We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made My Trip To Fiji”
Review of Naqalia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Naqalia Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waya Lailai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This is not your average stay in Fiji. Don't come looking for a resort . Here you will mix with the family that run the lodge and be welcomed into there way of life. This was the highlight of my trip to Fiji . I am a chef by trade and was invited to partake in the preparation of a traditional Lovo . The wild pig we had for dinner was amazing and the local food that we had for dinner had all come from the Island. The family were warm and friendly . The swimming with sharks was amazing experience , exciting and beautiful. the snorkeling was fantastic. If I find my self in Fiji again I would come here again in a heart beat . I was so moved by the whole experiance. Thank you so much Naqalia will never forget you.

Room Tip: Bring your own Beer they will chill it down for you . Also get ready to drink some Kava
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaijensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

The Naqalia Lodge was one of the best stays in Fiji for us. The Bure is just awesome and huge!!! The food is great - a lot of fresh fish. One night we had dinner right on the beach with a big bonfire. The staff is very friendly, they love to play guitar and sing Fijian songs for you.

Its Fijian owned - so it´s really authentic - you can feel the Fijian way of life. So if you like to learn about the traditional way of live and like to eat Fijian food, than you should definitely stay there for a couple of nights. Make sure you stay there for a Thursday - they have "Fijian night"... We had 'Kava Ceremony’ and the girls learned a Fijian dance. I'm looking forward to show that to my family when I'm back in Germany.

We did a kayak trip to Kuata which is opposite site and Whajalailai Resort which is very close - that was great. It was very calm - so we could see the beautiful corals and colorful fish right from the kayak. We went to the church on Sunday which was also a very good experience. They gave us Fijian clothes and we learned a song which we performed together in the church for the local people. The beach was the only thing which was not as great as in other resorts, but that’s natural and it's maybe not always like that.

I would definitely recommend Naqalia lodge!!! :-)

Thanks again for the lovely stay

Room Tip: if you book a dormbed it will be also in a bure with a double bed and 3 single beds - so it's al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seni_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Naqalia lodge is blessed with God-given beauty in the environment it is located. I spent a week and hiked with my friend Rusiate (one of the owners) above the present location of the Naqalia lodge. View from the rock was very beautiful, as I looked across to Kuata island when the sun was setting at the horizon.

Naqalia is only an acommodation. But its paradise lies in its people and the environment it operates in. Nisa moce...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nings O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Our stay at Naqalia Lodge is a night to remember. Originally booked for two nights out of a 2 week holiday in Fiji with a friend but had to leave after our first night. If we had found a way of getting off the island the same day we arrived, we would have jumped at the opportunity.
I'd like to point out that I enjoy staying in budget accommodation with basic facilities but this place takes the cake.
- there was barely any furniture in the restaurant, only just enough chairs for the 6 guests staying there at the time
- the bar had run out of supplies. There were no snacks and we had purchased the last bottle of sprite
- dinner consisted of gluggy rice with unidentifiable reconstituted meat. The bread however, was nice
- breakfast was burnt pancakes that were somehow still uncooked in the middle
Our Room:
- the Bures themselves are very spacious and look even more spacious because there was no furniture anywhere - literally a bed behind a partitioned wall and the living area was empty and there was nowhere to sit inside or on the outside deck. I did spot one hammock outside near the beach
- the foam mattresses were so thin you could feel the bed base underneath and there were ants all through the bed
- mosquito nets had holes
- there was no toilet paper in our bathroom. When we requested some, one of the staff said they would get back to us. Thank goodness we had tissues because we never got any! One of the other guests mentioned having wait a day and a half to get some
- they told us the water was safe for drinking, however it was brown coming out of the tap
- the rooms had no fans, which is fine if you could get any sort of breeze through the windows but it wasn't possible to get any fresh air in at all

When we informed staff after breakfast that we would be leaving early, they informed us that we would need to be out of our rooms by 10am as more guests were arriving (even though we were booked for another night and there were only 4 other guests staying there!)

It was a shame as we were really looking forward to our stay there as the website made it appear as a lovely, quiet, budget resort but unfortunately it was not.

Room Tip: don't go there at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tripper1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

stayed here for 3 nights, booked a dorm but spent the first night in a bure as the staff were staying in the dorm, then moved to the dorm for the following 2 nights - they changed the beds in the dorm, they now have 4 single beds and 2 sets of bunks. All beds had mosquito nets. This is another basic resort - cold water and limited electricity. the dorm did have 2 showers and 2 toilets with 2 outdoor sinks.

The resort is small, there were between 10 and 15 people while we were there - they seem to have a shortage of chairs and tables for meal times - they took the chairs from the decking outside the bures. The food is ok, we mostly had fish at meal times and had a lovo one night which was good. Their bar prices for drinks/snacks is very reasonable compared to other resorts.

The staff were all very welcoming and friendly!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alders627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My girlfriend and I are late 30 somethings who are usually very active, but we really needed a We are a late 30's normally very active couple who were looking for a few days to relax after a 3 week "see it all" trip in Australia and chose Naqalia Lodge to do some unwinding. We were on a budget, and really just wanted some peace and quiet with a view and that is what Naqalia is, including great service and a true fijian family type experience. We enjoyed AMAZING snorkeling right out front of our bure and this is right after diving the barrier reef in Australia. Our bure was cute and exactly what we wanted. While it was tough to sleep at night due to the 90 degree temps (28c) the sound of the ocean at our door steps helped. We were served fresh fish, fruits and vegetables each meal and were shown how traditional Fijian "in ground" cooking is done. We were served traditional fijian feast style dinner complete with Kava ceremony.

I have been to fiji before and stayed at the "nice" resorts..... they are not Fiji, Naqalia is. I hope I have the opportunity to go back and see them again! If you are looking for true Fijian experience book with them.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We originally booked a 2 night stay at Naqalia, but ended up escaping after 1 night. To say we were disappointed would be an understatement. To put it simply, this resort is a bit strange!

Our bure had no furniture, save for a small double bed with a very thin foam mattress, which was covered in ants. No chairs, no table, nothing. The deck out front might have been a nice place to relax, except again - no chairs. The bures do not have fans and the power only runs for 1-2 hours a day. The bed did have a mosquito net, but as it had holes in it, it was not particularly useful.

The bathroom had no soap, towels or toilet paper and when we requested some toilet paper, we were told that the resort's supply had run out. The toilet was filthy and did not appear to have ever been properly cleaned.

The staff seemed to all be sleeping in the dorm, and were not very interested in talking to us or making us feel welcome.

There is no option for what food you are served, the meals are of a poor quality, and the bar does not have any snacks for sale.

Overall, we were really disappointed. Given how many beautiful islands there are in the Yasawa chain, with great little resorts and friendly staff, I just cannot recommend anyone stay at Naqalia.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waya Lailai
10.7 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
745 reviews
24.7 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
458 reviews
16.7 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Octopus Resort
Octopus Resort
#1 of 3 in Waya Island
1,298 reviews
1.5 mi away
Barefoot Kuata Island
Barefoot Kuata Island
#1 of 1 in Kuata Island
154 reviews
20.4 mi away
Viwa Island Resort
Viwa Island Resort
#2 of 15 in Yasawa Islands
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naqalia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naqalia Lodge

Address: Lautoka | Yasawa, 2264, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Waya Lailai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waya Lailai
Price Range: £48 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Naqalia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bula!! Naqalia Lodge is a quaint and traditional community-owned resort located in Yasawa Islands, Fiji. The Tagova clan of Wayasewa island built the lodge using local artisans, for the purpose of sharing their beautiful, pristine relaxed spot with the world. Naqalia Lodge is the perfect place where you can hike and snorkel or just feel free to laze on the beach, enjoying the tranquility and the courtesy of your Naqalia Family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Naqalia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naqalia Lodge Fiji/Waya Lailai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing