We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great relaxing break with family”
Review of The Haven Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunmore East
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Haven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunmore East
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Our recent stay at The Haven, Dunmore East was so relaxing, peaceful, and enjoyable. I wish I could return there again and again. Very comfortable, great food, cheerful, helpful staff ideal place for a break at any time of year. A great Cead Mile Failte with old style quality service by all staff.

Room Tip: Beautiful bedroom with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarevillehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

Beautiful is the only word that can describe this hotel. All the staff are so happy and nice, not to mention helpful. The room we stayed in was beautiful. We really enjoyed the large four poster bed. Breakfast was so nice that I had to have more. We stayed on a weekend that a DJ was in the bar, the night we had rivals any night we would have back home maybe even better. And to top it all off we weren't disrupted by the music in our room. Personally I will be back and I recommend, not only a stay in Dunmore East but a stay in the Haven. All in all it is a fabulous hotel in a fabulous coastal village and well worth a visit :)

Room Tip: We just rang to book and everything was explained to us over the phone, couldn't of helped more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Spent bank holiday May here and have to say it was just full of very nice
surprises,Jeanne( i hope i got your name right) greeted us at reception with such genuine warmth Always
had a smile at breakfast even when we where all the worst for wear from our fun
nights out, one of which was spent in the hotel disco and the host herself who wore glass's
whose name slips my mind was so warm and fun too...
the other bonus was all the locals we meet there who where great fun and welcoming, Dunmore East you can hold your heads up high, it is a very beautiful place and so where the locals thanks a mill, we will be back...
Clive Dublin

Room Tip: Pay very little extra for sea views its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clive2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The family run hotel is very welcoming.Jeanine was so friendly and the breakfasts were lovely.Great crack in the bar at night.The rooms are a bit dated and matresses could do with an upgrade but overall a good value old fashioned hotel.loved it

Room Tip: upgrade to a larger sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mixerclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Excellent! our room was a bit small but other than that everything was really good. The staff were very accommodating to us and we would like to return again. The bar staff were very welcoming and the bar itself had the widest selection of whiskies i had ever seen. Breakfast and dinner were second to none and I could not fault the food or service in any way whatsoever. Looking forward to visiting The Haven again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claudia666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The Haven Hotel is situated in Dunmore East and is a wonderful, old fashioned hotel. It's only open during the season. It's in lovely wooded grounds and has great views of the sea. The bedrooms are not modern by any means but appeal very much to those of us who like a bit of tradition. The meals here are great and the breakfast is to die for.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have good views whether it's the sea or the wonderful trees growing in the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamesie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This tired, grand old house, may have seen better days, but the warm family welcome beats those uber chic boutique hotels! Yes it's looking a little tardy, yes the food isn't that great, however there is something quite lovely about this eccentric hotel,caught in the 70s

Room Tip: Josies room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alfreda31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunmore East
0.3 mi away
The Three Sisters Inn
The Three Sisters Inn
#2 of 3 in Dunmore East
76 reviews
7.4 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
7.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
687 reviews
6.5 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tramore
309 reviews
8.6 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Hotel

Address: Dock Road | Nymphhall, Dunmore East, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dunmore East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunmore East
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Hotel is a truly unique venue and we are dedicated to making your time with us special. Celebrating its reopening in 2016 The Haven has been carefully renovated and refurbished but still retains its quirky charm. Owned and managed by the Kelly family for over 50 years, the hotel is set in stunning surroundings in the heart of the beautiful fishing village of Dunmore East, in the Sunny South East we like to think we have something for everyone. We pride ourselves on serving delicious home cooked food and celebrate Irish produce and use products from recognised Quality Assurance Schemes, specialising in Roast Rib of Prime Irish Beef and locally caught seafood. Food is served all day. As a must for music lovers we have live music in the bar most weekends and on the new outdoor stage on Sundays in the summer months. Children are especially welcome and we host Family Fun Sundays throughout the summer with live music, bouncy castles, ice cream and BBQs. As The Haven started life as a private home all our bedrooms are different sizes to accommodate families and couples alike. They have recently been completely renovated and refurbished, and each boasts comfy beds with crisp white sheets, a flat screen multi-channel television, hairdryer, tea/coffee hospitality tray and free WIFI. We have 12 bedrooms in the main house - many with stunning sea views. We have a further six bedrooms in the Garden Rooms. One of our bedrooms on the ground floor is wheelchair accessible. Our bridal suite comes complete with four poster bed. We look forward to meeting you at The Haven Hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing