We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and relaxing hotel with lovely and friendly staff.”
Review of Hotel Marad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Marad
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Torre Del Greco
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxing hotel with lovely and friendly staff.”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed at the Marad for 3 nights whilst visiting the Amalfi Coast. It was so lovely to be greeted by a very friendly and helpful receptionist who immediately smiled and welcomed us. This set the tone we received from all the staff at the Marad.

Our room was a good size and very comfortable, and our double bed was actually a double instead of just 2 single beds pushed together. We had a spacious balcony with a fabulous view of Mt. Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples.

There is an incredible rooftop terrace with amazing views, a great ambiance and a very lovely waiter. It was very easy to spend a couple of hours up there at the end of the day. Breakfast was always lovely and fresh, although due to the small layout of the buffet table, it can get very crowded an awkward when trying to get breakfast.

The one and only downside we found had nothing to do with the Hotel at all, but with the location of the Hotel. There are no restaurants (although the hotel has it's own restaurant) bars or shops near to the hotel, and no slow walks or places to amble to nearby. The town of Torre Del Greco is at the base of the hill the Hotel sits on, but on the 2 occassions that we drove there, we quickly exited. It is not the kind of place you want to be in unless you are a local.

We definately recommend the Marad Hotel as a lovely, relaxing and friendly base for touring the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieBarb68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    133
    53
    14
    5
See reviews for
104
68
4
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The service was excellent. The staff is professional and courteous. The location is ideal. The parking is gated and very spacious. The swimming pool is well-kept and comfortably equipped (they keep towels there for your use!), although it's in the shade in the afternoon. The breakfast is excellent and abundant. The rooms are spacious and well-kept and equipped with TV, and the ones facing the sea are magnificent.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the sea! If possible on the upper floor. The rooms on the other side face the sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCNUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neptune, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This hotel is not close to train station, so beware. My husband and I arrived late after a flight from Sicily, then bus from airport to train station. Found out there are few taxis in Torre del Greco, but a wonderful couple on the train called the hotel for us, and the hotel sent a car to come get us. We were fed, although dinner hour was over, and served breakfast the next morning even though we missed that as well. Hotel staff dropped us off at train next day so we could visit Pompeii, and picked us up upon our return. The front desk also helped us make arrangements with our driver to Positano the next day. The hotel was clean, and for us, the service was outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerzygurl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Welcoming despite our late arrival & served us supper despite it being after restaurant closing time. Followed by an enjoyable drink on the house. Manager very hospitable. They also took a lot of trouble with the garden & flowers inside & outside hotel. Followed by fantastic visit to Herculaneum & drive onto Puglia & can recommend both of these too.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lafite82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My Husband and I stayed at Hotel Marad for just one night on a visit to Pompeii and the beautiful Amalfi Coast, the location of this Hotel is terrific as it is nice and close being right at the foot of Mt Vesuvius.

Hotel was clean, nice big room and staff efficient though not overly friendly.

We would reccomend this hotel purely for location

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MitzfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We were 4 adults in the party.
After a drive from Leeds to Stanstead, a flight arriving after 10pm and getting to the hire car before close down- the hotel felt like an oasis after a desert march.

Simple to find with satnav, but a little confusing on arrival as the hotel name is on a wall of an apartment block, but is actually a little further down the lane, off the main road with a car park opposite.

The gentleman on the desk did seem fairly brusque and serious to begin with, but a friendly greeting and a few words of Italian from us and he 'melted' and was helpful.

The lobby is stylish, the white covered sofas extremely comfortable and best of all- the roof bar was open! The service was friendly and a very welcome dish of cut fresh fruit was delicious [and gratis.] Knowing that we would arrive late at night we had eaten, so that spared us any hassle of trying to find food at a late hour so have no idea if the hotel would have tried to help. After a couple of drinks we fell into bed and slept well.

The room was perfectly acceptable- no, not my idea of 4 star either, but fine.
In the daylight we discovered a sunny balcony overlooking a garden with a view to the distant sea and a sideways view of Vesuvius.

Breakfast was a buffet which could be taken on the pretty garden terrace shaded by viole drapes and lovely trees. Again, the staff who brought coffee/tea were pleasant and friendly. The breakfast was not the best I've ever had: cereal, boiled eggs, a little cooked ham/ meat and processed cheese as well as the usual continental pastries etc. Not much of a selection and a very packaged and processed feel to it- no local flavour. However, it did the job and we did not leave hungry.

We only stayed one night, but not wanting to arrive at our next destination until late afternoon we took advantage of the small pool for an hour or so. Pool towels were provided and a shower, toilet and changing area were useful.

I have been to Herculanium on a previous trip to Sorrento, but would certainly use this hotel as a base for seeing Pompeii in the future. We got an excellent deal on the price for two rooms and had a perfectly pleasant experience at this hotel.

I have always found that a nice manner and an attempt to communicate even a few words in the local language is helpful in any country. It is also wise to remember that even though tourists might be encouraged, people are not necessarily going to change their whole life-style or working patterns in areas other than the main tourist hubs. If a hotel is in a suburb it is best to anticipate that restaurants will not gear their opening hours to the passing tourist and think ahead!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrissieLeeds_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We happened upon this gem when looking for a hotel near Sorrento. We planned to stay one night but ended up staying three! A beautiful hotel that is easy to find an and centrally located to explore Mr Vesuvius, Pompeii, Sorrento, Capri, and Naples. We were there with our two children and it was a memorable stay. Alessandro, the night clerk was amazing, and gave me much information about what to see in the area. We were fortunate to be given a room with a huge terrace with amazing views out to Sorrento, Capri, and Naples in one direction and Mt. Vesuvius rising in the other direction. The breakfast is very good, including plentiful cappuccinos. The pool is nice and there is a lovely looking rooftop bar. The older downtown area of Torre del Greco is very picturesque with narrow streets, etc.. and a great place to go check out.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two rooms with the huge terrace with views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiemstrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torre Del Greco
0.9 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#2 of 4 in Torre Del Greco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Herculaneum
Hotel Herculaneum
#1 of 6 in Ercolano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.9 mi away
Andris Hotel
Andris Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ercolano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Puntaquattroventi
Hotel Puntaquattroventi
#6 of 6 in Ercolano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.3 mi away
Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel
Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ercolano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Signorini Events & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marad

Property: Hotel Marad
Address: Via Benedetto Croce 20, 80059 Torre Del Greco, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Torre Del Greco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Torre Del Greco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marad 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marad Hotel Torre Del Greco
Hotel Marad Torre Del Greco, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing