We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Boathouse

Entrance to the Boathouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to the Boathouse
View from along the beach Bird's nest bedroom upstairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Entrance to the Boathouse
View from along the beach
Bird's nest bedroom upstairs
Early morning rising sun...
The bay outside...
The Boathouse, from across the bay...
Evening view
From the pier in nearby Moville...
Beach outside
Beach view
Fireplace
Shroove lighthouse
Looking from entrance to bay
Bird's eye view...
Boathouse entrance
Living room area (different suite of furniture now though!)
View from upstairs bedroom into kitchen
View into living from from upstairs bedroom
upstairs bedroom
upstairs bedroom
view up to upstairs bedroom from kitchen
View inside front door showing original roof structure
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Greencastle, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fion1865
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing location”
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

House location is amazing, even though it was February we were able to potter down to the beach and build sandcastles. Children loved it. Very comfortable house, with all necessities. Hope to be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2018
Thank you - we're very glad you enjoyed it. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna S
1 review
“Perfect inviting and cosy with a stunning view”
Reviewed 15 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The house is very spacious ideal for a family or a couple of friends. A cosy fire in the evening and a stunning view over the Lough. A good aria for walking.
The neighbors are very friendly and helpful.
The pub 'Kealy's Bar', not to mix up with 'Kealy's Seafood Bar', in Greencastle is very nice and serves wonderful sandwiches.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEVIN B
1 review
“Beautiful house with amazing views”
Reviewed 25 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This house was absolutely fantastic. Everything was great in the house, all was in perfect condition and very clean. My only problem would be the bathroom. It is in need of being updated. The views were amazing, especially of the sea and golf course situated across from the house, and the golf course serves great home made food. The house is perfect for a quiet family getaway.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Thank you ! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph F
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovley cosy house”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Booked a few days in this lovley house by the sea with my wife and kids and I have to say we all really really loved it and enjoyed our night sitting by the lovley fire .
And the views where amazing

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
Thanks or. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Rhond...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning view!”
Reviewed 11 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent base for exploring the area - up to Malin Head in the Republic of Ireland and to The Giant's Causeway in Northern Ireland. Having breakfast with the water almost lapping at your feet was wonderful. Felt snug, warm and secure despite inclement weather. Bathroom could benefit from an upgrade but OK as is.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house with beautiful view.”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A very much needed holiday in a gorgeous spot. We set off expecting to take the ferry from Milligan to Greencastle but like others that day found the ferry port was locked up and the actual ferry was no where in sight. After a 3 hour drive (which should have only taken 1 hour 25 mins!) we pulled into a beautiful little bay with a house right on the beach.Great beaches,great walks and the best view we have ever seen from our breakfast table! The best bit was that we could our wee dog too so the whole family had a great time...worth a 3 hour trip! We all can't wait to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon K
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely house on a super wee beach”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The boathouse is a great house - clean and well equipped. Even the inside of the cupboards were spotlessly clean. Plenty of seating. There are books, cards, board games, freeview and a few DVDs for rainy evenings. Check in and check out really easy and the neighbours are very friendly.

Not an exaggeration to say it is home from home. We have stayed in several adequate holiday homes with chipped mismatched crockery and blunt breadknives over the years - not a problem here. There are approximately ten decent mugs - as well as two complete dinner sets (okay - a few are chipped...) inc teacups, wine, beer and juice glasses, plastic glasses etc so there are enough dishes for two meals before putting on the (really clean) dishwasher. Oven trays and saucepans are new-ish and clean. Bed linen, towels, tea towels all fresh and clean.

The children spent hours on the wee beach beside the house in sun or rain; climbed the rocks, made sandcastles, paddled and swam. The photos don't show low tide to show how much sand there is from about 11am until about 4pm in July. We were really lucky with the weather and had four warm sunny days then three not so good days. Greencastle Cove seems to be very calm - and was really quite shallow quite far out so on the sunny days the water was still quite warm until about 8pm.

We barbequed one night on a disposable bbq - there is a metal bbq grid in the garden where we safely set ours up. First time the kids barbequed marshmallows on skewers - great memories!

Our dog *loved* the beach and the garden. The boathouse is well suited for a dog - plenty of space in the hallway for a dog bed and easy enough to secure to keep him out of the rooms. We also went to Shrove beach, Kinnego bay, five fingers strand with the dog - he absolutely loved all of it.

Kealy's seafood bar is definitely worth a visit or two - the monkfish and the chilli nachos were my favourite but none of us had anything other than great food there. McLaughlin's shop in Greencastle is small but really well stocked.

Claire the baker's in Carndonagh is amazingly good - freshly prepared wraps and sandwiches with really good side salads, their scones are also great and it was worth the drive from Greencastle to Carndonagh for the raspberry roulade alone. The bench seating outside is very dog friendly too. It is right beside the supervalu which is really reasonable for groceries.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing