reception. Woman on duty efficeint but a little sour

  • Liked — Location and food
  • Disliked — Receptionist
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clorane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort-Mahon-Plage
0.8 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Belle Dune
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Chipaudiere
Hotel Restaurant La Chipaudiere
#4 of 5 in Fort-Mahon-Plage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Fiacre
Le Fiacre
#1 of 2 in Quend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Berck sur Mer
4.8 mi away
Hotel de la terrasse
Hotel de la terrasse
#3 of 10 in Berck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
4.9 mi away
Neptune Hotel
Neptune Hotel
#2 of 10 in Berck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Terrasse

Property: Hotel La Terrasse
Address: 1461 avenue de la Plage, 80120 Fort-Mahon-Plage, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Fort-Mahon-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Fort-Mahon-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Terrasse 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Terrasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Terrasse Fort-Mahon-Plage, France - Picardy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing