We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LUNCH CLUB MEAL”
Review of The Swan at Ascott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Swan at Ascott
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“LUNCH CLUB MEAL”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Just came back from enjoying a fantastic lunchtime meal in this establishment, The last time I visited the Swan was in the early 70's playing Darts , a lot has changed from those days, the pleasantly decorated dining room which catered for our group of 21 people was very homely and relaxing ,we were served very well by the owner and his staff , the food was impressive ,very well presented, and a visit from the two Chef's was met by a round of applause from all in attendance, we will definitely be returning to this venue in the future, not only as a group of friends but individually too. Highly recommended, Rod and Heather.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    23
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
53
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

As a London based couple we rarely get out to the country for some peace and quiet - what a joy it was when we stayed at The Swan.
The owners had only recently settled in but made us very welcome. One providing excellent food and the other keeping order at the bar. The young staff were helpful and I can see how this pub is not only the hub of the village but provides essential employment locally.
All the pressures of work and city life fell aside as we sat near to the roaring fire and relaxed.
There are some pleasant walks in and around the village too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was our first trip to The Swan at Ascott and definitely won't be our last. The New Year's celebrations were brilliant with fantastic entertainment from the Swing Sisters and Tina Turner tribute, who had everyone on the dancefloor and even a few of us on stage.
The food was delicious, and had something to suit everybody.
The hosts were so welcoming and the environment was a perfect way to see in 2014.
It has been one of the best New Year's Celebrations, and we would both return without question.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We chose this pub for a post-Christmas break because we were looking to get away from it all and it didn't disappoint. Set in a beautiful Cotswold village opposite an ancient church, the Swan is as picturesque from without as it is welcoming and enjoyable from within.
We took a room on the first floor which was clean, spacious and warm, with a very new en-suite bathroom. The village may have a train station but it is very much off the beaten track and the room was perfectly quiet after the pub closed at around midnight, but even before that it wasn't a disturbance.
We dined at the pub one evening and found the food to be good, dependable fare, exactly what one would expect from a good pub: pies, roasts and salads, with nothing too fancy or exorbitant on the menu. There were also a few good local brews on offer from the excellent Hook Norton Brewery. breakfast was also very good: the full English served as a great basis for a day's sightseeing in Oxford and would be a good start to a day walking in the vicinity too.
While the accommodation, facilities and catering all ticked the right boxes, the most important factor was the friendly, helpful service that the landlord Richard and his team offered. We felt welcome from arrival to departure and I'd be happy to recommend The Swan to anyone looking for a great English country pub experience within a couple of hours of London.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Christmas Lunch at the Swan was a great experience for my Husband and I. There were about forty people there and the atmosphere was great, the food was excellent, 7 courses in all each beautifully presented and delicious, the tables were wonderfully set with chocolates, crackers, hats and fresh flowers, there was complementary sherry to start and port to finish, each course flowed perfectly from the beginning to the end enabling us to have a most relaxing and enjoyable lunch, we had a great time and would like to thank Richard and Michiel and there wonderful friendly staff for giving us a Christmas Day Lunch we won't forget. Congratulations
J & B

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandbinscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We asked if we could have sole use of the restaurant for my daughters 30th birthday, and although they didn't run the restaurant after 4.30 on Sunday kindly agreed. There were 18 of us and I have to say every course was delicious. Lovely hot filling soup for starters along with tempura veg (which my very fussy veggie daughter loved) and calamari. The main courses were lovely and filling and we all struggled to fit in the pudding, which was a shame as the cheese board was fantastic.

We had a warm welcome and good service and there was even 30th Birthday balloons on the table.

Thanks for a great time. We are off there for a burger tonight.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knighttraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The Swan Inn at Ascott reopened in the summer under the new ownership of Richard and Michiel - two more pleasant and welcoming landlords would be hard to find.
There are several 'gastro-pubs' in the Cotswolds charging London prices, often for indifferent food and service. At the Swan you immediately feel welcome and whether it is for a drink, lunch or dinner, or overnight accommodation, you will get good food and service at reasonable prices. My family and friends have had Sunday lunch and the Tuesday curry dinner and both have been excellent meals.
For visitors to the Cotswolds, the Swan is a great location and a welcoming English village inn for a meal or a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascott-under-Wychwood
1.7 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#1 of 1 in Shipton under Wychwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
4.8 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mill House Hotel
Mill House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#1 of 3 in Charlbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Ascott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Ascott

Property: The Swan at Ascott
Address: 4 Shipton Road, Ascott-under-Wychwood OX7 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Ascott-under-Wychwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ascott-under-Wychwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Swan at Ascott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing