We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming building, steeped in history but something missing for us” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agriturismo Mustilli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo Mustilli
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A charming building, steeped in history but something missing for us”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had difficulty finding this Villa. It looked quite simple to get to but when we got near the Main Street which seemed to lead directly to the Villa there was a no access sign, so our sat nav directed us around the back of the town, up very windy streets that were then too narrow for us to drive our Golf through. Getting back down was an experience!
Local people ponted us in the general direction but still difficult to find and eventually had to get out on foot to search the very narrow streets.
Once we did eventually find it, we then had some difficulty getting access. We rang the bell several times at the courtyard door which was closed, called both numbers on the plaque at the door and eventually after a few attempts managed to get through to the lady cleaner who came to open the gates. She was a very lovely lady but spoke no English so there was initially a lot of pointing and nodding, we managed though and she was very charming.
The owner then arrived and invited us through, showed us to our room and gave us the breakfast instructions. We were asked if we wanted dinner that evening as they would need to arrange staff.
The villa itself is an amazing building, 17th century with many original features and a wealth of fascinating history. The rooms are furnished in old but charming furniture. We were offered a tour of the cellars below the villa but due to our visit being just 1 night declined as we wanted to explore the town.
If you do stay here make sure you go up to the terraces on the roof, they are shared by all the rooms so don't be put off by the gate on the stairs which leads to a higher patio and a tower which has stunning views over the roof tops of this medieval city.
Unfortunately, I think we were the only guests during our 1 night stay, we would have liked to have had a meal here but the dining room was huge and would have lacked atmosphere with just the 2 of us. Breakfast was basic.
The owner was charming but we only saw her on our arrival. We were left a half bottle of wine n the room which was produced from their own vine yards, it was lovely. On leaving Maria the cleaner lady who had let us in the day before also gave us a jar of jam which was kind.
Despite the beautiful house and the nice touches of wine and jam, we did feel like we were unexpected and it's a big house to be alone in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    14
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
12
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

The experience of staying in this charming and historic Agriturismo and lovely little town will stay with me for years to come. It was a completely different experience from staying in a hotel. The building both inside and outside is a historic and authentic grand italian house. The hosts and staff were warm and welcoming. As well as enjoying excellent traditional italian food, wine and service, opportunities were also available to learn to cook and bake and sightsee over this fascinating area of Italy - all without stress and hassle - I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: There are different types of rooms - for example some with access to big terraces with lovely views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

After a fascinating day at Pompeii, as dusk fell, we leave the courtyard of the agriturismo Mustilli to join the local residents in their evening passeggiata through the narrow streets of the core of the historic small town of Sant'Agata de' Goti. After a little shopping in the delightful small specialist shops just reopening for the evening and a walk down to the old town walls, we return to the hotel for an 'aperitivo' on the upper terrace. Descending for our evening meal, we dine on a selection of traditional dishes accompanied by the highly rated local wines produced by the Mustilli family. In this manner, the agriturismo Mustilli offered us a week of varied cultural experiences, personal attention and warm hospitality in a charming historic tranquil setting.

The agriturismo Mustilli is an ideal location for the exploration of the many key sites of historic, cultural and geological interest in the area around Naples and importantly, offers the perfect retreat after a day of exploration and Neapolitan brio. Paola Mustilli readily offers knowledge and advice to enhance the holiday experience and can arrange for specialist guides, private transport and customised itineraries.

Room Tip: If you need 2 rooms, choose the suite with its two large cool bedrooms and the shared sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

The hidden Medieval city of Sant Agata de Goti is a beautiful hidden gem in the hills outside Naples near Benevento. In the heart of the city is this agriturismo in an old palace of the Mustilli family. It is run by one of the Mustilli sisters who is also the manager of the winery. Her sister is the winemaker. And beautiful wine they make, indeed. They are best know for the Falanghina, but there Aglianico is also just wonderful. The palace is hidden behind huge doors that open to a courtyard where you can securely park your car. The rooms are generous and comfortable, the breakfast served by Maria is very nice. Anyone interested in exploring this part of Italy would do well to stay at the Agriturismo Mustilli.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EVOsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Having stayed at a few agriturismos across Italy we rated this one excellent in both locality and the service we received throughout our three day stay. Situated in the centre of the old town enabled us to explore the ancient streets and buildings during the day and the many bars at night without having to use the car. The rooms are comfortably furnished, large and cleaned daily and as it was so warm we were really glad of the air conditioning. We enjoyed the roof terraces for both sunbathing and drinking the odd glass of wine in the evening. All the meals were very good and there was plenty to eat. The homemade pasta was particularly good and the service was friendly and efficient. The wines served throughout the meal were all excellent coming from ther owners' own vinyards. Paola, one of the owners speaks very good English and helped organise a guide for us at Pompeii. We'd certainly consider another visit if we were in the area

Room Tip: If there are two couples or a family book the apartment which has a double and a quadruple room plus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 985Sue51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

My wife and I have loved this place steeped in history, friendly family hospitality and strong traditional flavours.
In a warm, welcoming, homely atmosphere, the pleasure of having slept between ancient walls and wake up to the smell of freshly baked cakes.

We found the food and the traditional flavors really delicious: ravioli with porcini mushrooms and homemade pasta with mushrooms. Very good the local meat, excellent the red wines Piedirosso and Cesco di Nece, delicious cakes.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2006

We agree with everything in the previous review, except for a few additions:

- the signposting is dreadful, and the confirmatory email we received had a different address in Sant Agata on it (the address of the winery) which helped us to waste an hour

- upon arrival we were informed that dinner would be at 8. At 7.55 there was a sharp knock on our door, and we were informed that dinner was ready.

- the cook/waitress was even more sullen than I had expected from the previous reviewer. Apart from the pasta, the food was very bad.

- the wine was good, as you would expect

- the highlight was when she said she was going home at about 8.45, so could we turn the lights off for her as there was nobody else in the building?

- the next morning we had our bad breakfast, and promptly left to go to our next place a day early.

- I managed to leave my telephone behind by accident and they kindly kept it and gave it back to me when I returned a couple of days later. At that point the old lady asked me why we had left, and I explained that we had come to Italy to eat fresh food, and not frozen reheated rubbish. I didn't manage to get onto the rest of my observations, but she nodded as if she knew really that this agriturismo is on its last legs.

This place is ok for a weird Fawlty Towers meets Adams Family experience, but unless you want that, go to the excellent Torre Gaia 10 minutes away in Dugenta and enjoy yourself.

ps - I had already booked this when I read the review. Hopefully you will read this before you make the same mistake.

  • Liked — Pasta at dinner
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go to this Agristurismo
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank derfaulehund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agata de' Goti
3.9 mi away
Tenuta Torre Gaia
Tenuta Torre Gaia
#1 of 1 in Dugenta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
15.8 mi away
Agriturismo Borgo Cerquelle
Agriturismo Borgo Cerquelle
#1 of 2 in Pontelandolfo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Rocce
Le Rocce
#1 of 10 in Sant'Agata de' Goti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Merici
Villa Merici
#3 of 13 in Benevento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
17.5 mi away
Casale San Felice
Casale San Felice
#2 of 3 in Cusano Mutri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
17.9 mi away
Agriturismo Agora
Agriturismo Agora
#1 of 2 in San Giorgio del Sannio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Mustilli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Mustilli

Property: Agriturismo Mustilli
Address: Piazza Trento 4, 82019 Sant'Agata de' Goti, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Benevento > Sant'Agata de' Goti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Sant'Agata de' Goti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mustilli’s agriturismo is situated in a quiet square in the old centre of Sant’Agata dei Goti, next to an old convent. An ideal location for travellers who love friendly family hospitality and strong traditional flavours. In a warm, welcoming, homely atmosphere, visitors sleep between ancient walls and awaken to the aroma of freshly-baked cakes. The countryside is nearby and in autumn the town’s streets are filled with the aromas of the harvest, blending with warm bread, the flavour of local cheeses and the famous house wines, creating a pleasant and relaxing atmosphere. The cuisine is the feather in Mustilli’s cap, supervised directly by Marilì, expert cook and perfect hostess. The traditional flavours of Campania are given a touch of creativity and passion: homemade pasta with seasonal sauces, wild mushrooms and asparagus, local meat, cheese and the famous annurca apples of S. Agata dei Goti to be enjoyed fresh, baked or in delicious cakes. There are six rooms, on the second floor of the 18th century Palazzo Rainone, all different and all carefully furnished with the family’s own antiques. The balconies have a magnificent view of the town of Sant’Agata dei Goti, against a backdrop of hills and countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Mustilli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing