We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Storybook stay”
Review of The Haven Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunmore East
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Haven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunmore East
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Storybook stay”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The beauty of this place is unexplainable! The food is comforting and fresh. The staff is down to earth and welcoming. Sharon was just a doll-we loved chatting with her! This jewel is in the perfect little quaint town! Love it!!! A must stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Jmeoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    34
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
63
41
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I have happily stayed often in the Haven when I was a frequent visitor to the Waterford area in the late 80s and indeed found that it lived up to its evocative name. Accommodation and food were always consistently good, the staff were welcoming and I always looked forward with pleasure to my visits there. And no wonder. The location is spectacular and one of the best in the area and with its eastwards facing aspect one has a grandstand view of the mouth of the Suir river and Wexford across the water.
On this visit however, I found that things had changed quite a lot and mostly not for the better.
On checking in I went to the bar for a well-earned drink after a long day’s work in nearby Waterford and casually asked the young lady for a glass Sauvignon Blanc. A young man, obviously hearing this came out from the bar and told me that they did not do that particular wine by the glass or quarter bottle but that I could have any one of a number of alternatives, none of which I wanted. All I had asked for was a glass of perhaps the most commonly available varietal white wine in this country and here I was being told I could not have it! There is a not-too-faint recollection here of Fawlty Towers (referred to in the business as the FT syndrome). When I asked the guy to open the bottle anyway he was a little taken aback and when I started arguing with him firmly and politely he capitulated and with a remark, which included an inappropriate Anglo-Saxon expletive of the four-letter variety, poured me a glass there and then. This is the first time in my many years of travelling that I have come upon such a bizarre and singularly unhelpful attitude. (This man has an attitude problem and appears to be in the wrong business. This was commented on also by a previous reviewer.) I felt like leaving the place on the spot but I could not contemplate the thoughts of driving back into Waterford to find another hotel for the night.
I dined later that evening in the restaurant and ordered the paté which was really very good followed by a large portion of cod, also delicious. I even managed to extract another glass of SB from the staff and then another, and ended up by finishing the bottle which was not a very good idea given that I had a full schedule of work ahead of me the following day! The cod came with a portion of mushy peas, which seemed so much at variance with the delicate nature of the fish; I asked to have it removed from the plate. I have no problem with that side dish when the main course is the robust cod deep-fried in batter but with a slab of delicately cooked fillet, no thank you! The music, supposed to be background, was not conductive to calm dining and I had to ask at least four times to have the volume turned down to a reasonable level. I would have preferred to have had it turned off altogether.
The bedroom too had a touch of the FTs about it. This had to be the smallest room in the hotel and if it wasn’t I would not like to see the smaller one. It was very narrow room with a double bed placed at an odd angle against the front window, which left very little room on the side for getting in and out of bed. I wondered why, since I was the only one staying here, I had been placed in this rather cramped space. It was room 3 if you are interested. There were too many pillows and cushions on the bed, all but one of which had to be removed in order to get into the bed. However there was one redeeming feature, the luxury of an electric blanket, which I was glad to use in a season which we laughingly call “summer”!
However the bed itself was comfortable and I had a good night’s sleep. Thank God for small mercies.
The following morning I had breakfast in that delightful, old-fashioned breakfast room and with the sun shining in the window at least it looked like a summer’s day from the inside. The meal was excellent with the Irish fry cooked to perfection. With some home-made brown bread and a very good coffee I was set up for the day.
However in spite of the good food in this hotel I shall not be returning any time soon.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

amazing sticky toffee pudding .... best ever.. views from the restaurant add to the ambience together with great selection of music... great selection on the menu and all at reasonable prices.... friendly staff ... beautiful location

Helpful?
Thank TJFarinha
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I Planned a romantic trip for 2 as a treat for my partner, to The Haven, and was not disappointed! It was our first time to stay there, and we will definelty be going back.
I had asked for a room with a sea view and asked for a vase of tulips to be placed in it. The room we got had a magnificent sea view, and the tulips were everywhere! In the room, the restaurant and even the hotel toilets!

The Kelly family and their team know how to run a hotel, make their guests feel welcome and keep them content with fabulous food and an excellent wine list. In the hotel bar you will find Jason Kelly and his team on-hand to serve you in lovely surroundings. The bar is a friendly place where staff, guests and locals all chat and mingle together, We had 2 great nights, made new friends and shared a dance or two across the bar floor!

Janine Kelly will greet you first thing in the morning with a breakfast,fit for a lord, served in the morning room, drenched with sunlight through magnificent windows.Fab room to start your day in!!

We would recommend this hotel to families and couples alike as it has a real good feel factor about it and you feel right at home in their house. To Janine, Jason and Gary, keep her stocked with Bombay Gin, thank you for a lovely weekend and we will be back soon!

All the best for the 2013 season from Nichola & Neil,
Dublin.

Room Tip: Choose the 2nd floor, front of house if you want magnificent sea views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We were blessed with beautiful spring sunshine which meant the views across the Celtic Sea were particularly beautiful. Dunmore East is a treat of an escape and the friendliness of the Kelly family who own the Haven would bring me back. Waking up to the sight of the sea was fabulous but the rooms were pretty basic. The dinners however were far from basic. The fresh pan fried fish would take some beating. Locals and visitors packed the bar - we enjoyed Guinness and a good Rioja. Really relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bevcarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saundersfoot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Arrived at 8-30 pm from the Rosslare ferry via Passage East - great journey and a friendly welcome on a cold Sunday night. Room lovely and warm and ideal for a one night stay. Ordered a chowder and Beamish and was not disappointed! Locals in bar friendly but I needed a good sleep for an early start to drive to Kinsale. Good rest and awoke to a sunny day and a lovely view. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty and set me up for the day. Wished I could have stayed longer, but had work to do. Really enjoyed the brief stay and the warm welcome. Good value for money, great food and beautiful views. Grateful thanx to Janine and family team.

Room Tip: Good view from my room over coast, upstairs would be even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarletontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilkenny
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We (family 2 adults 3 children) have just returned from a fantastic stay at The Haven hotel Dunmore East.Our children were so excited booking into the Haven , they popped out of the car and their faces filled with wonder as they ran up the hill through the playground. Meanwhile we were warmly welcomed back by the Kelly family and shown to our cosy spotless rooms. It was truly great to be back and farmilarise ourselves with the lovely bar and enjoy the great food in the restaurant . The next morning was the icing on the cake breakfast sea views and freshly prepared great food cooked to order nothing seems to much to ask for 100% to all at the haven
for true hospitality value food and customer service. Looking forward to a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosscats5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunmore East
0.3 mi away
The Three Sisters Inn
The Three Sisters Inn
#2 of 3 in Dunmore East
71 reviews
7.4 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
7.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,294 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
658 reviews
8.6 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Hotel

Property: The Haven Hotel
Address: Dock Road | Nymphhall, Dunmore East, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dunmore East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunmore East
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Hotel is a truly unique venue and we are dedicated to making your time with us special. Celebrating its reopening in 2016 The Haven has been carefully renovated and refurbished but still retains its quirky charm. Owned and managed by the Kelly family for over 50 years, the hotel is set in stunning surroundings in the heart of the beautiful fishing village of Dunmore East, in the Sunny South East we like to think we have something for everyone. We pride ourselves on serving delicious home cooked food and celebrate Irish produce and use products from recognised Quality Assurance Schemes, specialising in Roast Rib of Prime Irish Beef and locally caught seafood. Food is served all day. As a must for music lovers we have live music in the bar most weekends and on the new outdoor stage on Sundays in the summer months. Children are especially welcome and we host Family Fun Sundays throughout the summer with live music, bouncy castles, ice cream and BBQs. As The Haven started life as a private home all our bedrooms are different sizes to accommodate families and couples alike. They have recently been completely renovated and refurbished, and each boasts comfy beds with crisp white sheets, a flat screen multi-channel television, hairdryer, tea/coffee hospitality tray and free WIFI. We have 12 bedrooms in the main house - many with stunning sea views. We have a further six bedrooms in the Garden Rooms. One of our bedrooms on the ground floor is wheelchair accessible. Our bridal suite comes complete with four poster bed. We look forward to meeting you at The Haven Hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing