We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!!”
Review of Tenuta La Bandita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tenuta La Bandita
Ranked #2 of 3 Sassetta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best!!”
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

There are only two words for this hotel:
SIMPLY AMAZING!!
Clean, calm, relaxing and the service is just flawless! Wifi is all over the place partially because there is no phone reception, but it's amazing to able to search online virtually anywhere. One of the best hotel i have stayed in!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmvpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    33
    7
    8
    7
See reviews for
20
91
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

This is a very well maintained old country villa that is a perfect getaway for a night or two. The rooms are furnished with antiques, as is the rest of the villa. The restaurant on the premises is superb--the malfatti with porcini mushrooms were to die for--and offers a superb view over the local terrain due to its being situated atop a hill. You will definitely need a car, as the location is not within walking distance of anything. If you're looking for a place to chill out either as a solo traveler or as a couple, you will like it here. It's upscale but not fussy, with a real flavor of Old Italy. Good wifi throughout. Would happily come back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Velvetgemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I have to admit, while researching a place to stay after arriving in Rome, the comment about the laughing donkey intrigued me. My research of its website and trip advisor cinched the deal!
Upon our arrival the Villa was a welcomed retreat, the suite upstairs was rustically inviting, the patio doors brought in a beautiful breeze and a view of a village nestled in the middle of the mountain across the way. My husband fell asleep immediately in the comfortable bed. I went downstairs and explored the inn, a classical Tuscan style. The comfortable inviting parlor,the magazines of both culinary and scenic delights awaited me. It was just begging me for a glass of local vine. I gave in, but my host suggested a table on the patio watching the sunset. Good idea. (Ok, I had two)
While experiencing the most tranquil environment high in the hills, the laid back setting, the service both attentive yet private, I heard the magic sound, the braying of the infamous laughing donkey! I felt like I was in the middle of a movie.
I can go on forever, I loved the inn, the Resturant was great,all farm grown products, intimate setting, incredible service and fabulous wines...
I have recommended this inn to my friends, my travel agent and now to you with no hesitation. I will return!

While not a luxury inn, if you are looking for upscale rustic inns in a true Tuscan style with a private romantic setting, this place is for you!

My only suggestion would be to fix railing on stairs and invest in down comforters......
Thank you for a memorable stay and making us feel special... Oh, my husband woke up for dinner and loved it..

Lyn Ambridge



K

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We are a young couple from Holland with a 15 week old lovely baby. We checked tripadvisor before visiting the location and, to be honest, did not book it yet on booking.com because of some negative comments besides a lot of positive ones. But the photo's where very promising to us and gave a good feeling so we decided to choose 3 locations and visit them first. Bandito was the first location. We didn't went to the other 2 anymore: We arrived at a beautifull villa and had a warm welcome by the owner Daniele (so we don't regonize the negative comments about her in other reviews). Daniele showed us 3 different rooms/apartments. All 3 a dream. One even more beautiful than the other and sometimes I was having the feeling walking into a "North and South" scene (remember that serie?). It really shows that the owners put a lot of effort, energy and money in this big but beautiful location. We choose the standard room because it was near the pool and on ground floor so easy when you have a baby. Within 30 minutes a made came in to bring fresh flowers. How cute! The main villa with breakfast and diner room + relax (living) room is just wonderful. Outside a romantic terrace where you also can choose to have your breakfast or diner. Even lunch is possible and on request they bring it even to the pool! Perfect staff! Galid is the best waiter ever! Very kind and professional and speaks fluent French, Italian and German! The food is absolutely high for Italian standards. We are from Holland, really used to good restaurants and not easy to satisfy but Villa Tenuta La Bandita is absolutely an Italian dream come true! Not 3 but for sure 4 stars!

Room Tip: Ask Daniela to show you some of the rooms before you choose. Some bathrooms and showers are bigger t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This place is in the middle of the hills and hard to find, but we didn't have any big problems (though driving during daytime is highly recommended). We loved the place and used it as a two night stop to begin a drive through wine country. It was one of our favourites. Animals roam the property and some get eaten for dinner! The restaurant was great and the food was obviously very fresh. We will travel back here whenever we return to Tuscany.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nordstrand, Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We just ended two weeks vacation on a roundtrip in Tuscany. Pisa was bad, Siena was fantastic, the beach was too crowdy, San Gimignano was excellent, Lucca was great, Volterra too...but the place that we definitely will return to, is Tenuta La Bandida. We read a lot of different reviews before we decided to go there, just for one night. We ended up being there the last four nights, and then we had to return to Norway.
First of all: The food was excellent (don't let any of the other reviewers tell you different), the swimmingpool was refreshing (even tho we needed to clean it for bugs once every day), the rooms were just as majestic as you read about in the fairytales and the colourful owner made the stay a perfect ending on a perfect vacation. The last night we woke up in the middle of the night, and we were sure it was a drunk man playing saxophone in the garden. Fortunately it was just a singing donkey..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

First of all, I have to say that our stay at La Bandita a few months ago was not too bad. The hotel itself is beautiful and the staff is very kind and welcoming.

Unfortunately though we had a negative fist impression: when we first got there, the owner was smoking in the office and she looked very insecure of herself and almost embarrassed.

As I mentioned, the staff is kind and efficient, but it is immediately clear that they do not have enough people working there, so you see the poor waitresses running around trying to do everything…one really feels sorry for them and wishes they were not so few.

Another thing that I didn’t like at all is that the owner treats her staff very badly. She picked up on a waitress in a really rude and aggressive way, something I find unjustifiable in any case, but especially in front of the clients, as it was in our case!

I also noticed that they have video cameras in some rooms, e.g. in the kitchen and in the offices. I really wonder if that’s legal in Italy. If – as I think – it isn’t legal then I think this should be brought to the attention of the appropriate authorities.

Finally, I’ve always thought of Italy as THE country for good cooking and wonderful eating…well, for sure you don’t get that at La Bandita. You can see there isn’t any care at all and that the implicit idea behind this attitude is that “anything’s good for these tourists”…very disappointing indeed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaFreedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sassetta
5.2 mi away
Relais Poggio Ai Santi
Relais Poggio Ai Santi
#2 of 25 in San Vincenzo
189 reviews
6.7 mi away
Residenza Santa Cecilia
Residenza Santa Cecilia
#1 of 25 in San Vincenzo
298 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Il Bambolo
Hotel Residence Il Bambolo
#8 of 16 in Castagneto Carducci
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Locanda degli Alberi
Locanda degli Alberi
#3 of 7 in Sassetta
33 reviews
1.5 mi away
Campo di Carlo
Campo di Carlo
#3 of 3 in Sassetta
106 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pian delle More
Pian delle More
#1 of 1 in Sassetta
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta La Bandita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta La Bandita

Property: Tenuta La Bandita
Address: Via Campagna Nord 35 | Livorno, 57020 Sassetta, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Sassetta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sassetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tenuta La Bandita 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Villa from the XIX century surrounded by secular parks and olive plantations. Private pool, tennis court, elegant rooms with private balconies and loggias. Restaurant (KM0) and Buffet breakfast. Wi-Fi and private parking. Just few minutes from Sassetta (Livorno, Tuscany). Just around you will find wonderful trekking routes, spa (collaboration with 'Terme di Sassetta' spa ) beaches (13 Kms), museum and wonderful beaches. Available on request: trekking guides, cooking classes, wine tours, yoga sessions and personal treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tenuta La Bandita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta La Bandita Hotel Livorno
Tenuta La Bandita Sassetta, Italy - Province Of Livorno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing