We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value..”

Bluebell Camping Barn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crosby on Eden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bluebell Camping Barn
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

If like me your experience of camping barns has been dank, dirty and lacking in privacy you will be knocked out by Bluebell Camping Barn. Accommodation, furniture and facilities all excellent much more like staying in a holiday cottage. Excellent DIY breakfast kept three hungry walkers going until lunchtime. The only possible improvement we can think of would be drying facilities because we're told the sun doesn't always shine in Cumbria??

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Great value for money. Lovely owners. Location is right on the trail for the Hadrian's Wall walk. No expense spared when they converted this barn. Looks a bit dodgy from outside but when you go in its lovely. Good self catering facilities too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie_D1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were cycling coast to coast and were looking for somewhere just outside Carlisle. This place was perfect! there was only our party staying so it felt like a self catering house that we were in.
The place was, clean with excellent facilities...tv's, fridge, microwave and oven. Not long after we arrived, we found ourselves discussing when we could come again, invite our friends and rent the while place! The pub down the road is also worth a mention for their great selection of meals, ales...and friendly banter. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PipLongsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed in this 18th century camping barn behind an old English home that was appointed more like a really nice hostel than a camping barn. It had a modern kitchen and good shared bathroom. The owner was friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed here to break a long journey north. The owners were welcoming, the place clean, and the facilities very good - in fact as good as a nice B&B only with sleeping bags and without breakfast! (flat screen telly, electric heating, tea and coffee making facilities, kitchen with microwave, fridge etc.) The only thing is that downstairs is a little dark, but it's not as if you're going to be staying in anyway. As it's only ten minutes or so off the M6 it's also a really convenient stop-over, much cheaper than services accommodation, and dog friendly. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

In walking the Hadrian's Wall FP I looked to find accommodation as close to the path as possible. The Bluebell CB certainly met that criteria and also proved to be a fairly luxurious facility which at only £18 pp B&B seemed like a bargain. An attractive, contemporary conversion providing two well equipped kitchens, dining room, two shower rooms and three bedrooms of varying sizes. Good welcome from the owner and everything we had booked was provided even though she was packing to take her family away the following morning. The nearby village pub provided an excellent evening meal.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter1NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Booked this en route to the North East as a stop over. So glad I did, was amazing and, although I was the sole occupant, the heating has been put on at least an hour previous just for me :-)

Superbly clean, with all the facilities you could possibly want it was a fabulous stop over and I have recommended it to many since. I hope to re-use it myself later this year but this time with 15 of my friends. If you pass up the chance to stay here then perhaps you were not one of the "chosen" lol - enjoy x

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vantagepoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bluebell Camping Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebell Camping Barn

Property: Bluebell Camping Barn
Address: Crosby House, Crosby on Eden, Carlisle, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Crosby on Eden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Crosby on Eden
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Bluebell Camping Barn Crosby On Eden, Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing