We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little slice of heaven in the Kent countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Orchard Retreat

Orchard Retreat
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orchard Retreat
Ranked #2 of 5 Marden B&B and Inns
Kent
1 review
“A little slice of heaven in the Kent countryside”
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Orchard Retreat is a real find! Situated next to a pear orchard and next to a small pond, complete with moor hen and chicks, this wonderful summerhouse is set in the most beautiful garden you can imagine.

Orchard Retreat is completely self contained, properly constructed building, but in easy reach of the farmhouse should you need anything. It's great as you can come and go as you please without disturbing anyone and, should you prefer not to eat out, there's crockery for two so you can have a picnic outside on the decking if you like or of course, inside. The interior is spotlessly clean and very well maintained.

Lynda has a real eye for detail; a wonderfully comfortable bed, crisp white linens, spa quality soaps and shower gels as well as good decorative touches. The shortbread is a real treat, as is the full English breakfast - fantastic.

I genuine can't think of anything I would change. Lynda is a very attentive host, nothing seems too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome. I'd certainly recommend it and would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snooze66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fleet
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2010

The Orchard Retreat really earns it's name. We have stayed there twice now and will certainly go back. It has everything that we want in a relaxing place to stay in Kent - quiet seclusion but attentive service and a great position from which to see the sights of Kent.

The summerhouse is nestled at the end of a beautiful English country garden between a duck pond and an orchard. It has been designed to the highest standard and has a generous main room with a very smart en suite bathroom. Outside there is a small deck area with another set of table and chairs where you can eat and watch the pondlife. When we arrived on Friday afternoon we sat on the deck with our tea and shortbread and straight away we became relaxed and felt the stress of work go away.

Lynda and Jeremy live in the main house (a beautiful Grade 2 listed country house) and will be very helpful with information and directions for things to see. They provide a beautiful breakfast in the summerhouse of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, juice and thick slices of delicious bread. There is a toaster, kettle and fridge in the room. Alternatively you can pay £5 for a cooked breakfast in the house which was also delicious.

The retreat is situated so that all the towns, castles and houses of Kent are easily accessible for a day trip with a car, whether you want to go north towards Sevenoaks or Canterbury or south towards Tunbridge Wells or Rye.

We have no hesitation in recommending the Orchard Retreat and we are both of the opinion that it is an excellent price!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

This secluded studio sits at the bottom of a beautiful garden next to the pear orchard. The building is finished to a very high standard and your every need is catered for. We went for the inclusive breakfast which consisted of cereal, yoghurt, a wonderful fresh fruit platter, toast and home made preserves - a perfect start to the day. The shower room was perfect. We were lucky that the sun shone so we were able to sit out on the decked area immediately outside our front door sipping a glass of wine overlooking the duck pond - simply idilyc!! The hosts Lynda and Jeremy were extremely welcoming. The studio is perfectly placed in the centre of Kent to enable you to get around and explore the lovely countryside. All in all a perfect weekend get away - we cant wait to go again!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart_Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volketswil
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2009

English people are driving very fast! The streets are often very narrow. - What a diffrence to Switzerland! Altough we had a way-description we were kind of lost when we arrived in Marden. It was difficult to find the address we were looking for. Standing in front of a nice building with a beautiful garden we decided to knock on the door and ask for help. It was just wow, when Lynda came out and welcomed us! What a warm welcome!
We had our own little house in the orchard with a beautiful view to the back-garden and the pond with the ducks. We were by ourself but Lynda was always there when we needed something. She was very helpful and we appreciated our stay very much. If we come back to Kent, we would stay again at the Orchard Retreat! Thank you so much Lynda.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gomello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

At our very recent visit to Orchard Retreat B&B Marden, Kent we were made very welcome by the owners.

This completely self-contained, picturesque studio, is situated in a quiet location within the owner's beautiful landscaped gardens.

The accommodation was comfortable, comprehensively serviced with refrigerator, air conditioning and en suite facilities and was spotlessly clean. The full breakfast was sumptuous and well presented.

All in all good value for money

Mr Mrs P R

Helpful?
3 Thank NichollsCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Orchard Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Retreat

Property: Orchard Retreat
Address: St. Ann's Green Lane, Marden TN12 9AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Marden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Marden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This completely self-contained, picturesque studio, situated within beautiful landscaped gardens and adjacent to pear orchards is close to Sissinghurst Castle Garden, Leeds Castle, Bodiam Catle and many other National Trust properties. For garden lovers there are numerous National Garden Scheme locations nearby and for walkers there is of course the Bedgebury Pinetum. We are centrally located in the Weald of Kent. just 8 miles south of Maidstone and within easy driving distance of Royal Tunbridge Wells. There is a regular train service to London Charing Cross (1 hour) from the station in the village, 1 mile away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchard Retreat Marden, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing