We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place to be lovely”

The Kings Arms Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barr
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kings Arms Hotel
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Excellent food friendly owners you want to eat there every day !!! GREAT!!!!The atmosphere is homely we send a lot off guest over from Dailly Brunston Castle!! also they love itt It is a real lovely scotich pub and restaurant and the way to drive to Barr is outstanding!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Joann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for The Kings Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

We saw the pub advertised in our lodgings and gave it a go one evening, and was so glad we did, the food was excellent and the pub had a lovely atmosphere, we even went back for lunch when walking the local trails and dinner, shame we didnt find it sooner or we would have gone alot more.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lainey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We travelled here from Girvan where we were visiting family, and were all absolutely stunned by the fantastic level of service we received. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the pub had a fantastic ambience, and the food was outstanding. The whole party (ranging from fussy teenage boy to even fussier 76 year old parents!) found it very difficult to choose from the diverse range of food, and every one of us felt we had made the best choice of dishes at the end of the meal. The final surprise came with the bill, which for a family of 5 was more than reasonable - in fact we had to check it was not in error! We cannot wait to return and cannot recommend a special trip to this lovely family - friendly restaurant highly enough.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Pippa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This is a hidden jewel in a beautful location- anyone going to the Girvan Folk Festival should take a detour! The owners are very gracious and couldn't be more helpful. We brought musicians and the owner rounded up some great locals to meet us. The atmosphere in the place is really homely- fo0od and rooms great. You are situated one mile from some really beautiful walks.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FOB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

A great little hotel, in a gorgeous village. Lovely food, good beer and a very friendly place to stay. Thank-you to Paula, Kenny & co for the warm welcome. Really enjoyed the weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BreigeQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This is 2nd time stayed here, its only got 3 rooms but the place is nice and friendly, good food and beer, new owners are great. Worth a stay in a nice little village not far from girvan

Room Tip: worth a stay
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard2R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

I travel around alot, at home and abroad, and I can honestly say this hotel is a gem of a find.
The hotel is in a lovely village and the hotel itself has beautifully decorated modern rooms and ensuites. The restaurant and lounge are really well decorated to give a modern and old world feeling combined and the food is really lovely, local fresh produce too and great to have dinner next to the oopen fire.

Would recommend to all. any questions please pm me.

Ps free wireless

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grinnaslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAMMYTAMS, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2009

Thank you for this great review. Im pleased that you enjoyed the stay and our hospitality. We hope you visit us again soon.

Slainte Heather & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 1 Stinchar Road, Barr KA26 9TW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Barr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Barr
Price Range: £33 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family run hotel situated in the amazing village of Barr nestling in the Stinchar Valley. We pride ourselves in using only local produce in our hotel. We have 3 bedrooms all en-suite and we are pet friendly. Barr is known as the best-kept secret in South Ayrshire and once it gets you in its spell you never forget it. Amazing starting point for any outdoor sports, with great trails on the doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Barr, Ayrshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing