We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuinely didn't want to leave!”
Review of Naqalia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Naqalia Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waya Lailai
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Genuinely didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Naqalia Lodge was our favourite out of 3 different island stays. The family are so frendly and so genuine, we really felt at home. It felt like a real and honest Fiji experience. If you want a resort and party's it's not the place to go! It was exactly what we were hoping for from Fiji! It's relaxed, quaint, romantic. There's many things to do, you don't feel bound by meal times, you don't get forced to participate in activities. We honestly loved the whole experience! We can't thank the family enough. We would love to go back and live there!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ISstokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    47
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
25
77
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed for 5 weeks on the Fiji Islands and 3 weeks of this time at Naqalia Lodge. I think this alone describes what I think of this beautiful place. There is definitely not much to do at Naqalia except relaxing und enjoying the Fijian spirit, but if you are looking for a true Fijian experience, this Resort is perfect.

The Resort is run by a village on the same island and the family is just great! They are absolutely kind! Probably this is the reason why they have a lot of people who go there every year and I hope I can go there again one time.

However, there are other islands with more beautiful beaches, but still at high tide you can snorkel and swim really well. And it's a very basic place, so just electricity for about 3-4 hours a day just cold showers (you don't need hot showers anyway). Nevertheless the rooms are clean and tidy.

So if you are looking for a small place to cool down, relax and fill up your batteries, this is the perfect place for you!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GerritGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed on 3 different islands in the Yasawa group and it is difficult to compare them. For us, Naqalia Lodge was the most authentic Fijian one, Barefoot had the best swimming and snorkeling and Coralview was the more active one.
Naqalia lodge: if you look for a party place with various amenities and western food than is Naqalia Lodge nothing for you. Naqalia lodge is the most authentic Fijian place we stayed and we loved it. It is very basic, with only cold water and power three hours in a day but we didn't mind it at all. From the first minute on we felt welcome in the family and the friendliness and the care taking of the people is incredible. The food is lovely, the rooms are clean and it is the best place for relaxation. They only have a few rooms, the business is family run and whilst you are there you will become a member of their family. If we ever return to Fiji we will definitely stay there again. We stayed 8 nights there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helpinghandAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpheus Island, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Guys if you want to experience the real Fiji, not tourist Fiji, this is the place to visit especially on a Sunday. This was my second island stay on the Awesome Adventures tour and I am so coming back. Yes this place is basic with power only from 6-10pm but you don't miss it, the dorms rooms whilst basic are very comfortable. Tui and Meri stand out by far as the most precious amazing hosts I have ever met whilst traveling anywhere and I miss them heaps. There is some amazing snorkeling especially if you venture a bit further out, the shark feeding snorkel was a perfect way to start my 40th birthday celebrations, the food, card games and comfortable hammocks was heaven. The guided summit walk got rained out but cooking class was offered as a alternative and it was a brilliant experience, fresh coconut with the girls will forever stick in my memory.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haley4850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Österreich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This was one of the best resorts in the Yasawas. It is a family clan resort and we felt like we were part of them. Such a warm environment. The bures are big and nice equipped. The food was real Fijian and the fishing trips were amazing. Tui, Meri, we miss you already. We will come back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulianWeidenthaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
398 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Naqalia (pronounced Nangalia) Lodge was our second stop on our Awesome Adventures Package tour after Bounty Island and was a decent place but overall was lacking.
It has a nice location with a decent beach during low tide and some great snorkelling not too far out as well as a guided summit walk to a steep view point and other shorter walking tracks that can be done alone in just a few minutes. The double room there was probably one of the nicest we had and resembled a mini apartment with a double bed, single bed and a few comfy seats with a private bathroom.
The place is pretty small so it will never get any busier than 20 people (not including staff) but I wouldn’t want to stay in the dorm where it seems like they will just cram as many people in as they can manage.
The food there was actually pretty poor and all of the meals bar one were a tiny portion which was pretty annoying as the only other food on offer were crisps and cookies.
The Shark snorkelling trip they offered seemed really good but we were unlucky with the weather while we were there so couldn’t do it but from what we heard from other people it is well worth it.
The highlight of our time there was one evening after dinner we played a couple of games and then headed down to the beach with staff, a guitar and some beers and sat round a bonfire till 2am and was quite possibly even one of the highlights of our whole trip.
If you want somewhere a bit more rugged and get the right weather this place is worth a visit but if you only want to visit a few islands then there are much better places to head to with better scenery, food and things to do.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fobl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights here after deciding to go to the Yasawas's at the last minute, this was one of the only places available. We arrived on a Sunday and attended church with the fijian people and another two people who were staying at our resort, that was very beautiful although it was very long and we didn't understand anything (nor was anything explained at all afterwards). The food was average while we were staying here, nothing to rave about; fish, fiji spinach, 2min noodles, chicken etc. my husband got very sick on our 3rd day so we're not sure if it was from the food not been stored/cooked properly on the Sunday. The staff were friendly although at times we were unsure if they were laughing with us or at us! The activities were very expensive $50 to snorkel with the sharks and a cost for everything which was quite different to the place we stayed at on the Coral Coast. Good snorkeling right outside (although I don't have anything to compare it to). Our room was spacious and clean, although I'd recommend bringing a torch as power was turn't off pretty early some nights. Very damp there without air cond. or sufficient fan, I was really glad we had only 2 nights here as we probably would have got a bit bored if we had longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessBnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waya Lailai
10.7 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
705 reviews
24.7 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
437 reviews
5.7 mi away
Octopus Resort
Octopus Resort
#1 of 3 in Waya Island
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Barefoot Kuata Island
Barefoot Kuata Island
#1 of 1 in Kuata Island
136 reviews
20.4 mi away
Viwa Island Resort
Viwa Island Resort
#2 of 15 in Yasawa Islands
141 reviews
12.8 mi away
Barefoot Manta Island
Barefoot Manta Island
#1 of 1 in Drawaqa Island
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naqalia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naqalia Lodge

Property: Naqalia Lodge
Address: Lautoka | Yasawa, 2264, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Waya Lailai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waya Lailai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bula!! Naqalia Lodge is a quaint and traditional community-owned resort located in Yasawa Islands, Fiji. The Tagova clan of Wayasewa island built the lodge using local artisans, for the purpose of sharing their beautiful, pristine relaxed spot with the world. Naqalia Lodge is the perfect place where you can hike and snorkel or just feel free to laze on the beach, enjoying the tranquility and the courtesy of your Naqalia Family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Naqalia Lodge Fiji/Waya Lailai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing