We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a nice,quiet place.Absolutely relax!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais Palazzo Viviani
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montegridolfo
Certificate of Excellence
Italy
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It's a nice,quiet place.Absolutely relax!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

I've been there just for 3 nights but it was sufficient...nothing to do,a small swimming pool,quiet place but boring enough...There is nothing like entertainments,animation or some activity!There are two good restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuliana Koleva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    169
    65
    37
    26
See reviews for
64
310
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The hotel is located in a medieval Montegridolfo castle. We stayed inside the mansion where reception is located. The room was large with beautiful views and compfertable amenities. Breakfast was served in a building just behind the main building and was delicious. The grounds are enjoyable for a walk and the view around every corner was breathtaking. Service was wonderful! We arrived back late one evening with wine and cheese from a local market and asked reception for place settings in our room which was quickly delivered! Couldent have been happier.

Room Tip: The main building has free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Junkie9366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This "hotel" was formerly a medieval, moated fortified hill top town set in absolutely beautiful countryside. We were told that it was bought, in a dilapidated condition, by an American woman who wanted to develop it into a time share concept hotel village. A number of owners make their properties available for holiday rental. The main building is a really beautiful mansion where the communal lounges and bar are situated along with "reception". The town is a warren of narrow streets with houses and apartments over shops and restaurants. We had an apartment over the top of one of the restaurants, which had a sitting/dining room with a mezzanine bedroom above (which we didn't use), a small kitchen area, small shower room and a large double bedroom. It was clean but the furniture and furnishings were worn round the edges and cheap quality.
However, the views were amazing from the sitting room, and it was nice and quiet. Cars are allowed in just to unload luggage, otherwise you have to park outside the town walls, but this was quite easy in November.
The breakfast was served in a building approached via the main building and was extremely good and varied.
On a couple of evenings we ate in the meat restaurant.......the food was delicious.
As it was November, the shops and most of the other restaurants were closed, which was a bit disappointing. Wifi was available only in the main building.
We enjoyed staying here largely because if it's location.

Room Tip: Rooms in the mansion are more luxurious, but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DorsetNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The hotel is located in the medieval Montegridolfo castle. We had an apartment not in the main building itself, but just a 3-minute walk away from the reception, above one of the osterias. It had a small kitchen, a living room, a big bedroom for two, a single bedroom, a mezzanine with another bed and a sofa and a bathroom. On the whole, it was airy and spacious, with beautiful views across the valley. The only drawback was that on some days it got a bit noisy at night because of the restaurant. As for the hotel itself, the service was great, the breakfast copious with lots of different kind of pastries, but also charcuterie, cheese, eggs and fresh fruit. I would definitely recommend the place, but just warn about the proximity of the restaurants (there are several on the premises) and the fact that WiFi works only in the main building.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieJanuary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Wow! Where to start! This is the most incredible place we have ever stayed, ever. No it's not completely perfect if you're wanting a place with lots to do or a heavy night-life, no character, a butler service and everything working efficiently but it is however absolutely completely perfect, if you're charmed by the idiosyncrasies of life (such as a lack of food if you turn up too late (whoops!), slightly crumbing buildings and numerous cats!) On top of the incredible surroundings, the staff at Montegridolfo are incredibly kind, genuinely going out of their way to help at all turns, and always available for advice as to how to spend your time. We also ate at the hotel for the majority of our stay; there are two restaurants in the main area, one meat and one fish. The food from both was absolutely stunning and it's difficult to mark one above the other; we spent a lovely evening with the locals at the fish restaurant and ate gloriously fresh fish into the wee hours, but the view in the evening from the meat restaurant is absolutely to die for and an absolute must! Finally, it's also worth touching on breakfast, which we managed to make every morning (it's civilized and doesn't stop till 11am) and the extraordinary spread which greeted us on the first morning, meant we actually got there earlier and earlier each morning!

Room Tip: We stayed there in spacious and cool room 103 - which is separate to the main castle area but we fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
venice
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

First I need to say i havent been there but I was really looking forward to go. After buying a coupon to staying for a couple of nights, and trying to book 4 days before the ending date, I was told something on the line: that it wasnt their fault that I have taken 6 months to pursue my coupon so there were no availability in the dates I could go...fair enought the answer, just the tone and language extremely rude and inadecuate.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veniceitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcesine, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The medieval settings of this hotel ( castle) are just magical. It is situated in the hamlet of Montegridolfo with nice restaurants around. We were a family of 4 so were given the apartment which is a short walk away - this is the only negative point of the stay.The sofa bed provided for the children was very narrow and uncomfortable but being children they did not mind. However the apartment was for 4 adults - that would have been a bit of a problem. Breakfast was perfect with lots of choice including fresh local cheeses and home made pies. The walk around the hamlet is so peaceful. We were there on Good Friday and could also take part in a pageant organised on the day. We really wish to go back.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the castle not in an apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montegridolfo
3.1 mi away
Relais Il Monticello
Relais Il Monticello
#1 of 2 in Montefiore Conca
66 reviews
4.6 mi away
Urbino Resort - Tenuta Santi Giacomo e Filippo
15.8 mi away
Oste del Castello Wellness & Bike
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ca' Virginia Country House Wellness
Ca' Virginia Country House Welln...
#1 of 1 in Montecalvo in Foglia
234 reviews
7.9 mi away
La Meridiana Hotel
La Meridiana Hotel
#3 of 14 in Urbino
591 reviews
8.5 mi away
Mamiani Hotel Urbino
Mamiani Hotel Urbino
#2 of 14 in Urbino
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Palazzo Viviani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Palazzo Viviani

Property: Relais Palazzo Viviani
Address: Via Roma 38, 47837, Montegridolfo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Rimini > Montegridolfo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montegridolfo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Palazzo Viviani 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First built in the thirteenth century, and carefully restored in 1994, this fortified village inhabited to this day, is just 28 km from Rimini and may also be accessed by arriving flights from Ancona or Bologna, both around one hour journey time by car. Situated on the boundary between Emilia Romagna and Marche Regions, Relais Palazzo Viviani has maintained its authentic atmosphere. Within the walls of Castello di Montegridolfo, Palazzo Viviani has six individually styled rooms, all beautifully furnished with antiques. Eight spacious suites and deluxe rooms are inside the main building of Palazzo Viviani. In the gardens, there's Casa del Pittore with seven standard rooms. A few steps away, a new structure Borgo degli Ulivi, offer an additional 39 rooms. Osteria dell' Accademia within the village walls features traditional local dishes, which may be enjoyed whilst sitting on the terrace overlooking the valley with the view of the Adriatic Coast. Throughout the year the village organises events to promote the traditions and culture of the area. With its multiple types of tastefully decorated rooms, indoor and outdoor dining options, conference and meeting facilities, Relais Palazzo Viviani is an ideal venue for high end meetings and incentives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais Palazzo Viviani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Viviani - Castello Di Montegridolfo Hotel Montegridolfo
Relais Palazzo Viviani Montegridolfo, Italy - Province Of Rimini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing