We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view and great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Marad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marad
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Torre Del Greco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great view and great price”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this nice hotel to be out of Naples and to have a base for seeing the area. Hotel is clean; beautiful view if you have a room above the second floor like we did to see the gulf of Naples and the mountain. The breakfast was nice each morning and service was excellent! The price was good compared to others I looked at. At the bottom of the hill from the motel is a grocery store with fresh fruit , vegetables and etc. we bought some snacks and water there. Across the street from it is a gelato and pastry shop. Had a nice cappuccino there. The area is kind of grungy but most of the area around Naples is, but we walked from the hotel here and I felt at ease. I would return to this hotel because it was very relaxing after the hustle of Rome we had earlier in the week and to enjoy a drink in the garden or on the rooftop terrace.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3roaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    131
    52
    14
    5
See reviews for
101
69
4
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Overall a good hotel in a quiet location. There was four of us sharing a room which could have been a bit bigger but had a good balcony area and very efficient air conditioning. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was perfectly adequate with fresh fruit and a choice of mainly cold foods with pastries. The pool area was good with plenty of available sunbeds but the best feature was the lovely roof terrace where you could get a drink in the evening and watch the amazing view and sunsets. It was more difficult to get a drink during the day but when the waiters were working they were very helpful.

The area of Torre del Greco is fairly quiet but not very attractive (dirty and scruffy) and we would probably not return there. There is only really one restaurant within walking distance from the hotel and not much in the way of shops. However it is a good base to climb Versuvius (which is a must!) and to visit Pompeii etc. Overall I would recommend the hotel but not the area!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here at the Marad for 5 nights in July. Check-in was fine but check-in staff need to learn to smile! 2 rooms were booked - one for my husband, son and I and one for my mother-in-law and her son. Views to both Vesuvius and the sea from the balcony. Both rooms were OK but need updating, Bathrooms also not brilliant - smallish and a bit musty. Bedding was good and the beds and pillows were comfortable. Internet only worked every now and then in the room - better to go to reception area. No restaurants in the area (area was a bit of shock)! but the hotel served a really good evening meal with 4 choices for main course - fish included. Prices were reasonable. There is also a small icecream palour and grocery shop about 200 metres from the hotel. This was great for buying rolls, cheese and meats for a lunchtime snack on the balcony after climbing Vesuvius in the morning! Rooftop bar (Sky Bar) was the highlight for us with views to Vesuvius and Capri. Bar staff were very good and friendly - great nibbles served with the cocktails! The swimming pool is set underneath large pine trees and when the wind blows, loads of pine needles float into the pool. Staff were not too hot on fishing them out and if we wanted a swim we had to remove the needles first. This also made the pool surround a little unpleasant to walk on bearfoot. To conclude, this is a good little hotel if you are visiting Vesuvius, Pompeii and all the other sights.

Room Tip: Go for a room with sea and Vesuvius view, but ask for one NOT underneath the rooftop bar - lots of g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellytastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrento
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Good size room, bathroom ok, chose the rooms with balcony and views (Vesuvius and sea). Free parking, 10 min walk from the station. Central situation to visit Pompeï, Ercolanum, Vesuvius, Napels. Continental breakfast

Room Tip: Chose the rooms with views (vesuvius & sea) and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christophe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Just checked in for night and it looks like basic hotel nothing premier. Was recommended by a friend but not the way it was praised. Internet in my room is not good and I am in old building which is operated by hotel but on other side.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We have just returned from an eleven night stay at the Hotel Marad. The hotel is well located for visiting Mount Vesuvius, Sorrento, Naples and the Isle of Capri, all of which are easily reached by car or via the local railway station in Torre Del Geco which is just a short distance down the hill (a little harder walking back up). It is worth paying for a sea view as the view is fantastic and the balcony a lovely setting for a romantc evening. The evening meals were very good and further enhanced by the professional and attentive service of the waiters; the Sky Terrace is ideal for a great cocktail and a romantic dance; the pool a lovely hideaway. Ammenities in the immediate vicinity outside the hotel are a little sparse, there is a grocery and utility shop, small bar / pastry shop, tobbaconist and a restaurant just up the hill. Torre Del Greco, although a little untidy in areas is worth a visit during the day / early evening; it has a varied range of shops, a Marina with a fish restaurant and friendly little corner bar. All the Hotel Staff at the Marad were fantastic; contributing to make this a lovely romantic and quiet break. Steve and Jan, Plymouth UK

Room Tip: Recommend sea view from 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank STEPHEN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed at the Marad for 3 nights whilst visiting the Amalfi Coast. It was so lovely to be greeted by a very friendly and helpful receptionist who immediately smiled and welcomed us. This set the tone we received from all the staff at the Marad.

Our room was a good size and very comfortable, and our double bed was actually a double instead of just 2 single beds pushed together. We had a spacious balcony with a fabulous view of Mt. Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples.

There is an incredible rooftop terrace with amazing views, a great ambiance and a very lovely waiter. It was very easy to spend a couple of hours up there at the end of the day. Breakfast was always lovely and fresh, although due to the small layout of the buffet table, it can get very crowded an awkward when trying to get breakfast.

The one and only downside we found had nothing to do with the Hotel at all, but with the location of the Hotel. There are no restaurants (although the hotel has it's own restaurant) bars or shops near to the hotel, and no slow walks or places to amble to nearby. The town of Torre Del Greco is at the base of the hill the Hotel sits on, but on the 2 occassions that we drove there, we quickly exited. It is not the kind of place you want to be in unless you are a local.

We definately recommend the Marad Hotel as a lovely, relaxing and friendly base for touring the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieBarb68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torre Del Greco
0.9 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#1 of 4 in Torre Del Greco
393 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Herculaneum
Hotel Herculaneum
#1 of 6 in Ercolano
307 reviews
1.9 mi away
Andris Hotel
Andris Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ercolano
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Puntaquattroventi
Hotel Puntaquattroventi
#6 of 6 in Ercolano
120 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Signorini Events & Hotel
1.3 mi away
Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel
Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ercolano
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marad

Property: Hotel Marad
Address: Via Benedetto Croce 20, 80059 Torre Del Greco, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Torre Del Greco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Torre Del Greco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marad 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marad Hotel Torre Del Greco
Hotel Marad Torre Del Greco, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing