We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic place...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greencastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
On The Rocks Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Greencastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place...”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The house is stunning, the views spectacular & the hospitality outstanding. We could not have felt more welcome or at home for the couple of days we stayed with Mary & Owen in their B&B. All the rooms are perfectly furnished & maintained, a lovely sitting area for guests with tea/coffee etc on tap to relax in after a long day on the bikes. Breakfast was superb, pretty much anything you asked for, our fresh fruit could almost have been picked that morning & the scrambled eggs & smoked salmon were the best ever. Mary & Owen's hospitality is second to none. We will go back & I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
102
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midi in UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I could not recommend this B&B more highly. We had a fantastic stay with Mary & Owen, who greeted us with open arms and provided food, conversation and advice. They have such expansive knowledge of the Irish history and Owen is a skilled story teller. They went that extra mile to make us feel at home. They provided breakfast at a time to suit you and cooked just before you were seated, so the food was always fresh. If you have never stayed in a B&B before then this would be your turning point.
We stayed for 4 nights at the end of July 2014. The location is heavenly, easy to find from Foyle Ferry and not too distant from the Causeway route. We felt safe and it was immensely peaceful.

Room Tip: All rooms are mainly for resting and have en suite bathrooms, but there are other relaxing areas aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaliko47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My husband & I who are an Australian couple arrived on Mary's door step mid afternoon looking for accommodation after following signs to her B & B. We were welcome with open arms. Nice slices to accompany our coffee sitting outside taking in the most glorious view. The view was also the same from our bedroom. How I hated leaving. If only another night I kept thinking.Mary advised us on local eateries for dinner that night.
We have spent three weeks travelling around Ireland & I must say this has been one of the best. But defiantly the one with the best views in my life
Thanks Mary for sharing your home & hospitality

Room Tip: Spectacular Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in this superb B & B, we were made so welcome , Mary and Owen offer such genuine hospitality, The breakfasts were simply delicious with home baked Irish soda bread and scones - heaven on a plate ! The interior designs within the house reflect care and attention to detail, from the co-ordinating bedlinen to the lovely crockery on the table. The provision of a "relaxing area " is yet again an example of wonderful hospitality and whilst reclining on very comfortable seating, guests may avail themselves of chilled drinks from the fridge and enjoy Mary's tasty cakes or scones, free of charge of course ! The surrounding area has some of the cleanest beaches and stunning scenery. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, one is particularly special as it has a jacuzzi and has to be booked by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed for one night on our journey around the north coast. We arrived late afternoon to be greeted by Mary with her home make cakes and tea. Mary and Owen were happy to inform us of the best places to find some dinner and also had menus for the local restaurants too. On the rocks is a very Modern styled house, the rooms are stylish and beds are comfy, we were fortunate to have one of the east facing rooms with beautiful views over Lough Foyle. The cooked breakfast was excellent with plenty of tea, coffee, orange juice and enough toast to keep us going for most of the day. Would happily stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed one night in this exceptional b&b on our walking holiday. The views from our room were spectacular, and when we arrived - tired and sunburnt - Mary greeted us with tea, cakes, scones and chocolates served on the terrace outside our bedroom. Pure bliss! Our room had a very nice, spacious bathroom with a rain shower and the bedroom was tastefully decorated. We only stayed one night, so we did'nt got the opportunity to try the various breakfast options Mary and Owen offered, but the fresh fruits, green tea and toasted bagels with cream cheese and salmon where a welcome alternative to a traditional Irish breakfast, and kept us going for a big part of the day. Would sure book this b&b again when vacationing in Inishowen.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoukelineA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for his birthday. We had been to greencastle for our holidays last summer and wanted to go back for a weekend. On the rocks bed and breakfast was amazing. Very modern style. The place was really clean. Couldnt of ask for more. The owners were lovley and so welcoming. Had a fridge with drinka we could help ourselves and the best breakfast in the morning. I will deff be coming here to stay again soon and my family and friends are all wanting to visit. Brill location also, lovley veiws and beaches. 100% :-D.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greencastle
6.3 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,870 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,782 reviews
19.2 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
19.9 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
565 reviews
17.4 mi away
White Strand B&B
White Strand B&B
#1 of 3 in Malin Head
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The Rocks Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The Rocks Bed and Breakfast

Property: On The Rocks Bed and Breakfast
Address: Ballymacarthur | Moville, Greencastle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Greencastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greencastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New modern house with 4 double rooms, all on suite. The house is build on a rock outcrop with spectacular views over Lough Foyle and the surrounding countryside ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing