We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fawlty Towers but the food is good !”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Haven Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunmore East
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Haven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunmore East
Certificate of Excellence
County Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers but the food is good !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

My family & i are regulars at the Haven Hotel during the summer season,we don't stay there as we live only a short distance away but we do drop in for a drink or for food.
There is a lovely relaxed atmosphere & the surroundings are ideal if you have kids,a huge lawn to the front & a kids playground to keep them entertained !
The menu is extensive, reasonably priced & the food is really well presented ! The staff are friendly & efficient.
The Carvery on Sundays is very popular but i think a little overpriced,we prefer to dine there after 6pm when the full menu is on & its a little less busy.
This Hotel has its regular visitors who pop in year in,year out & thats always a good sign.
If you are in Dunmore East,i'd say drop in to the Haven even if its only for a drink,families are always made very welcome & the kids won't be long about making new friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryCorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    31
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
60
38
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

A family birthday celebration turned out to be a wonderful experience in the grand old Lady called The Haven.
We booked early on in the season and manager Janine replied to our every request by return of email, with help and advice to make things go with a flow! Although the rooms in the hotel were all different shapes and sizes, - originally a private summer house – with an annex of two 3 bedroom units, she took time to make sure best fit for all our extended family requirements. The service was exceptional, nothing left to chance and every detail catered for.
The location great with beautiful views of the sea from front of house rooms and the lawned garden that was perfect for the children to play on. All the staff very helpful, serving great food, great atmosphere, definitely go back again, home from home.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestwaytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

An extended family of 45 members ranging from infants to 90 years young have just spent a magical five days at the Haven. This trip included a party for approx 100 people catered by the very efficient and etremely helpful staff, lead by Janine who is one of the best hotel managers we have come across. There was nothing she didn't know or do to help make the experience one to remember. Yes, we made a lot of noise and yes, the children had the run of the place but the house absorbed the lot of us without any trouble. If you are planning a get together in Ireland, take over the hotel and have one of the best times of your life - especially if the weather is good!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marybridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2009

What a place

A group of us stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights during July 2008.
To say we have a great time is putting it mildly

From the moment we entered the hotel on a very wet Friday Afternoon we were greated with nothing but hospitality and friendlyness.

Our check-in was easy with none of the usual hotel problems - while our bags where put to our rooms we enjoyed complimentary coffees in the lobby which is the most welcoming I have ever encountered. All through our stay we were amazed as to how friendly and efficient all members of staff were whether it be at breakfast , dinner or enjoying a few drinks in the bar.

As a family run hotel I would recommend this location to all - we will definately be returning this year.

  • Liked — The views , the frienliness and the overall apperance of hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Honeymooner82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2008

I stayed in Dunmore East last year with my husband and kids. We came upon the Haven during the day and we decided it would definitely be a good place to drop in at night. I have to say some of the posher bars were a bit snotty i.e. The Strand about kids, but The Haven was definitely set up for kids. Our children made friends in the Games Room the first night and after that, no matter where we ventured, we had to end up at the Haven. The staff ignored us, the place was rudimentary but they had a playground to the front of the hotel, games room in the hotel and sold kid friendly snacks like kit kats etc. at the bar. I hate stuffy bars so every night, myself, hubbie and a few other people we met sat in the foyer on comfy chairs with doors open to the garden. I wouldn't actually stay in the hotel, but would advise anyone going to Dunmore East to stay in good quality self catering accommodation and drop into the Haven at night. Yes, it is a bit like Fawlty Towers but like Fawlty Towers, a great laugh!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank SUSANJDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patmos
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2007

The Haven hotel in Dunmore East (known as Fawlty Towers!) is a 19th century former summer house. It can boast a friendly service staff and a good restaurant with sea views from their grounds. However, if you are planning a weekend trip to this picturesque village book somewhere else- unless sleeping is not a priority for you. Confused on whether they are running a hotel or a night club the bar served an already intoxicated crowd well after 3:00 am forcing those in the above rooms to a sleepless night. The receptionist’s retort was “You should expect the noise in August”. No, for 140 euros a night you expect to be able to sleep. And by the way, if you don’t know those in your neighbouring room at the end of your stay you will know them intimately as the walls are paper thin. Go to the Haven for a good quality meal at a reasonable price, but my suggestion… sleep elsewhere!

Helpful?
5 Thank Patmos31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunmore East
0.3 mi away
The Three Sisters Inn
The Three Sisters Inn
#2 of 3 in Dunmore East
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
7.4 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
7.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
6.5 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tramore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Hotel

Property: The Haven Hotel
Address: Dock Road | Nymphhall, Dunmore East, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dunmore East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunmore East
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Hotel is a truly unique venue and we are dedicated to making your time with us special. Celebrating its reopening in 2016 The Haven has been carefully renovated and refurbished but still retains its quirky charm. Owned and managed by the Kelly family for over 50 years, the hotel is set in stunning surroundings in the heart of the beautiful fishing village of Dunmore East, in the Sunny South East we like to think we have something for everyone. We pride ourselves on serving delicious home cooked food and celebrate Irish produce and use products from recognised Quality Assurance Schemes, specialising in Roast Rib of Prime Irish Beef and locally caught seafood. Food is served all day. As a must for music lovers we have live music in the bar most weekends and on the new outdoor stage on Sundays in the summer months. Children are especially welcome and we host Family Fun Sundays throughout the summer with live music, bouncy castles, ice cream and BBQs. As The Haven started life as a private home all our bedrooms are different sizes to accommodate families and couples alike. They have recently been completely renovated and refurbished, and each boasts comfy beds with crisp white sheets, a flat screen multi-channel television, hairdryer, tea/coffee hospitality tray and free WIFI. We have 12 bedrooms in the main house - many with stunning sea views. We have a further six bedrooms in the Garden Rooms. One of our bedrooms on the ground floor is wheelchair accessible. Our bridal suite comes complete with four poster bed. We look forward to meeting you at The Haven Hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing