We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ginney Country Guest House & Holiday Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Catterlen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Set close to the motorway yet far enough away to be peaceful I stayed at the Ginney on a recent business trip. The barn conversion has been done to very high standards and is surrounded by lovely views. Linda is very welcoming and defiantly has a great business to be proud of. The rooms have plenty of space and are exactly what I required when on business in the local area. Wi-fi is provided free of charge and available in rooms. The breakfast menu is very good and the quality and quantity was perfect. As the Ginney does not provide evening meals Linda advised on the nearest eateries and offered to book a table at the one we chose. The Guinney is perfect for all occasions from a 1 night business trip to a week exploring the local surroundings. I look forward to staying again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for availability if you like a bath. Some rooms only have a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel-Matt-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed over one night as we were driving down from Scotland with the family and wished we had booked extra nights there, very friendly and relaxing atmosphere,my daughters loved it, brilliant clean rooms nothing like waking up to such beautiful surroundings and a lovely cooked breakfast. We will definitely be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I decided to get away for the weekend to celebrate our 1st anniversary. We wanted a reasonably priced quiet get-away where we could enjoy some peace and quiet from our busy lifestyle.

It's rare to experience excellent hospitality these days and I think it's a dying skill. But Linda and Phil went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable so that we felt right at home. The Ginney meet all our requirements and exceeded our expectations.

The guesthouse is just off the M6 and you would think it would be noisy but it was actually very quiet and peaceful - it felt like we were right in the middle of the countryside!

The bedroom was spacious, clean and comfortable. We'd ordered a bottle of champagne and it was in the room chilled and waiting for us!

The breakfast was absolutely delicious, especially the homemade muesli which I'll be attempting to make myself this weekend!

We will definitely be going back to the Ginney and hopefully we'll have a wee longer to enjoy the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mariesplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for one night travelling to Glasgow. Excellent location and accommodation and hosts very welcoming. Close to motorway but surprisingly very quiet. We will definitely return and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Date of Stay 21st June 2014
We booked this guest house as a stop over after completeing the National 3 peaks challenge. The rooms are furnised to a very high standard. The welcome and service from the owners was above and beyond an example of this was that on the Sunday morning we turned up for breakfast an hour early (my mix up) but the owners treated it as no problem and provided food for 4 freshly cooked with no fuss and I have to say the breakfast is seriously good.
Although in the countryside it is close enough to Penrith to get a taxi. Also the owners recommended the local pub to us (The Stoneybeck) which was also a great place to eat.
I would stay again in a heart beat and would also recommend to anyone looking for accomodation in the Penrith area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin8174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

If this is not the best guest house in the country, then I want to see the best! With bedrooms as luxuriously appointed and spotlessly clean as any 5 star hotel I have stayed in, a breakfast to satisfy even the most demanding and discerning appetite, a venue which is quiet and picturesque and owners who go out of their way to make you feel welcome, there is no way any visitor could fail to be impressed. I have now stayed here on several occasions, both for business visits in the area and for short vacations with my wife, and the standards remain exceptional. Add to all of that, the magnificent Lake District scenery right on the doorstep and the M6 motorway no more than a few hundred yards away for easy accessibility from pretty much anywhere. Think I am exagerating? Try it and see - I promise you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are superb - I have stayed in all of them and I honestly have no preference because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed on the 21st June. The location was very good being just a short drive from the motorway; although it felt like we were deep in the countryside. The quality and cleanliness of the rooms was excellent; and this was topped by the warm welcome of the owners followed by a superb breakfast. Would whole heartedly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Ginney Country Guest House & Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ginney Country Guest House & Holiday Cottages

Address: | Low Dyke, Catterlen, Penrith CA11 0BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Catterlen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Catterlen
Price Range: £76 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ginney Country Guest House & Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ginney, a 4 Star Country Guest House & Holiday Cottages, is converted from a traditional Lakeland Bank Barn, Gincase and Byre built in the 1700s from local stone, with open oak beams & trusses. Set in a tranquil village with rural views to Penrith & medieval Hutton in the Forest, yet only minutes away from Ullswater, Pooley Bridge, Keswick, Carlisle, Hadrians Wall and the Eden Valley. The Ginney, situated just off J41, M6, is the perfect location for short breaks and holidays whether cycling the C2C, walking or golfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Ginney Country Guest House & Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ginney Country Guest House & Holiday Cottages Catterlen, Penrith, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing