We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relax fiji style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waya Lailai
Metter, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“relax fiji style”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great place to relax on a sandy beach under palm trees.. Enjoy snorkeling, climbing the mountain to see the sunset, mingling in the village, fishing, swimming. Tasty food, variety, and plenty of it. The staff is very friendly and helpful. This resort is clean, but basic. the power is only on for a few hours in the morning and the evening, but who needs power when you are lying in a hammock by the ocean? There was some Fiji music and entertainment. Our group of 6 older friends relaxed and had a great time, as did the young backpackers, and the families.

Room Tip: the bures are nice, but we stayed in the lodge. We liked the privacy and the view from the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shelley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    37
    27
    10
    14
See reviews for
11
66
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay. We were lucky enough to visit the village and see a church ceremony that was conducted by the children and we were invited to eat with the village which was a lovely experience! Definitely visit the village for the true Fiji experience.

The island is a good place to chill with beautiful views - especially if you do the summit walk. It is difficult but VERY worth it!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This resort has a real personal feel to it, the staff all know your name and are always checking to see if you are okay. The island is so beautiful I would recommend the sunrise guided summit hike, the sunset one is far too hot to be doing.

The accommodation was the best I had stayed in out of all of the islands, I was staying in two coconut and got my own room despite only paying for a dorm (the perks of going low season). They offer a laundry service for $15 (so helpful when all of your clothes are either sweaty or wet). The electricity on the island is a bit temperamental and it never comes on at the time you are told it will. But to be honest you really don't need it other than to charge your camera.

You are welcomed into the village community with open arms and join them in a Kava ceremony almost every night. I went snorkelling on some of the really nice reefs out there. For the girls I would recommend the weaving lesson where the women come from the village and help you make your own jewelry. Although they tell you it costs $5 but they ask you if you would like to make another bracelet which is around $7 on top of that and then they show you their stall where you do feel a little inclined to buy something from them after chatting for about half an hour.

The beach is really nice and has a pretty good reef for snorkelling on, you can hire the gear for $10 a day which is really cheap compared to other islands. In fact the whole island is cheap compared to the rest so stock up if you are heading north after here.

Brilliant island would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

I have just come back after my second trip to Waya Lai Lai; my first trip on my own, and the second with my family including two children aged 9 & 11. Waya Lai Lai gives you the true Fijian experience. Beautiful people who welcome you with open arms, and make an effort to get to know who you are and where you are from. Yes, the facilities are basic, so don't come here if you want 5 star. Accommodation was in a bure with a double and 3 singles - two of the singles in a loft which the kids loved. The entertainment is great - not flashy but done with humour and in a way to make you feel like part of the family. Dinner on the beach with a bonfire was fantastic. Swimming with the sharks is highly recommended - both my kids loved it and we all felt safe. The walk up to the top of the rock is spectacular (or so I see by my husbands photo's!!) Both times I came here at the start of my trip around the Yasawa's, and both times I wish I had gone back. Thank you all so much, and we'll definitely be back one day.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights and it was great. Accommodation is good, food is nice, the atmosphere is so relaxing and the beach is amazing. The hammocks are right on the beach which is perfect for a chilled afternoon reading your book. The food is good and were we lucky enough to be there for the Fijian night which was great entertainment. Swimming with reef sharks is a must and also the summit walk. Its hard but the views are so worth it. Would highly recommend this resort!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank katie_m989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

If i eva get married i will be going back here!!! it is the most beautiful place i have ever been to! best memories like what you would imagine heaven to be like :) beautiful place beautiful people!! The accommodation was basic but the views made up for everything! perfection!!! cannot complain at all about anything personally!!!!xx

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tara t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here as our first island while hopping the Yasawas and we loved Wayalailai! Although basic (it doesn't promise anything else,) the bures are large and clean with en suite bathrooms. There is only cold water and electricity at night, but this wasn't an issue for us.
The beach is lovely with little hammocks along the front.
The food, oh my god the food, was AMAZING! Fresh fish and rice and vegetables and potatoes, you name it! One afternoon we were sat on the beach and the little boat pulls up full of fish, when we ask what it is, they say dinner! Everything was cooked beautifully and the staff were great.
There was evening entertainment and lots of activities but unlike other islands we visited you're not forced into it and the staff don't get moody with you if you don't want to take part.
If you're looking for 5* don't kid yourselves, but if you're looking for a lovely back to basics island escape this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nayohmyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waya Lailai
0.0 mi away
Naqalia Lodge
Naqalia Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waya Lailai
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
1,348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Octopus Resort
Octopus Resort
#1 of 3 in Waya Island
1,221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barefoot Kuata Island
Barefoot Kuata Island
#1 of 1 in Kuata Island
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort

Property: Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort
Address: PO Box 6353, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Waya Lailai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waya Lailai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Wayalailai Ecohaven Hotel Waya Lailai
Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort Fiji/Waya Lailai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing