We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favourite get away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strand Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Strand Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Dunmore East B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
tipperary
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Our favourite get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We just love this place. As a couple and also as a family. It is a little bit of heaven and the weather always seems to be good there. Rooms are amazing. Staff are super and food is to die for. The views are stunning. The only bad thing I can say is some of the young bar staff will pretend to look to busy to serve you. That is just inexperience.

Room Tip: try and get a sea view room, most of them are. That view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    69
    39
    32
    21
See reviews for
78
113
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was such a great find - we loved the serene, quiet atmosphere of the little town. The Inn was very inviting, comfortable and everyone was friendly. The rooms were amazing with views of the sea. The food in the restaurant was exquisite. And the night life in the Bar was great with great live music. We would love to go again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trim, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

At a wedding here recently and from the minute we walked in the door it was a great experience. Staff were great and helpful. Great atmosphere in the bar before the meal. The day itself was cloudy and showery but the view from the restaurant was priceless. Food was excellent, had steak, cooked perfect, also tasted the chicken and fish, perfect. Unusual to see steak on a menu for a wedding for over 100 but they carried it off, well done. The service for the reception was flaunt less, highly recommend. We got a family room, 2 separate rooms, spotless, spacious with a GREAT view. We also stayed the Sat night. Hotel had a BBQ the next day which was a proper summers day, again food was great. Overall cant fault the place, had a fantastic time and will definitely be going back. Its right on the beach......sound of the sea from the room was so relaxing! Thank you strand for a great weekend. Fortune family..

Room Tip: Room with a Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank decfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed quite a few times at the Strand Inn over the years, in fact if I remember well my first time there was in 1999! I saw the changes they made over time and it has really become a beautiful place. Unfortunately the room we got was a far cry from all the pretty pictures they show you on their website!Considering there were a double and a single bed, I guess this classifies as a "family" or a triple room not sure: the room was tiny, the window was filthy and overlooking a dirty back yard where you could hear the ins and outs of staff. The bathroom was dire, the shower was a drip, no pressure at all. We stayed there 2 nights and I was so excited to take my boyfriend there as the last time I stayed, I got a really nice spacious room, what a disappointment! On the second night, there was no hot water and that continued the following morning. I mentioned it on check out and hardly got an apology nor a complimentary cup of coffee! The door was quite hard to close, but it was ok but I think all rooms on that side had same problem and you could hear people slamming them etc waking you up every time they were closing their doors.
The website mentions wi fi in the rooms: again this is not true, maybe not on that side! No big deal but some people traveling would book their hotel only if there is free wi fi in the rooms..

The restaurant is lovely and you can certainly not beat that view! they did a really nice job with that extension and we had a lovely time both nights. The staff was nice and we got to have a chat with the owners son who took us to our table. the food was also nice with a nice selection of dishes of the day every day. The tables outside are great and again that view! I stayed there in some cold winter nights and the views were as beautiful! They had quality bands playing on both nights and we had a really nice time. I would highly recommend to pay the extra E20 for a sea view, unfortunately they were fully booked the w'end we stayed.. because paying that kind of price for the shoe box we got is just a disgrace! considering that we could have stayed in a lovely BB for half the price and still enjoying their restaurant etc The other bad thing is breakfast...no choice..only the full irish breakfast and that was that (or if there was, the breakfast lady did not mention it), choice of 3 types of cereals, yogurt and fruits.

We will probably stay again but it will have to be a sea view room!

Room Tip: Do not go to room No8..In fact all the rooms on that side could be very similar and as bad as No8
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraochoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here one night over the Bank Holiday weekend recently. Great location but when we asked if parking outside on the street was the only option we were directed to some other hotel around the corner where the carpark was full of building stuff and piles of rubbish and no obvious signs of it being any safer than the road. We left the car on the road! It was a busy Sunday afternoon when we arrived and there was clearly no one dedicated to welcoming guests staying in their rooms. I was asked to fill out an arrivals form with personal details on which the girl then just left on the counter as she took us to our room. Anyone could have picked it up! I had to put it under the counter!! Stairs to the rooms looked grubby and the door leading to the rooms corridor had no internal lock so anyone using the pub could in theory wander up to the rooms! This also looked dirty and in need of a good wash down. Disappointed with the room - small, basic and in need of TLC and the bathroom was more like a gloomy cupboard. Door lock was not the most robust I have seen! I know we were staying in a pub but here was noise from rowdy revellers well into the small hours and particualry an outside door that was continuously being slammed.

We did manage to dine in the restaurant which we enjoyed but would not say was exceptional food. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Good service here

At 130 euros a night I think this was expensive particualry when we stayed in a boutique B and B in Dublin for only euro 109 a night. A bit of work need on the housekeeping situation and a brighter welcome needed!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pappy965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

After visiting previously in the drizzle, we returned to the Strand Inn on a gloriously sunny afternoon. The fabulous setting wS perfectly matched by ice cold beer and wonderful food, served promptly the seafood chowder was delicious, piping hot, full of flavour and full of morsels of perfectly cooked fish. The home made pâté and Melba toast was really good and complimented by the Cumberland sauce. We were only snacking. But the main courses we saw being delivered to tables nearby looked very tempting indeed. Topped our visit off with a perfect Irish Coffee.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

WE stayed friday & saturday night and dined on both nights. food was amazing, staff fantastic, loved every minute . Loved meeting Mum you did a great job and you must be very proud of your family . I would definitely stay there again, keep up the good work ;-)))

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunmore East
7.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
6.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#10 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
7.2 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
8.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
24.6 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Inn

Property: The Strand Inn
Address: Dunmore East County, Dunmore East, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dunmore East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Dunmore East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Inn, Dunmore East is a contemporary Inn with a relaxed beach style. The Inn has fifteen stylish bedrooms, most with outstanding panoramic ocean views. The hotel is nestled in the South East Ireland coastline, on the edge of Dunmore East. Discreetly set in a unique position, with the terrace being the perfect vantage point to admire the views across to Hook Head. Just below is the stunning Dunmore East beach and cove, perfect to unwind on. The Strand Inn is owned by the Foyle family and has been totally transformed to blend contemporary cool with coastal comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Strand Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Dunmore East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing