We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Italian Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tribewanted Monestevole

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umbertide
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tribewanted Monestevole
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing Italian Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Go to Monestevole for the views from the pool, the rustic Italian house, the amazing food (copious amounts of it) and the people. We stayed for 4 nights in August 2013 and had a brilliant time. Get involved in the lavender harvest, or don't; help make some traditional Italian pasta, or not, laze by the pool with a book, ok this you have to do. The only negative was the lost pair of sunglasses hiking the nearby hills - when you go, let us know if you find a pair of Raybans on the trail. Cheers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    2
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
12
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Went to Tribewanted Monestevole in August 2013 and had a reunion with 4 other people I had met at Tribewanted in Fiji 6 years ago. We all had such a wonderful experience in Fiji that we decided to get together again 6 years to the very date, but this time in Monestevole. What a place! Amazing, friendly and warming atmosphere. The food is out of this world - what more can you ask for in a place? Gorgeous pastas, salads, BBQs, pizzas..... I was in my element every day and didn't want to leave. Lovely pool and lots of hammocks to relax in. The farm has lots of animals and horseriding can be arranged for those who want to give this a go. There is also a music room/studio filled with plenty of musical instruments just dying to be played. The house is filled with such lovely people and all the staff members were so friendly and helpful, even when there was a slight language barrier! Must learn more Italian before I return..... what a beautiful language. Filipo and Marisella were lovely and welcoming and I can see why they're so happy living in a place like this! Umbria is a beautiful place and I would definitely recommend a visit to TW Monestevole for anyone looking for a relaxing retreat where you can go off and explore Umbria and/or Tuscany as well as relax in the big farmhouse or by the pool or in a hammock.....

Room Tip: I stayed in the dorm room with 3 of my friends which was perfect and very good value for money for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieJersey82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Tribewanted is a great exercise in escaping the conventional holiday. The act of participating in the house and the project gives every day a reason and a way to feel involved and engaged with the people who work there, as well as the myriad animals - including the pet piglet. Apart from anything else the food is wonderful, the swimming pool when one sneaks up there is divine, and the house beautifully designed and decorated. It is simple, surprising and deserving of a spread in Elle Decoration.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent 5 days at Monestevole in Sept/2013. We travelled from Canada with a 4 and a half year old & 1 and a half year old. As we drove up the hill road to Monestevole we felt much more relaxed than we had during the past 48 hrs in Rome. The drive up & the view of Monestevole was like something out of an Italian movie.
When met by Marisella at Monestevole we could immediately feel the warmth of the people who reside there. We shared our stay with a few other people from Germany & all were wonderful people. Words cannot describe he quality of the food that the cook Costa prepares daily...it was the best Italian food we've ever had. Our older son had a wonderful time feeding the animals, tending to the crops, planting trees, playing with the dogs & taking Matilda the pet pig for walks. The accommodations were clean & comfortable and truly rustic Italian. We stayed I the Stella apartment (2 bedrooms, bathroom, sitting area). Filippo & Zahn took extra special care of our son as he helped out with the farming. Now back in Ottawa he constantly talks about his friend Filippo & misses Matilda terribly. In the afternoons we often took little day trips to Umbertide, Montone, & Perugia to get gelato for the boys. In the afternoons I would walk around Monestevole with our younger son in his carrier picking & eating fresh figs & grapes enjoying the serene environment.
If your going from North America I highly advise downloading the Eurpean maps to your Garmin, well worth the money. This was like no other vacation we've ever done, being a family that frequents Orlando cause it's "easy", this was an adventure, a long flight, but the best thing we've done together as a family. We will definitely return

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Srin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Monestevole is a wonderful place- peaceful, calm with delicious food and beautiful landscape. It is an inspiring place full of positive energy- and a wonderful team. You feel at home. I will come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Monestevole incaptures what I, as a British person, would imagine rural Italian life to be: delicious food, stunning surroundings, enthusiastic personalities and a warm family feeling. It was great to be emerged in the culture and way of life and I look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Whether it be hikes in the hills, lounging in the hammocks, enjoying local wines (with the locals of course) or simply just enjoying the amazing views from the many vistas on the property, Monestevole is an inspiring experience that warms the soul in so many ways. The hospitality of the staff, the fresh homemade food every meal and in our case having access to an amazing babysitter (ask for Nouri) made our stay all the more special. It felt great to be part of a truly sustainable environment and yet have access to the best of rural Italian culture. We will be back soon. Thank you for giving us something wonderful to look forward to!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umbertide hotels
4.5 mi away
Castello Valenzino
Castello Valenzino
#5 of 26 in Umbertide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
4.8 mi away
Casa San Gabriel
Casa San Gabriel
#2 of 3 in Pierantonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
6.0 mi away
Villa Valentina Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Agriturismo Monte Acuto
Agriturismo Monte Acuto
#7 of 26 in Umbertide
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
5.7 mi away
Goccia di Luna Agriturismo
Goccia di Luna Agriturismo
#8 of 26 in Umbertide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Casa del Falegname
La Casa del Falegname
#6 of 9 in Umbertide
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribewanted Monestevole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribewanted Monestevole

Property: Tribewanted Monestevole
Address: Localita Monestevole, 06019, Umbertide, Italy (Formerly Monestevole Appartamenti in Campagna)
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Umbertide
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Umbertide
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monestevole is an ancient hamlet, built originally in the late 1300s. Entirely restored with care and tranformed into a eco-friendly community, it is a place full of energy where every angle brings beauty and inspiration. Situated on 40 hectares of land, including olive groves, vineyard, forests, organic gardens and common areas (such as the swimming pool and outdoor wood-burning pizza oven), Monestevole is a paradise in the hidden hills of Italy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tribewanted Monestevole Umbertide, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing