We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best resort ever with fab staff!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arasha Tropical Rainforest Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arasha Tropical Rainforest Resort & Spa
TUCSON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best resort ever with fab staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

it was great fun and very interesting to be IN the rainforest and enjoy the flora and fauna: birds and tarantulas and toucans and orchids and making chocolate and rings out of nuts. The food was great as well!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kreddenaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    28
    33
    22
    11
See reviews for
51
29
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

We went there for three nights annd two days and our experience was pretty nice! We had a lot of fun and of course we left stress behind. In the Arasha resort are some activities but if you want to have a better experince in the place you should really visit the blue or the green waterfalls. They are nice to see and to arrive there u will have to walk and walk and walk so you will do some exercise which is also very good. The only problem: you will have to pay extra money to get there, it means 15 per person, but its not too much and u will have fun there. Inconclusion, the resort was pretty cool, the food is excellent and there is a lot of ffood at all times so dont worry about it. Rooms are clean and the staff is frineldy. We really liked the place.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andreacmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

Arasha is a very beautiful natural resort which offers a lot of nature with spectacular view, wonderful flora as well as fauna. Kept my attention the big number of birds that I found in such a small area. They have very attractive colours that camouflage so well with the nature especially with the bright colours of the flowers.
I found a lot of activities while I was here and I was busy most of the time. I enjoyed very much the warm water on the pool surrounded by wonderful flora and the sound of the water on the cascade.
This experience made me feel in the middle of the forest. I have to say the walks inside the resort are well planned and I congratulate this resort to keep the nature.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SebastianNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
España
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

I agree completely with the person who wrote about the overwhelming smell of damp, my room also had it and it was very strong. This place was expensive for what they offered, nothing really great. I talked to other people that stayed in othe lodges around (I dont remember the names now) and all seemed more satisfied than me and my friends. I would recommend to go somewhere else if you are not looking for a pool and a karaoke.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank caminantemundial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2008

People need to clearly understand what Arasha is all about before booking it. I've inspected 10 lodges in the Mindo area (I worked for a tour operator) - this is, in my opinion, the worst of them all.

It's a "resort". There's a karoke bar. And a disco. Plus a swimming pool with noisy kids. This is not what a rainforest lodge is about. If you're a family that would like a gentle introduction to the rainforest, it might be suitable - for anyone else I'd recommend you avoid the place.

Arasha is, without doubt, the tackiest rainforest lodge that I have ever been to. Having visited 10 other lodges in the area, I was so, so upset to end up staying here. The experience is just so artificial and fake. It's really, really tacky. The resort is aimed at Ecuadorean tourists, and Westerners that have never been to the rainforest and want to visit somewhere after the Galapagos. If you've been to any other rainforest or jungle lodge anywhere, you'll be completely disappointed.

For families with young children - this is a potential option if you're unadventurous. For anyone else, avoid Arasha.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — How tacky and artificial the contrived rainforest experience was
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveller951london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pedro Vicente Maldonado hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2008

I was due to stay here for 2 nights with my husband. I booked months in advance following reassurance that our vegetarian food requirements would be met. Initially I was very pleased, they wanted to know the sorts of things we did and didn´t like etc.
Upon arrival we were shown to our room which had an overwhelming smell of damp. Following this we went for lunch, we were given the veggie menu, which contained 5 things (nothing specifically for us as we were led to believe). The evening meal was from the same menu and the quality of the food was not that of a ´chef´´.
We complained to the manager, he spoke little english and offered to allow us to leave the following day but pay for both nights, much hand wringing later and my production of a copy of the email from the overall manager re food, and we escaped, paying for 1 night only. Although we had to pay for a taxi back to quito ($60) which had been included initially.
I wouldn´t advise anyone to go here unless you like paying a lot for crap.

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — The smell of damp
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank HelenDonaghy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2008

This tropical paradise is more than a rainforest, which I went looking for. First of all; resort in the name is well applied....nothing is left for the guest to worry about since so many details are included...umbrellas everywhere; full room comforts (including portable air conditioners if wanted); lighting on all walkways without interfering with nature; a pool of natural falls....really; and then the unlimitied staff service everywhere...computer friendly; attention non stop. I wonder if it was low season as I was so pampered by the family of workers. ok; the food- well; i thought i was in a 5star big city competetive restaurant...and i hope the steak supplier never goes away. well, i neglected the activities which come with it - free and ongoing. Don't forget SPA in the equation...who thought of alllllll this? I cannot wait to return. FYI- it is soooo relaxing; put it on the end of any other trip to re enter reality. lbixby

  • Liked — Feeling like you are in nature with full room services.
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank labixby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pedro Vicente Maldonado
20.5 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#4 of 7 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
24.8 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
25.0 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#2 of 7 in Mindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Kapari Natural Lodge & Spa
Kapari Natural Lodge & Spa
#1 of 5 in San Miguel de los Bancos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hacienda Rio Blanco
Hacienda Rio Blanco
#3 of 5 in San Miguel de los Bancos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
22.8 mi away
Kashama Eco Resort and Spa
Kashama Eco Resort and Spa
#1 of 5 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arasha Tropical Rainforest Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arasha Tropical Rainforest Resort & Spa

Property: Arasha Tropical Rainforest Resort & Spa
Address: KM 121 Via Quito-Calacali-Pedro Vicente Maldonado | Mindo Area, Pedro Vicente Maldonado, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Pedro Vicente Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pedro Vicente Maldonado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arasha Tropical Forest Resort & Spa is located about 2 hours car drive from Quito, the capital city of Ecuador. We have been Awarded 12 times from 2004 to 2012 by "World Travel Awards" an institution in London, United Kingdom as "Leading Resort & Spa in ECUADORPlease visit. We have on premises Primary and Secondary Forests which can be visited. 17 different Attractions to keep you busy or you can relax choosing a more distant bungalow from entertaining centers.Our Restaurant El Bosque and Choco Bar will make you so happy you don't want to leave. Ecuadorian and International Food prepared in our kitchen by 14 employees make sure your taste buds dance. Hope to see you soon with us. Gustavo DiezPresident & CEOArasha Ltd.Pedro Vicente Maldonado (Km 121 via Quito-Calacali-La Independencia)PichinchaEcuador ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arasha Tropical Rainforest Hotel Pedro Vicente Maldonado
Arasha Tropical Rainforest Resort And Spa
Arasha Tropical Rainforest Spa
Arasha Tropical Rainforest Resort & Spa Ecuador/Pedro Vicente Maldonado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing