We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful pub, stunning location, welcoming and friendly owners.”
Review of The Swan at Ascott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Swan at Ascott
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful pub, stunning location, welcoming and friendly owners.”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I recently stayed at the The Swan over Valentines weekend. Its a really charming place, full of character and there was a roaring fire in the pub when I arrived. The owners were so warm and welcoming and I knew right away that I had made the right choice.

We stayed in the most amazing room on the top floor...its converted loft space which I believe is the bridal suite and it has a beautiful bed on one side and a bath nestled under the beams on the other, it felt very romantic staying there over Valentines weekend. Theres a separate bathroom too and its very clean and comfortable...I had a great nights sleep.

We went downstairs to the pub and had dinner there. Again the owners were so lovely it really added to our enjoyment of dinner and the food here is out of this world. My partner had a burger and I had the famous homemade pie which I can honestly say is the best pub pie ive ever had and ive tried a few over the years!!

The next morning we had a relaxing breakfast followed by a stroll around the village we left. Its full of charm and theres even a long barrow in the grounds of the church opposite the pub. I really had a lovely stay here and I received such genuinely warm, welcoming and friendly hospitality that I'd happily stay here again or pop in some food and a drink if I was in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    25
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
59
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We visited this pub whilst on holiday in the area having spotted a signpost. We were made most welcome and had a lovely chat with the owner (who was busy doing the local school's dinners when we arrived). The food was perfect and the service exceptional with time to chat to us and tell us the recent history of the pub. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Just came back from enjoying a fantastic lunchtime meal in this establishment, The last time I visited the Swan was in the early 70's playing Darts , a lot has changed from those days, the pleasantly decorated dining room which catered for our group of 21 people was very homely and relaxing ,we were served very well by the owner and his staff , the food was impressive ,very well presented, and a visit from the two Chef's was met by a round of applause from all in attendance, we will definitely be returning to this venue in the future, not only as a group of friends but individually too. Highly recommended, Rod and Heather.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

As a London based couple we rarely get out to the country for some peace and quiet - what a joy it was when we stayed at The Swan.
The owners had only recently settled in but made us very welcome. One providing excellent food and the other keeping order at the bar. The young staff were helpful and I can see how this pub is not only the hub of the village but provides essential employment locally.
All the pressures of work and city life fell aside as we sat near to the roaring fire and relaxed.
There are some pleasant walks in and around the village too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was our first trip to The Swan at Ascott and definitely won't be our last. The New Year's celebrations were brilliant with fantastic entertainment from the Swing Sisters and Tina Turner tribute, who had everyone on the dancefloor and even a few of us on stage.
The food was delicious, and had something to suit everybody.
The hosts were so welcoming and the environment was a perfect way to see in 2014.
It has been one of the best New Year's Celebrations, and we would both return without question.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We chose this pub for a post-Christmas break because we were looking to get away from it all and it didn't disappoint. Set in a beautiful Cotswold village opposite an ancient church, the Swan is as picturesque from without as it is welcoming and enjoyable from within.
We took a room on the first floor which was clean, spacious and warm, with a very new en-suite bathroom. The village may have a train station but it is very much off the beaten track and the room was perfectly quiet after the pub closed at around midnight, but even before that it wasn't a disturbance.
We dined at the pub one evening and found the food to be good, dependable fare, exactly what one would expect from a good pub: pies, roasts and salads, with nothing too fancy or exorbitant on the menu. There were also a few good local brews on offer from the excellent Hook Norton Brewery. breakfast was also very good: the full English served as a great basis for a day's sightseeing in Oxford and would be a good start to a day walking in the vicinity too.
While the accommodation, facilities and catering all ticked the right boxes, the most important factor was the friendly, helpful service that the landlord Richard and his team offered. We felt welcome from arrival to departure and I'd be happy to recommend The Swan to anyone looking for a great English country pub experience within a couple of hours of London.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Christmas Lunch at the Swan was a great experience for my Husband and I. There were about forty people there and the atmosphere was great, the food was excellent, 7 courses in all each beautifully presented and delicious, the tables were wonderfully set with chocolates, crackers, hats and fresh flowers, there was complementary sherry to start and port to finish, each course flowed perfectly from the beginning to the end enabling us to have a most relaxing and enjoyable lunch, we had a great time and would like to thank Richard and Michiel and there wonderful friendly staff for giving us a Christmas Day Lunch we won't forget. Congratulations
J & B

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandbinscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascott-under-Wychwood
1.7 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#1 of 1 in Shipton under Wychwood
231 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
723 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlbury
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,217 reviews
5.3 mi away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Chipping Norton
687 reviews
4.8 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Ascott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Ascott

Property: The Swan at Ascott
Address: 4 Shipton Road, Ascott-under-Wychwood OX7 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Ascott-under-Wychwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ascott-under-Wychwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan at Ascott 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Inn is located in Ascott Under Wychwood in the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside. This charming property features a restaurant and opens onto a courtyard with a garden. Rooms at the 17th-century former coach inn have elegant décor. There is a flat-screen TV, tea and coffee-making facilities and a private bathroom. You can enjoy home-cooked dishes prepared with local produce in the Swan’s traditional restaurant. There is also a relaxing lounge area and pub with a roaring log fire. The surrounding countryside is ideal for walking with the Oxfordshire Way passing nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Swan at Ascott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing