We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive staff, great bed, but really awkward bathroom”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of NH Orio al Serio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Orio al Serio
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orio Al Serio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Italy
Level Contributor
239 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Impressive staff, great bed, but really awkward bathroom”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The walk from the airport to the hotel is really not bad actually, a bit risky on the short sidewalk (only one person can walk going one way, while others have to step onto the road, who are coming from the other direction), but otherwise pretty straightforward. I had a lot of really heavy luggage, so the walk was longer and tougher being alone, but if you have minimal baggage with you, an average person can make the trek in about 10 minutes or less.

Upon arriving I was blown over with how friendly the receptionist was, very efficient, quick and helpful in answering all of my questions. I was able to book my shuttle bus to the airport for the next day there and then, and the cost was only 5 euro.

The hotel itself is very nice, and the location, as I said before is really ideal if you have an early morning departure or late night arrival.

My room was very nice and comfortable, and also very clean - but I was irritated with a few things that I found lacking in the room, not to mention the bathroom which I will get to in a moment.

The bed was heavenly - a nice big king size - very comfortable and an extra wool blanket at the foot of the bed. There was a nice desk in the room too, but everything was really awkward in terms of finding things. The mini bar was kept hidden in the cabinet; there were NO mirrors other than the one small face mirror in the bathroom; and the TV was really quite small.

The bathroom was the worst part of the room and left me cold, and is the main reason I'm not giving this hotel a perfect score on the review. I believe they must have given me a handicapped room - which I obviously didn't need, and for which I did not ask. There was no floor or door to the shower, so water went everywhere, even when I kept the faucet at a low level. There was a handicapped seat in the shower, which was unnecessary for someone who is not handicapped, and was more just in the way. The toilet flush was on the wall, and it took me a minute to find it. There was absolutely NO counter space in the bathroom to put anything, and in fact the soap dish kept falling on the floor because there just wasn't room on the sink for it. All in all the bathroom was really awkward and uncomfortable and I was really annoyed with it.

The mall is practically (though not technically) connected to the hotel, just thirty seconds from the parking garage of the shopping center - and you can find pretty much anything you're looking for inside there. Whether it be food, clothes or watches...it's a huge mall.

There was a restaurant, gym and sauna in the hotel, though I didn't partake of any of that. The check-out receptionist was also very friendly; and while I didn't have any of the breakfast the next day, what I found really convenient was that they had a small "buffet" with brioche and coffee for guests who had to check-out before their "breakfast" breakfast started.

The shuttle bus left on time, and was very convenient as I had an early morning flight.

All things considered I would recommend the hotel - but I would be wiser in the future to request a room that did not have a handicapped bathroom, and more space in the main room for my computer, or other things like that.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Euroerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    504
    140
    47
    17
See reviews for
137
293
102
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Julien-en-Genevois, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

NH makes satisfaction survey and promises 25% discount for next stay
THIS IS A LIE it only concerns bar and breakfast No one accept the voucher when you call the reservation line. They simply tell you the voucher is not accepted

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
3 Thank dbaltus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solingen, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel, because we had an early fly in the next morning.
The way from the airport (where also the shuttle busses from Milano are arriving) is like 10 minutes by food. Which can get long with a lot of luggage and 30 degree outside temperature.
The welcome at the hotel is hearty and check-in uncomplicated. The rooms are very nice and comfortable.
Even if there was a rock concert and the airport close to the hotel, it was very quiet in the room.
The breakfast was good. A lot of different things. But only toast and no good bread or something like that. But 5 or 6 different types of croissants.
The sauna and fitness room was nothing serious, but can be used and are clean.
This hotel is to be recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tropical85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Certainly the best place to stay if you have an early flight to catch at Orio al Serio. Confortable, excellent breakfast, free parking outside. Good value for the money. Sound proofing of windows could be improved.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Don't expect a great romantic hotel, which is near an airport and a big shopping centre, but it fine and functional, you get all you want and generally people are very helpful
Also if you arrive in the evening, the chef will wait and cook you a meal so overall i liked it

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preveza, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel NH Orio al Serio was a very good choice for our last holiday days.
Beside the shopping center and close to the airport was all what we needed to finish our trip pleasently.
The room was very clean, no noise ...at all.Perfectly decorated.Big bed.
The staff was very friendly.
The WI-FI was always working.
We had no problem with our early flight ...the bus was there for us for a little cost.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annapreveza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Situated close to the Caravaggio hotel just outside Bergamo. Rougly to min cab drive to Bergamo town it self for about 25€. Several great eateries in the very quaint, charming and romantic (?) old part of town. Helpful, polite and serviceminded hotel staff. Quiet, very large standard rooms with great amenities and aircon. Free wifi, but I recommend upgrading it for 9€ if you are dependent on it.

A surprisingly good continental breakfast by Italian standards and a decent bar that has a free snack bar in the evenings.

Fitness room and sauna (out of order at the time of visit)

Room Tip: Standard rooms are good by general western standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thecouchclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orio Al Serio
1.0 mi away
Winter Garden Hotel
Winter Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grassobbio
1,118 reviews
2.3 mi away
NH Bergamo
NH Bergamo
#3 of 34 in Bergamo
908 reviews
2.4 mi away
Airport Hotel Bergamo
Airport Hotel Bergamo
#1 of 1 in Bagnatica
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Starhotels Cristallo Palace
3.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Bergamo Aeroporto
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Piemontese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Orio al Serio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Orio al Serio

Property: NH Orio al Serio
Address: Via Al Portico 75, 24050 Orio Al Serio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Orio Al Serio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orio Al Serio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Orio al Serio 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For convenience and ease of travel in and around northern Italy, the four-star NH Orio Al Serio stands in a class by itself. The hotel is located a short walk via an underground passageway to Orio al Serio International Airport (also know as Milan Bergamo) and is within three minutes of more than 200 shops, bars and restaurants in the world-famous Orio Center shopping mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., NHHotels and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Orio al Serio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Orio Al Serio Hotel Orio Al Serio
Nh Hotels Orio Al Serio
NH Orio Al Serio Province Of Bergamo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing