We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
41
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
41
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2015

We stayed way back at the end of July on a tour of South Ayrshire, one of the lovelier and less well traveled parts of Scotland in high summer and all the better for it. And Alton Albany lived up to its surrounds, and was one of the favourites of our three week tour. A charmingly proportioned house with simply furnished and uncluttered rooms, there were flowers everywhere but again simple and unfussy. There is an excellent walk through two meadows along a peat-black stream to help unwind after the day's drive, and a charming conservation village to wander about. Breakfast was excellent and Alasdair and Andrea very welcoming. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2015
1  Thank badddriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonAlbany, Owner at Alton Albany Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

Thank you so much for your very kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and to be able to look after you. I really hope we might see you here again at some time in the future. Best regards, Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2015

We were only there for one night on our journey home but I could have spent a week in this lovely place. It was very peaceful and surrounded by glorious countryside.
We were welcomed by Alisdair who lit the fire and made us tea and produced scones and jam and chocolate cake - really welcome after a long drive.
Our room was very comfortable, big, light and airy.
The house was amazing, filled with books and Andrea's wonderful photographs - some of which were for sale.
The breakfast was excellent but the welcome and service offered by our hosts made this a special experience.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Charming host, excellent room, great location for walking, cycling, relaxing.
Fantastic breakfast.
Quaint Village, fabulous scenery, lots of wild life.
Weekend away as a birthday treat, thoroughly enjoyed.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele_G186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonAlbany, Owner at Alton Albany Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2015

Thank so much Michele and James. It was a pleasure to meet you both at the weekend. Hope to see you back this way again. Best wishes, Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2014

Tucked away in quiet peacefulness is the beautiful Alton Abbey Farm, complete with fields and a river. It is an elegant, beautifully furnished and very cozy and comfortable delight. Andrea and Alasdair are the warmest, most welcoming hosts one could wish for and we would most definitely like to return. The breakfast is very good and Alasdair's Scottish oats were a special treat.

The charming village of Barr is a short walk and the Kings Arms Hotel has delicious food. As well, there are many interesting places to visit for day trips. After a day of sightseeing, there is a charming lounge with TV and comfortable furniture and a very warm welcome.

Room tip: Each one is a delight.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2014

Stayed for a night at the end of summer and throughly enjoyed ourselves. The setting is beautiful and the accommodation is top quality. The breakfast was possibly the best we have had. Could not fault the place and will definitely be back (sooner rather than later!).

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews