We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place; Consistent Surf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mizata Point Resort
Ranked #1 of 21 La Libertad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place; Consistent Surf”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Mizata Point Resort is pretty nice for a surf trip. The A/C is a step above window units, the bathrooms are nice and have a cool cobblestone floor in the shower. All the rooms have nice views of the surf. The food on-site is good, especially the special options. The pool seemed pretty clean and nice; not like the murky mosquito breeding grounds you see elsewhere. I enjoyed the view of the inside section of the right. The bug situation wasn't bad at all; even without being screened in the pool was fine and has a view of the right off the rivermouth. Having a long beach frontage helps bigtime.

The surf: Nice variation; no crowd problem whatsoever when I was there. There is a somewhat fickle/tricky beachbreak that changes face as the tide changes, an exposed cobblestone beach broadly juts out and there's an irregular left peeling towards the beach off that, with rights as well, especially if you sit on the far side of the point from the beachbreak. A bit inside and down, there is a right peeling towards the rock/cliff as well. You can ride your chips, especially at the beachbreak, but a hint more foam that helps with current/paddling, yet is still very duck-divable is advised. The right seems to want to push you off the peak, and it seemed like higher face height/shorter period waves would close out a bit and require duck diving and repositioning. The left wanted to push you off the point towards the beachbreak. Not the snake river, but first you must punch through the beachbreak, then watch for cleanups coming in while you paddle up to the top. Relaxed rocker worked well for me; only certain sections of the beachbreak felt really tight-radius.

I'd pick Mizata again, sight-unseen, because it's a magnet and it was very uncrowded when I was there. Swell was pulsing and others tell me people venture up from Tunco/La Lib when it gets small, but it was pretty much empty when I was there. Walter knows the other options well and is a trooper.to boot. Super nice like George, Wendy, Christian....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    23
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
53
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I just got back from a 12 night stay at Mizata Point Resort. Before even getting there George was extremely helpful with all of our many questions preparing for our stay. We had their driver Walter pick us up from the airport and he stopped and showed us all of the surf spots on our way to the resort. We had a beautiful room with a king size bed facing the ocean. The rooms are large and very clean. Beautiful bathrooms with large showers with great water pressure and lots of hot water. The rooms all have a/c, but in the evenings it's nice to have the door open to have the breeze flow through and to hear the ocean. The hammocks on the patios are a great plus and a perfect place to watch the ocean or read a book. George, Wendy and great staff prepared us 3 wonderful meals a day. Great options on the menu! We purchased a meal plan which allowed us to eat whatever we wanted for a more than fair price. The food is delicious, and healthy! Mizata has a real family feel...it's relaxing, quiet and private. We at times felt like we were the only ones there (even though we weren't). A perfect location to truly unwind. The whole family there made us feel welcome and comfortable at all times.

There are 3 different waves directly out front of Mizata that are uncrowded and fun to surf.

When we wanted to check out the other surf spots in the area Walter was the perfect guide. Friends with the locals and knew all the perfect spots.

Both my husband and I feel like we went there knowing nobody, but left with great friends. Definitely will be going back!

Room Tip: Pick the rooms that have the hammocks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at the mizata point. George was super helpful from the beginning. They have great beach front cabanas with A/c and comfortable beds. Made some good friends while I was there, and we surfed everyday. Its a great place to take it easy and catch some waves. George and his staff were great, made delicious food, and super helpful. Looking forward to goin back again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soulsurfer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just finished my 2nd stay at Mizata Point Resort with a group of my surf buddies (1st trip was my honeymoon / Thanksgiving).

The surf. We had an amazing time surfing the right hand point break located directly in front of our rooms. We enjoyed many uncrowded days paddling in the warm water and soaking in the sunshine. There is almost always a wave to surf here. In the summer it tends to be bigger more often, and the winter is great for beginners.

Food & Rooms. The food is delicious and is some of the best at any surf camp. George, the owner & manager, is a fantastic host who will take of all your needs. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the A/C is strong and the outdoor landscape will keep you in a tranquil state of mind. I wish I was lounging on the porch in a hammock right now!

Great Value. Considering the amount of great surf and comfort you get, this place is worth your dollar.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just finished my 2nd stay at Mizata Point Resort with a group of my surf buddies (1st trip was my honeymoon / Thanksgiving). We had an amazing time surfing the right hand point break located directly in front of our rooms. We enjoyed many uncrowded days paddling in the warm water and soaking in the sunshine. The food is delicious and is some of the best at any surf camp. George, the owner & manager, is a fantastic host who takes excellent care of his guests. The rooms are comfortable, the A/C is strong and the outdoor landscape will keep you in a tranquil state of mind. I wish I was lounging on the porch in a hammock right now!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank ebeth00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We just finished a10 day stay. The place is geared towards travelers, not tourists. George and his family were very gracious and extremely accommodating. The food was very tasty and abundant. The accommodations were comfortable and the property was beautiful! The pool was a big plus, many hours spent sitting in it an watching the surf. The point is not a beginner wave. We are experienced travelers and found it to be a great wave but one that requires strong awareness when there is swell. We caught some great early morning sessions. Walter (the driver.....extra charge but fair and worthwhile) was awesome and has excellent local relationships which were very useful during field trips and surfing other spots. Our experience was seamless from the airport pick up to the drop off. Very laid back, safe and an excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

George, Wendy and their crew surpassed our expectations with wonderful food and service. They made us feel like we were part of their family! Comfortable, clean and spacious rooms.

Even if you're not a surfer, you'll thoroughly enjoy your stay at Mizata. Bring a book and spend your day in the hammocks or by the pool that is clean and just the right temperature.

The meals they prepare will not disappoint, even if you're a vegetarian. We even dined with linen table cloths and napkins one night!

GREAT EXPERIENC!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChauseyLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Libertad
14.9 mi away
Hotel Los Farallones
Hotel Los Farallones
#1 of 3 in La Libertad
190 reviews
14.6 mi away
Boca Olas Resort Villas
Boca Olas Resort Villas
#1 of 2 in El Tunco
194 reviews
13.9 mi away
Casa de Mar
Casa de Mar
#1 of 1 in El Sunzal
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
SABAS Beach Resort
SABAS Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in La Libertad
87 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Tekuani Kal
Hotel Tekuani Kal
#10 of 21 in La Libertad
102 reviews
14.9 mi away
Royal Decameron Salinitas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mizata Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mizata Point Resort

Property: Mizata Point Resort
Address: Lote 15 Santa Lucia, Mizata | Km 86 Careetra Litoral, La Libertad, El Salvador
Region: El Salvador > La Libertad Department > La Libertad
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in La Libertad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mizata Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Where tranquility and peace meet great surf." Quiet, uncrowded surfing resort with private rooms with all the necessities, pool, restaurant, almost on the water rooms with views to die for. For the surfer looking for the out of the ordinary place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Mizata Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mizata Point Resort El Salvador/La Libertad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing