We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old world charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haven Hotel Dunmore East

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunmore East
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haven Hotel Dunmore East
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunmore East
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The first time we called to The Haven hotel we were surprised by the charm of the building.A little too much in the way of different items of furniture and various other items acquired over the years and put on display to enhance the feel of this old world ,yet charm filled hotel in Dunmore east Couny Waterford.I must stress we did not book in for accommodation, our goal was to have coffee as we were just on a day out.
We had coffee and it was served at the front of the hotel in the gardens and the vista across the harbour and coast is fantastic.The front gardens could do with a make over and a little more consideration to plants and planting would greatly enhance the building.I feel from my observations today, my second visit, for coffee, alas the treats were scarce,that much in the way of opportunity for revenue is missed.There was a relatively small number of people availing of the hotels services.Considering that there was a steady stream of people passing by the front gates very few of them entered to sample what was on offer by way of beverages, food etc.I would suggest to those in charge to concentrate on attracting families with children into the grounds which are visible from the adjacent road, and one simple way to do that would be to set up a coffee stand with seating area (good seating) and pastries, and include an ice cream stand with real ice cream, and have this area mid way between the hotel facade and the boundary railings. Select one member of the friendly staff to organise a treasure hunt for the younger children within a visibly confined area .A little occasional music and the scene is magical .I would also suggest that the all weather seating provided presently be changed to seating with more comfortable chairs.I am in my fifties and fit and strong but I noticed some older people struggling with the lack of back support the tables with fixed seating offered. These are just some of my observations .I like the Haven and I like Dunmore east having been there many times down through the years.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heavenDunmoreEast, Manager at Haven Hotel Dunmore East, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hi Gerard, thank you for your recent review on your visit to The Haven and for your suggestions. Our hotel is family run and family orientated and we, on an everyday basis have many families come to dine and stay in our company. We have our own ice cream bike which we use on numerous summer days for those who wish to avail. We also have a games room and play area for the families who come to the hotel. We have live music at least three times a week which is proving very popular. When we do not have live music, we have a speaker system covering the lawn to set an atmosphere. Our outdoor seating consists of ten rounded benches with a conjoined table and also 100 backed chairs for those who need extra support. We would also be happy to supply extra cushions if needed by any of our customers! We hope you will visit us again at The Haven in the future! Kind regards, Paul Kelly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    30
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
58
37
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alanta
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The finest building in the village from the outside but inside is in need of refreshing badly. The bar area is quite attractive and pleasant for a drink. The rest of the premises is full of clutter though some rooms have exceptional views. Food wise it doesn't do it for me and the service is erratic to say the least. For the money there are numerous finer dining experiences in the village.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperFalcons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heavenDunmoreEast, Manager at Haven Hotel Dunmore East, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi there, thank you for your recent review. We, at The Haven Hotel are constantly improving both the interior and exterior of our building but keeping the old style charm alive is also important to us. Our staff strive to maintain a high standard of service at all times. We are sorry it didn't meet your standards. Kind regards, Paul Kelly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband David and I were married at the Haven in September and it could not have been a better weekend! We cannot praise the staff at the Haven enough for their amazing hard work in making our wedding weekend the tremendous success it was. Right from the beginning they listened to all our needs and worries and made sure the whole thing was better than we could have ever imagined. The setting is beyond beautiful with the décor and views of the sea. Our ceremony took place in a beautiful blue room with a bay window looking out onto the sea. We didn't have to leave our guests to get the most fantastic wedding pictures. The dining room looked fantastic and was brilliant for our disco afterwards. Best of all our guests could move between rooms and the beautiful outdoor setting. The great thing about the Haven is that it is small enough to have a very intimate wedding but with a wonderful feeling of space. We had a lot of small children and babies to the wedding and the facilities are ideal and the staff were more than welcoming and accommodating with them. The food was absolutely delicious and there was more than enough to satisfy our guests both on the day and at our buffet the following day! The recommendations for the DJ and photographer were perfect and we were thrilled with the results of both! Our families stayed in the rooms and lodges and were more than comfortable. We had family and friends over from Portugal, the UK and beyond, and they were all charmed with the Haven and Dunmore East and have vowed to return, as will we, again and again. Thank you to Sharon, Janine and Paul for pulling out all the stops to give us the most amazing wedding we could have asked for! from Eva and David XXX

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heavenDunmoreEast, Manager at Haven Hotel Dunmore East, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi Eva & David! Thank you for your review on your stay at The Haven! What a wonderful wedding it was in September. We are glad we could make your special day as perfect as possible! I will pass on your kind comments to the family and staff! Kind regards, Paul Kelly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and my husband used to go to the haven when the children were small but this time we were without them . We had booked well in advance and got room 2 which has the very comfortable 4 poster bed and the brilliant sea view! As soon as we arrived I knew we would love it as it was so relaxed and the outside is as nice as the inside with lots of trees and seating areas . Breakfast was fine , nothing special but the service is with a smile and the staff are lovely . My only regret was leaving this wonderful place and of course the stunning dunmore east .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vercingeterix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heavenDunmoreEast, Manager at Haven Hotel Dunmore East, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi, thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at The Haven. We are delighted your enjoyed your time with us and that everything was up to your standards! We look forward to seeing you again soon in Dunmore East! Kind regards, Paul Kelly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I returned to the haven after an absence of over 10 years and it certainly didnt dissappoint.my wife an I returned minus our 2 children as they are now grown up an go on there on hols.what a place this is brilliant food and the staff are 1st class.nothing is too much trouble with sharon always at hand to solve any probs, jason manning a well stocked bar an paul running things from the food kitchen, a truly run family buisness.it was also great to meet mrs kelly and the rest of the family.yes the haven is truly a haven for a break.the entertainment was great on our visit an as it tied in with the world cup final, we were treated to a samba night which was fantastic.a must visit if your in sunny dunmore east.will we return.cant wait.davy an irene pogue.belfast.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are a sight to behold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heavenDunmoreEast, Manager at Haven Hotel Dunmore East, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi Davy & Irene! Thank you for your recent review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the family and our staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards, Paul Kelly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

From the moment we stepped inside the door we knew this would be special, that we would be looked after, that we were welcome. The building is full of character; the atmosphere is cosy and relaxed. The young man at reception was efficient, but in a warm, good-humoured way. Our room was ready early and had a stunning view across to Hook Head over in Co. wexford. It was comfortable and old fashioned yet had everything we needed. As part of a wedding group we could not have asked for more. Breakfast was warm and wonderful, children were welcome and looked after in every way. We stayed two nights and our only regret was that we had to leave. The staff ...well you could not ask for better. They were attentive and exceptionally good fun. I can't speak highly enough of The Haven. It is, of course located in the centre of the wonderful fishing village, a major attraction in itselt with magical walks, beach, harbour, golf course and scenery. there is a great playground just across the road from the hotel and a park and an incredible water sports centre and ....it just goes on. You'll hate leaving the Haven and Dunmore East.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are simply wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nomadCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heavenDunmoreEast, Manager at Haven Hotel Dunmore East, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi, thank you for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us at The Haven! We love to hear that our guests feel welcome and appreciated whilst with us. We will pass on all your lovely compliments to our staff! We hope to see you again soon. Kinds regards, Paul Kelly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Family run hotel with the friendliest staff you see seldom these days. Smiles from beginning to end. Nothing is too much. Irelands hospitality at its best. Home from home. The owners and staff really care, and it shows. The food is delicious, fresh and if you need something thats not on the menu ...... they will do their best to get it for you. The rooms are full of fantastic character which lends itself to the beautiful views and timeless aura of the hotel. The stress rolls off you once you enter this gem. This is my new holiday break destination for sure.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heavenDunmoreEast, Manager at Haven Hotel Dunmore East, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi Michelle, thank you for your very positive review on your recent visit to the Haven! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to make your stay as carefree and easygoing as we can and we are glad that we fulfilled our aim. Hope to see you very soon again at The Haven! Kinds regards, Paul Kelly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunmore East
7.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
7.4 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
6.5 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tramore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
6.6 mi away
O'Shea's Hotel
O'Shea's Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tramore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
8.6 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Hotel Dunmore East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Hotel Dunmore East

Property: Haven Hotel Dunmore East
Address: The Haven Hotel Dock Road | Waterford, Dunmore East, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dunmore East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunmore East
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Hotel is a truly unique venue and we are dedicated to making your time with us special. Celebrating its reopening in 2016 The Haven has been carefully renovated and refurbished but still retains its quirky charm. Owned and managed by the Kelly family for over 50 years, the hotel is set in stunning surroundings in the heart of the beautiful fishing village of Dunmore East, in the Sunny South East we like to think we have something for everyone. We pride ourselves on serving delicious home cooked food and celebrate Irish produce and use products from recognised Quality Assurance Schemes, specialising in Roast Rib of Prime Irish Beef and locally caught seafood. Food is served all day. As a must for music lovers we have live music in the bar most weekends and on the new outdoor stage on Sundays in the summer months. Children are especially welcome and we host Family Fun Sundays throughout the summer with live music, bouncy castles, ice cream and BBQs. As The Haven started life as a private home all our bedrooms are different sizes to accommodate families and couples alike. They have recently been completely renovated and refurbished, and each boasts comfy beds with crisp white sheets, a flat screen multi-channel television, hairdryer, tea/coffee hospitality tray and free WIFI. We have 12 bedrooms in the main house - many with stunning sea views. We have a further six bedrooms in the Garden Rooms. One of our bedrooms on the ground floor is wheelchair accessible. Our bridal suite comes complete with four poster bed. We look forward to meeting you at The Haven Hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing